We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a FUN Hotel!”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Such a FUN Hotel!”
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The Madonna Inn has 118 individually themed rooms. Do check them out on the hotel website. Set in large surroundings it is immediately apparent that this hotel id different from the rest of the pack.

My wife and I stayed in the Caveman Room which is very popular and I'd booked it 9 months earlier as part of a trip along the Pacific coast from Seattle to Los Angeles. The room was very...different with running water down one of the walls (floor, ceiling and walls all made of "stone"). The bathroom had a rock waterfall shower and something similar in the stone sink.
King size bed decorated with a fake tiger skin covering plus two clubs on the wall to beat each other up with...you get the general idea why I say it's a fun room.

The staff were all courteous and the restaurants were good, albeit the steak restaurant was a bit pricey.

All in all we had a good fun time and I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Use the hotel website to review all the rooms before chosing one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Thank you for your recommendation of our property and of the Caveman room! We pride ourselves on being a fun and unique hotel so we're happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    531
    220
    82
    64
See reviews for
456
759
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012 via mobile

I know we booked this for its " uniqueness" but in terms of value it was disappointing . The room we were allocated was the americanpioneer room which I thnk was really low key compared to photos I had seen of other rooms, the room was also next to the ice machine and vending machine and on the corner of a car park. For 200 plus dollars I spect more than an up market motel. The food was disappointing in quality , quantity was there but quality should beat that anytime and it didn't. The decor was over the top for sure but the priced the meal was way too high and the coffee was very poor. Wi fi was not available in the man building not in rooms. The other surprise was the resort fee, surely this should be included in the room rate and not added on as an additional extra when you get there . Even when you don't use any resort facilities is I.e. the pool etc it is still charged and adds a good 7.5% to your cost plus taxes . Overall give it a miss.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moodstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Yes, there are themed rooms as detailed, and they are a wide mix from Italy to cave man. Irrespective of the theming, the craftsmanship is high: in our rooms the shutters were really high quality (how particular was I, inspecting the quality of the shutters on a family holiday) and the sofas and wallpaper high end. And fun, with glitzy stage mirrors, lacquered cabinets and so on. The heated outdoor pool is wonderful, overlooking the mountains, and we were given pizza by the pool that the waitress for the bar had just cooked. That was lovely, and she didn't mind if, in our decadence, crumbs went into the spa. No free glass of champagne, though.
The main restaurant is over priced ($40+ dollars for filet mignon) and not the best we had, but where else can you eat in such a flood of pink kitsch. The toilets are renowned, and okay, and there is a fun little wine merchant downstairs to help keep the waterfall going.
The truth is, it is a bit 70s, but then Dallas is back, so Madonna is at least contemporary as the seventies are recycled. And for reasons that aren't clear, I shed a tear on leaving. It's a funny old place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay and appreciated the details. The Madonna family had many furnishings and decorations in the rooms custom made to their creative visions. Thank you for the kind review on the property and the service you received! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, CA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Madonna Inn last week when we went to SLO to help settle our granddaughter into her dorm at Cal Poly. Other family members stayed next door, but we wanted to check out the Madonna Inn. We had been by here years ago but never stayed here. Quite the "unique" experience. We stayed in the Misty Rock room because it was recommended as the best available "rock" room at the time we were there. It was definitely different. A little dark for me, but it was as expected for a cave. It was clean and the bed was comfortable with nice linens and a variety of pillows. We ate at the Copper Cafe, actually 3 times, 2 breakfasts, and a dinner, and at the Steak house one night. We enjoyed both, Steak House a little pricey, Cafe was very good and we felt it was reasonable.
We went to the pool one afternoon. It is a wonderful pool in a beautiful setting. The pool temp is perfect, I really enjoyed it.
Overall it was a good experience. Our family enjoyed eating dinner with us in the Copper Cafe, and seeing our room and the grounds of the Inn. We would stay there again, but in a different room.

Room Tip: The rock rooms are very dark. We had a large window, but either you used the blackout curtains, or y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write about your experiences here at the Madonna Inn. I'm happy to hear you decided to give us a try with your family staying elsewhere and that everyone had an opportunity to enjoy the facilities. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Ok, amazing rooms,but do no not go if you expect any evening atmosphere - the staff in the bar don't care ! there may have only been a couple of people in there, but quiet music ( could do with something to liven it up) - just a bit of chat, we were spending money (on nice drinks), they were bored (well he was) - fairly OK pool, shops awful at least try and sell soemthing OTT and fabulously outrageous not a pink stuffed pig stuffed toy that rolls around and squeaks ! I mean really? I imagine most people who go to the Madonna Inn do it on the basis it is different and whacky - some bits yes - other bits get a grip. We have paid a decent rate for an OK room, for an expensive meal (steak and wine delicious) and frankly don't want to find ourselves will nothing else to do at 9pm at night - make an effort ! Don't go there unless in the USA holidays as dead ( and that's according to the bar man who didn't care whilst selling us corked wine).
Honestly - sadly disapointing - such a shame.

Room Tip: Pay the most you cna afford then you can stay in there rather than the public/bar/restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLITTERINGSPARKLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your honest opinion about your recent experience with us. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't feel engaged in our lounge and that the customer service was not up to standards. We are a family owned and operated hotel and we would want to welcome our guests and visitors as we would a family member. Holiday times are especially fun here so I'm sorry to hear that it was so somber. I sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to impress in the future. For future reference, we currently have live music and dancing in our steakhouse six nights a week that's very fun and we encourage everyone to participate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I came to the Madonna Inn 40 years ago, and, in the enthusiasm of youth, thought that it was quite a place. Each room is different and there's lots of "themes" to choose from. This visit, however, found the hotel a little older (as am I) and a little less energetic (ditto). While the hotel still retains it's unique qualities, it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. The restaurant, for example, has large entrees that hearken back to the days (and the waistlines) of Diamond Jim Brady and are expensive at that. The staff are courteous and helpful if you need to select some special "theme". They want you to get what you want. And it can be unnerving to see camera crews disappear into themed rooms with their eyes downcast. However, if you want an outrageous venue, this could be just the ticket. Also, note: no wifi in the rooms; although there is a cable.

Room Tip: Go to the web site and it might be useful to call the hotel; many rooms require carrying luggage up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeeMTucson_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We went with our two young kids and I had chosen the room based on the photos on their website. It is a real experience. We had the Sky room which was great and spacious. It was a really fun place to stay. We ate dinner in the cafe restaurant and thought it was over priced for what it was. Same with the breakfast. The sweet treats were great. We would recommend it for one night experience which is all we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing