We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch to the Max, Worth a Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Kitsch to the Max, Worth a Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

My parents stayed here years ago and other than a stop at the coffee shop we'd never quite made it. This time we did stay over after a graduation in southern Cal.

The degree to which the kitsch and pink theme are carried out is remarkable--down to pink sugar in the coffee shop and pink his and hers bathrobes (hubby passed on this one) and gaudy water goblets. The common areas are also decorated extensively and the steakhouse which we passed by was also decked out. Could be a fun wedding reception. The inn is definitely an institution and the family photos and connections make it seem personal.

Our room was located in the building closest to the scrubby hills behind the property, at the top of a circular white picket/curlicued staircase (actually two) -- the room was unremarkable--decorated well enough (a blue and yellow "marguerite" theme) -- not especially large but well appointed -- but quite stuffy when we first came in; I imagine it rents later in the evening when it rents (we arrived late). Good shower, some sort of bidet attachment to the toilet which was a remarkably modern touch to an old-timey vibe property. In room coffee as well. We were not there long enough to try the spa/pool.

Although the property is right off Highway 101 we were not troubled by any highway noise inside the room (as others have noted, though, the walls were slightly thinner than they could be-- no "honeymoon" sound but we did hear neighbors arrive and depart and talk briefly.

The staff were as pleasant and cordial as has been reported elsewhere -- reception staff and even the very hard-working wait staff in the cafe.

The outside area is pleasant and well landscaped -- we did cross paths, nearly, with a baby Diamondback rattler snoozing between parked cars at the edge of a landscaped area (on the way up to the hillside buildings, not down by the main area), so I would at least keep my eyes open and maybe wear closed shoes/jeans if I went exploring.

Room Tip: We went through a travel site and just got a "king theme room"; you could certainly ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Annw,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay at Madonna Inn Resort and Spa. We agree that this is a very special resort and we are also honored by having such a professional and experienced staff. We strive to create a memorable experience for our guests and are thrilled that we exceeded your expectations during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    493
    213
    79
    62
See reviews for
425
719
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I loved the Madonna Inn! I'd wanted to stay there for ages and finally got my chance on a trip to California at the end of 2011. We were allocated the W Tell room in the far corner of the complex near the mountainside. The day we stayed there was quite cool and a low cloud was dusting the top of the hills, gradually drifting into a mist in the evening. This made an hour or two in the heated swimming pool and jacuzzis an absolute dream, particularly as the area was deserted so we had it to ourselves. In the afternoon, we had a piece of the legendry pink champagne cake in the cafe (fabulous! worth going for this alone!) and int he evening we splashed out in the restaurant. Being a vegetarian, this was a bit of a problem as the restaurant is a steakhouse and the dinner was pretty dire (a huge plate of steamed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots with some grated cheese on top...yum.) It was worth it purely for the experience of eating in such an opulently kitsch environment and we had a fantastic time. We stayed in the Wilhelm Tell room and it featured a rock-shower and some beautiful stained glass windows. The only downside was the very thin walls and the honeymoon suite above us -we didn't really want to hear all that if you know what I mean. Apart from that, I couldn't speak more highly of the Madonna Inn -the staff were perfect, the shops, pool, spa and cafe were fantastic. I very much hope to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snow_White_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Snow_White_Rose,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay with us. We’re so glad to hear that you finally got to visit California and stay with us. The pool and Jacuzzis are two favorite amenities for our guest to relax and enjoy. We hope to welcome you back to Madonna Inn Resort and Spa when your travels bring you back to the Central Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpellier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Expect more !! the room was disappointing, very dark and not so fun .. The location is terrible, along the highway. Finally everything is really bad taste ...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToutouneMontpellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Firstly, We LOVED the hotel, then We HATED it. We were there on honeymoon, doing the PCH and were soo excited to get to the hotel I'd booked and been looking forward to. We arrived and liked what we saw, the hotel and the room (misty rock), went and had a lovely dinner in the restaraunt. After falling asleep at 12 p.m we we awoken by a loud rattling of water pipes at 3. Being slightly tipsy and very tired we tried to sleep through it. By 5:30 we'd had enough and called reception to complain. The girl offered a 'free breakfast' before even sending someone to check it out. I asked them to send someone and 'free breakfast' wasn't acceptable. 40 mins later someone came and heard it, a manager then offered $50 off. After refusing I showered only to discover the shower drain was blocked, short shower and NO shower for my partner. We waited another 50 then packed to leave. On arriving at reception, we were tired, pee'd off and my partner was unwashed-we wanted to leave ASAP. Then Joe the general manager met us, went to the room saw the shower WAS blocked then made his final offer of $70 dollars off- pathetic. I'm so sad not to be recommending this place after looking forward to our stay. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrDuncock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Ok, so you either love it, hate it, or it grows on you after a while. In for the SLO Concours we had to try it at least once. Some of the rooms looked over the top so we chose something a little more mellow. It was a nice room, but as the title of this review suggests, the walls are thin. Thankfully us and our neighbors were on our best behaviors, so it was all quiet by 10pm, however you could hear people talking in the next room if they raised their voices above a normal conversation level. Just weird because I don't know if they could hear us talking about hearing them. Our room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom was probably the best part.

The hotel is very over the top, something different, reminds me of being in the old parts of Reno or Vegas without the cigarette smoke. We didn't eat here, but we heard the steaks are very good. Parking had nice wide spaces if you care about your car or have a big truck.

Yes, it's a great place to experience, for us just once. summed up, it's a nice place to stay, but it's old. Nice theme rooms, but for the price everyone won't say it's worth it. Suffice to say we're glad we did it once.

Room Tip: Reserve early if you want a particular themed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travlholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redondo beach
Level Contributor
204 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in the Fox and the Hound room. It is a suite with a upstairs room for the kids. It worked out great for us ! The pool and fitness area are great.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lb33wonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest, I am glad that you and your family had a great experience with us. The Madonna Inn is a Family Tradition that continues to provide great memories for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLO, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Madonna Inn...besides pink and shiny, it is....well, pink and shiny! The desserts are far and away the best part of the meal (nothing wrong with that!) Food is expensive and adequate - one of our holiday traditions is to come for dinner in the steakhouse during the holiday season, because my daughter loves all the flocking and decorations. I cringe and bear it, but it is awfully fun! The rooms are cheesy and fun - you could be jaded and just think they are trashy, but its really too consistently off-the-wall to be cheap and trashy.

Room Tip: Check the website for different room photos - some have to be reserved far in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SloBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. The decorations during every holiday are terrific and create a great experience for all. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing