We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Pink and Kitsch Paradise! Highlight of my trip!”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We did a little roadtrip on pacific coast Highway from San Diego to San Francisco so I was very excited to be able to stay here on the way, I have been wanting to go for years, seeing my friends photos and a particular friend raving about the place, how right she was, it is beautiful, very girly and a lot of fun!

We booked through Booking and e-mailed them to ask for a specific room, they e-mailed us back very fast and told us which were the rooms left so we chose Paris Violets (upon my friends recommendation) and we loved it! The decor is just so beautifully kitsch and girly, there is a little space outside of the bathroom for make-up, perfect for us two girls!
Beds and bathrobes were big and comfy.
On the walls you have a Parisian themed wallpaper and frames with lightened up Paris.
The Bathroom has a nice bath tub with very hot water, a delight.

We were there on the 25th of December and had dinner at the Steak house restaurant, because of the busy day we didn't get to eat in the pretty pink booths but the food was really good, took a while to arrive, waitress very friendly and helpful.
We also had breakfast at the café, food was very good, quick service and of course a beautiful decor. We bought a slice of Toffee cake for the road, which was excellent, you have to try them.

The pool is just paradise, with two hot jacuzzis around, the view, the mountains, it was pure bliss.

I will go back one day and stay longer! Thank you for the lovely experience!

Room Tip: We loved our Paris Violet room, if you are undecided choose this one, you will not be dissappinted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeilaMauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

I brought my daughters over to check it out on our way through SLO. My husband and I stayed here before. They have added alot of new things in the last few years. My girls thought the gift shop and restaurant were amazing - I had to literally drag them out of the restaurant. They took tons of photos and bought postcards of their favorite rooms from the gift shop. We also drove up to where the pool and spa center are. The pool is one of those with the edge like the beach where it just gradually gets deeper but there's not a pool lip. Totally fun to come and take pictures and walk through the restaurants/public areas.

When my husband and I stayed here, we stayed in the Matterhorn room. Loved the balcony that overlooked the field where the horses graze. We ate in the cafe for breakfast and in the steakhouse one of the nights. The steakhouse food was good but a bit pricey. We expected that and budgeted accordingly.

Room Tip: Check out their website for pictures of the rooms and the features.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank craftywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My boyfriend surprised me with a "mystery ride" and room reservation at the Madonna Inn!!! He booked us the Rock Under room, a comfortable, updated Flinstone room...it was amazing...felt like we were Fred & Wilma...but with heat, coffee, tv, etc.! We had fun, the place was decked out for the holidays, had a wonderful steak dinner...everything was great and would love to come back and bring the children. A fun, relaxing getaway for all!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janjannh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Always wanted to stay here, finally checked it off my list!

The restaurants: We had a buffet style meal for a large party we were with in the Venetian room downstairs. Nice enough ambience. Felt like we were at a wedding. Food was fair, Sort of typical of any other generic wedding style buffet. Certainly not worth what we paid for it (55/person not including alcohol). Servers were scarce (could not get a cup of coffee to save my life) and the bartender didn't know how to make basic drinks very well.

The regular restaurant is over the top cool - you've seen the pictures! We didn't eat in there though. There was a band playing bad 80's music in the good sized bar. Large dance floor and people were making use of it. This place is a little bit mazelike with the bar, restaurant, private party areas, and a few shops all in one multi level building.

The coffee shop was good. I might actually give the food 4 stars in there but the service was sort of bad which annoyed me for the price. They were understaffed. Love the crazy decor though. Cost us 60 bucks for a very basic breakfast for two adults and two kids, no drinks other than coffee. There is an Ihop down the street for the cost conscious visitor, just sayin'.

The grounds: the hotel is located in a beautiful area. Right at the foot of some hills. Nice area to walk around. They have horseback riding too and there was anice rink when we were there. There is a pool, we didn't check it out but the woman at the desk said they heat it to 85 degrees F which is nice. I also noticed tennis courts. In general, there are lots of day trips you can make using this place as a base (wine tasting, hiking, shopping, beaches, etc.) so you can either find things to do at the hotel or get in the car and explore a little. The was ample parking and you could probably park a trailer in their overflow lot if you needed to.

The room: Ok, so this is why people stay at this place. You've never been in a hotel room like some of these, seriously! We stayed in the Old Mill room. Two big beds, a water feature (mill thing that runs, but you can switch it off), big room, kid friendly. My kids especially enjoyed the bidet feature on the toilet, you don't see that much in the US! His n hers sinks plus another sink which we used as a wet bar! No view. Glitter wallpaper. Desk made of rock. In general, old, but clean and kept up. Looked like it had probably been redone relatively recently.

It's really hard to compare it to any normal hotel because it's just not a normal hotel. We also looked at a couple of other rooms--all along the same lines as ours: old, clean, lots of personality. Really fastidious types might find it little dated for their taste. I know my mom wouldn't like it, it would seem weird and old to her. But if you find funky stuff cool, you'll like it.

I didn't notice ambient noise from other rooms, seemed quiet. If you go, it's worth the splurge to get one of the cooler rooms-they are all very well documented on their website. Note that if climbing stairs is a problem for you, you need to talk to the hotel as a lot of the rooms appear to be stair access only.

Overall, a fun and unique place to go either as a trip in itself or a stop on a trip up or down the a California coast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank tracyrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I know the title is a little narcisistic, but its actually a really fun place to go. The cake is incredible, you have to try it. Also the decorations are what make the place. Well worth a visit for anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1990Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Roamed the halls of the Madonna Inn (didn't stay there) but it was decorated to the brim and festooned with anything & everything pink if and when possible! Also visited their gift shops on the basement and third floor to find a magnet to fit the Madonna's kitsch along with some gifts for friends. Great place to visit but not sure about the crazy themed rooms I've heard about...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank TheBippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

I just ate in the restaurant:

Bright pink colored sugar... a men's urinal built like a waterfall... a sandwich called: "The Monte Christo" (look it up!) c'mon. A Disneyland of 'over-the-top'! but the folks working there, couldn't have been nicer, wonderful sense of humor, the portions were enormous and everything was spotlessly clean so, jump on the carousel, let the music take over, the lights flash and feel like a maharajah of mashed-potatos. Take the photo of yourself indulging in a pink frosted cake like only Hollywood could imagine it and then move on. At least you won't be hung over the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Fsilverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,246 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £180 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing