We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance at affordable pricing”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wow! What an incredible experience. Surprised my wife with a Birthday week end. This was one that she will never forget. She ranked it as the best I've ever done. ! Cool! ! We stayed in the "Cabin Still" room and it was a masterpiece. All the rooms are individually themed. We look forward to going back and experiencing a different room and we are telling everyone we know about this location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

We are so pleased to hear that both you and your wife were happy with her birthday weekend! Thank you for choosing Madonna Inn for such a special occasion, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

893 - 899 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Not at all what I'd expected to find along the road when traveling with friends. It was during the first day of an classic muscle car show. The hotel was full of elderly travelers and their families; however, if you ever want to do something out of the ordinary and aren't scared of the color pink and traditional venues that harken back to the 50's, then this is the place for you. My friends and I chilled by the pool's large water fountain in peace. As a History buff and lover of the American Spirit; this place really appealed to me. Each room in the hotel has its own unique theme, and you can see through their windows if they're vacant. Be sure to choose your room knowing that function may follow form for some rooms; so ask about the standard hotel amenities before booking your room.

Room Tip: I always recommend paying more to get more when renting a room in any hotel; unless its a national c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejostlingtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Pink, creepy, strange, pink, old, overdone, pink, dirty, weird. Those are the adjectives that describe this place.

The outside is starkly different from the inside. With beautiful grass fields, horses, rocky waterfalls and flowers...you might think you're entering a serene place but once inside, you'll probably have nightmares about pink and the movie The Shinning.

My mom and I did stop and have a piece of pie. An $8 PIECE of pie. The price was ridiculous but it was so rich and decadent - probably the best piece of apple pie I've ever had.

If you're passing through the area, this place is worth a stop but I definitely wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

this is the most beautiful hotel i have seeing... their restaurant is amazing, and this is the only place in the world i have seeing the men taking their women into their restroom... you will see why!
Food is excellent, and the rooms are so unique and incredible...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egland s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We just checked in to our Jr Suite. We booked online and requested one of two different rooms. We got here and were given a different room, one my wife didn't like at all. Not even a hair dryer! I guess I would have expected that they would have notified me that the room we requested was not available.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Tvpte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. When booking online unfortunately we cannot guarantee a particular room. If you are interested in staying in a particular one, please contact us directly and we can always check specific availability. When you reserve a room directly over the phone with us you are guaranteed into an accommodation. We do provide hair dryers in all of our rooms in the closets in a small bag. We hope you will consider giving us another try again in the future and please call us if you have any questions. It would be our pleasure to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Very kitchsey patched together room that hurts the eyes initially but works well! We had a very pleasant stay for one night on a road trip. Drinks by the pool, dinner in the restaurant and a hearty breakfast in the coffee shop were all very good with excellent service. The staff at the Madonna Inn are all very warm and inviting and yet efficient. From the shuttle pick up at the train station through check out we were greeted and treated very happily! This is a place you must stay at least once!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed here for 1 night while travelling up through California last year. We knew what to expect as I had read about this hotel on multiple site. And it was everything I expected. Rooms where so much fun, water fall shower and etc! The staff were very very friendly and helpful with all aspects. I asked for a fridge and they brought it over immediately and hassle free. I would definitely return to try a new room. Must stay here at least once in your life!

Room Tip: Make sure you research the rooms before booking so you know what to ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,467 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,283 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £100 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing