We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coolest”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

This was quite possibly the highlight of our 25 day trip in the US. The Madonna Inn is a cross between the Moulin Rogue, The Great Gatsby and Disneyland. I love the attention to detailed and the service. This place is totally nuts kitsch cool and we would go back in a heartbeat. Oh and the pool is superb for kids.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank tommyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,652)
There are newer reviews for Madonna Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

857 - 863 of 1,652 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Madonna Inn is an institution - yes it's outlandish and a little tacky, but you've got to see it as it really is a feast for the eyes! My partner and I spent one night in the Caveman room. The decor was really fun and we loved the waterfall shower. The bed was comfy although in truth all the rocks meant the room was quite humid and hot - a bit like sleeping in an actual cave, so not to be recommended if you're claustrophobic. In terms of the rest of the facilities, the pool area is really nice and it's enjoyable to relax with a cocktail as the sun goes down. The restaurant is great fun to see, and the food is very tasty (although the portions are way too big). Just don't get sucked into all the overpriced gift shops and Madonna Inn souvenirs and you'll have a trip to remember!

Room Tip: Spend some time picking your room carefully as each one is bespoke and some seem to be much more int...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaLaL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We did not actually stay here but we did stop by to check it out, the hotel is bizarre and the restrooms are definitely something to see, the area is very pretty and it's right off the freeway, glad we saw it

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Linzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had two crazy rooms and found the beds unbelievably comfortable. The shower was a cave-like room and the linen and amenities were perfect. My friend stayed in Swiss Belle and was awake most of the night listening to a couple next door getting their money's worth but generally the hotel seemed quiet however we were both glad we had made the effort to book in advance as it was very full.

The bar was great fun and the decor did not disappoint. Over the top. The staff at the bar were so lovely and friendly. It couldn't be handier to the roadtrippers heading either up the Pacific Highway or 101 - this place is a must-see.

Room Tip: Pick one of the Cave themed rooms. Caveman books out well in advance.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for your lovely review! So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the beds, and the service. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Visited the the Inn this morning with my fiancee thinking we would book in the future. Asked at the front desk to see one of the rooms and rudely was informed that they do not give tours. We have stayed at numerous upscale hotels and this is the first time that they declined to show a room. I will pass this information to all of my friends and assciates.

Room Tip: Look at the room before you decide
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your comment and for taking the time to stop by. We do not provide tours of our rooms here due to them being so regularly occupied. We can always provide a map and you can do a self guided tour of our property to check out points of interest. I am disappointed to hear that you were not informed in a more positive, polite way and this will be looked into.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We, together with another mature couple, who are our close friends, stayed here for one night during our travels up the West Coast to San Francisco. Unfortunately our drive from Las Vegas took longer than anticipated, which meant we had to phone to cancel the meal we had booked at the hotel's restaurant and we did not arrive until around 10pm.
Check in was fairly quick and each couple were given directions to their room.
We had chosen the (enormous) Austrian Suite. A highly rococo themed suite, rich in ornate furniture, with two balconies and a number of differing and very comfortable chairs to sit on, one leather chair being large enough for two people to lie on! The suite featured two televisions and plenty of lighting options. The bed was, in keeping with the rest of the suite, huge, and again very comfortable. We went to the bar for a drink before bed. The atmosphere there was fun (guests from a wedding party were still milling around while we were there) and as we found throughout the property, there were quirky and interesting objects dotted around to catch the eye and encourage exploration. Even the gents toilet provided conversation...this place certainly knows how to decorate entertainingly!
We had breakfast in the busy but very efficient cafe and while eating, enjoyed looking at the even busier bakery area, where enormously large cakes were on display and being carried out by a line of people to their cars. The bakery also sells a range of delicious cookies (we bought some on our way out). The breakfast itself was really good, there being an extensive menu and ours were well cooked and well presented.
We had a look at the shops, stocking a wide range of gifts and clothes that ranged from the cheap and tacky to high quality and very tasteful (with matching price tags).
Our friends took a walk along to the spa and said that if they had more time, they would have had treatments there and the pool area looked good too. It was a real shame that we only had time to spend one night here (and that we didn't get to eat at the outrageously decorated restaurant). There may well be other areas within the property to explore and that we didn't have time to find. Hopefully, the opportunity will arise for us to return and to spend a bit longer here. We had a blast!
If you are looking for corporate predictability, you probably won't like this hotel. If you appreciate individuality and fun (and particularly if you book a themed room), you'll have a really enjoyable and memorable time! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Would highly recommend this place to stay, yes it is massively over the top (Vegas-esque decor), but the rooms are so unique and have to be seen to be believed (don't think the pictures quite do it justice).

Pool/spa area is amazing, with cocktails/beers available too.

Fresh bakery on site as well as a steakhouse.

I don't get some of the reviews that say it is tacky - yes it is, but if you'd bothered to look at the pics then you would know that so can hardly be a surprise when you turn up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £174 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing