We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly neat - rustic retro charm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Surprisingly neat - rustic retro charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

20+ years after going to Cal Poly I finally stayed here and it was worth the wait. Pleasantly surprised with the variety of options, things to do, and rustic retro charm. Chose a room by cost and it was an end-unit which was nice as it had more windows (Swiss Chalet). Funky neat older decor, as expected, but updated bathroom and TV - what more do you need? Walls are not super thick (heard our neighbors when they were talking loudly) but otherwise it was quiet everywhere and felt private. 85-degree gorgeous pool with two hot tubs, great view, bar, cafe, restaurant, gift shops, and hot pink tennis courts! We did it all except the restaurant (we stayed casual and had all of our meals in the cafe). Great service, and you feel like you're a world away - a pink rustic retro escape. We were going to go to the Farmer's Mkt but once at Madonna Inn we decided to stay and spent the whole time there. Great trip, will be back.

Room Tip: We chose Swiss Chalet - it was in the cheapest range and was an end unit that had a great view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GForce2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your review and for making an effort to stay with us after 20+ years! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and that we could provide activities to make your trip special. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    489
    209
    78
    62
See reviews for
416
708
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
213 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 740 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

The most pictoresque, kitschy and flamboyant hotel (or motel) I ever visited. Not possible not to notice if you pass there. Therefore not possible to miss. All the rooms are different and creatively designed and furnished, like a movie set. A crazy experience that you never forget

Room Tip: All the roooms are different so choose the one inspires you the most
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skardanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The kitschy nature of the hotel was great and about what we expected, so no surprises there. It's old and needs updating, but that sort of adds to the experience. What we didn't expect was service that was horrible and staff that acted like they were serving out a prison sentence. We had some friends send some wine to our room and when we didn't get it, we called the front desk to ask about it. The woman gave us a, "arrgh, let me check"....click. Turns out it went to an empty room. After a few more phone calls, we finally got it and then a little while later they brought an opener for the wine too. They all acted like it was a huge hassle and time consumer for them which was a bummer. I was told to ask for a military discount on the room, especially since it was a Sunday night (the place was empty), but was told no. OK, no big deal. I said that I had seen discounts for military listed among reviews on trip advisor and asked if they no longer offered them. They finally offered me $20 off (a $279 room) which was appreciated, but it sounded like they felt they were doing me a huge favor. So other military guys and gals out there, make sure you mention Trip Advisor when asking if they offer a discount for your service.

Room Tip: If it's raining or planning to during your stay, it's real noisy on the ground floor with wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goninety54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

we were told by our friends about this place when we stopped in San Jose, we would have not stopped other wise and what a treat! the building is so amazing and the decorations for Christmas were over the top I loved it!! We decided to have dinner there was a wonderful band playing and people dancing we didn't want to leave. I had steak and my husband has fish and both meals were absolutely perfect, the service was wonderful, I can't say enough and the history is so cool, cant wait to go back and spend more time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you to both you and your friends who gave you the recommendation! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Christmas decorations, food and service. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Staying at the Madonna Inn is a unique experience. When you make a reservation, they will want to know what room you want, because no two rooms are the same. If you give the clerk ideas about what you like (bed size, what floor you want to be on, etc.) he/she will make a suggestion. Some differ only in decoration, but others are truely unique (a cave shower for example). The grounds are spacious (and well landscaped) and the rooms often are as well. We had the basic king bed room, but it was what some places call a suite these days as there was a separtae sitting area. Everything was clean and comfortable. Our car was very close to our door, but not all rooms have that feature. There is both a cafe (3 meals a day) and a restraurant (dinner only) on the property.

Room Tip: There is a website where you can find descriptions and pictures of the rooms to help you make a choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The hotel is simply beautiful and extremely interesting. It is one of those 'attractions' that you do not want to die out because of its quirkiness!

Booked the Oriental Fantasy room which was prettier in real life than its picture on the website. Felt pampered like an emperor in the room with its colors, decorations, automated heated toilet seats!!

A must try when one's doing a roadtrip on the pacific coast highway.

Room Tip: This hotel is famous for its themed rooms. Oriental Fantasy which we had was colorful and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zymorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestline, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Booked a waterfall room. Got the YAHOO room which was right next door to the laundry. Partially our fault because due to illness had to postpone original date booked (November) when we arrived was told another $100 because "season change" hokey and not worth nearly $300. Pool and spa was nice. Food good. Just not for me.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank screamingmememe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed to hear you were not 100% pleased with your room. Our rates are consistent year round with the exception of New Years Eve when we have increased rates for the holiday season. Perhaps we can have you as our guest again in the future to try another room. We would love another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing