We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been excellent”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I really liked this hotel. They have tried to think out side the box with their ideas. It is very "kitsch" and a lot of pink, but that is part of their concept and it works. We had two adjacent rooms that were very comfortable (one was pink and the other one green). The pool area was quite nice too. But the negative was unfortunately the restaurant. The decoration was in line with the rest of the hotel but the food was actually not to good and overpriced.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanh207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear the rooms and pool exceeded your expectations. We are disappointed to hear about your experience at the steakhouse. We sincerely apologize for the quality of food you received. Please consider giving us another opportunity when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a 4 day stay here as a part of a long weekend mini vacation. I had no preconceptions of the place since I hadn't ever seen or even heard of it before, and I have to say I absolutely loved it.

We stayed in the Wilhelm Tell room which is decidedly red and boasts beautiful stained glass windows depicting the story of William Tell. The room itself was great with a nice King sized bed, but the absolute pièce de résistance was the rock waterfall shower in the bathroom. Floor to ceiling rock with a regular shower head on one side and a waterfall above, it easily fits 2 people and also has a little seat in the rock right as you enter. I could have spent the entire vacation in there!

The pool and 2 hot tubs at the top of the hill were very relaxing with a huge man-made waterfall set as the backdrop. Also near the pool are the fitness center and spa which sadly I didn't get to experience. Make sure you check out everything there is to see in the main building, its definitely worth it!

Some people will undoubtedly be turned off by the gaudy kitschy decor and prominence of pink, but I thought it was adorable and extremely interesting. I would love to stay here again and experience some of the other rooms they have to offer, especially the Caveman room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loveismysin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

MY wife and I stayed here on the first day of our honeymoon, driving up the coast to SF. It's totally weird here, but in the best way possible. The room was really great and unique, and the staff were all wonderful. I got a massage the next day and my wife went swimming in the beautiful swimming pool. Worth the extra few dollars. Also - the food at the restaurant was amazing!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattshungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I have visited the Madonna Inn a few times now and I LOVE IT! The fist time I visited I was worried it would be totally gross... it was... but in such a fun way! It's glitzy, it's tacky, it's sparkly and it's pink!

So for those of you who don't know, the hotel comprises of 110 themed rooms. Their website does it no justice at all, they are all much grander in person. I have stayed in Barrel of Fun, Austrian Suite and Jungle Rock. Barrel of Fun is beautiful with it's gold glitter wallpaper, fireplace and balconies. The Austrian Suite is huuuge and luxurious; and Jungle Rock is fun with an unforgettable bathroom. I am a big fan of decent water pressure and let me tell you, the showers in these rooms are the bomb!

The rest of the hotel is a blend of fairy lights, cherubs, wing back chairs and pink rose carpets... what more could a girl want? For pre- dinner drinks the Silver Bar is perfect, service has always been fast and friendly. The Gold Rush Steak House is out-of-this-world tacky and the food is great, including their popular pink champagne cake for dessert. The Copper Cafe is ideal for breakfast, coffee and pastries. The pool area is very pretty and has always been relatively quite when I have been there. They also have a fitness center and a spa.

So what don't I like about the Madonna Inn? Hmmm... some of the furnishings could do with updaing. Some of the throw cushions in the rooms look as though they have been used to mop the floor, some of the seating in the dining room is torn but it doesn't bother me enough to drop a star. Prices are a little high, but for such a unique experience I don't mind so much. The Inn is located by the freeway but on the plus side is in beautiful San Luis Obispo. All in all the Madonna Inn is one of my favorite places where I can sit back, relax and enjoy life.

Room Tip: The map on the website provides a guide to where each room is located. The ground floor and cave the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkSaguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

this is such a rare and whacky thing, it's hard to review. firstly, the website does not do it justice at all. i looked at the pics on the site and thought it looked drab, dull and grimy. infact when you get there it's a palace of unashamed kitch fun, is bigger, cleaner and more hilarious than the website could ever make out. great pool/spa area, my room was very clean. hilarious japanese loo! and the bubblegum pink dining room is unique. i loved it. it's a very welcome break from 'design' or boring corporate hotels. it's just FUN.
only thing to mention is the sound-proofing wasn't great. could hear people talking upstairs!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiebambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This is the second time we stayed here - went for the Wilhelm Tell room, with a rock waterfall shower. So deliciously over the top. Lots to just walk around and gawk at. The bar is nice, breakfast was good. The pool was fabulous. Got there early in the morning before families arrived - absolutely serene.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigid_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We have passed this roadside attraction for years but it wasn't until a friends surprise birthday
party did we stay The Madonna. It was everything we anticipated as far as being over the top!
We stayed in room 201 "Elegance". It certainly had some elegant features BUT can we say the horribly old and stained carpet wasn't one of them.
The bathroom was done in a beautiful pink stone and the shower was modern and well lit which we used for a nightlight. The heated seat of the Toto toilet was an unexpected pleasue as was the
washlet feature, I believe I will be purchasing one myself, soon.
The sheets were crisp and clean so we were grateful to have them to drop
into after dining at Alex Madonna's Steakhouse, where we surprised our friend on his birthday.
All in all I'm happy to have experienced this piece of Americana with such delightful friends and thoughtful staff.

Room Tip: Go to the website which is perfect for finding your ideal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilldeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,466 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
648 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,282 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £101 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing