We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a fun place to stay! We stayed in the Kona Rock room and it was very comfortable. It seemed like we were in the Flinstones! The bathroom was really neat, all made of rock and the fire place added great atmosphere and warmth as it was cold and rainy that night. We used the hot tub and the pool and both were very nice. The bar was closed by the pool that evening. The "pink" restaurant was buzzing with all kinds of people. There was a band and there was dancing. We did not eat there and the food looked very expensive ($71 for Australian Lobster Tail). But we did have drinks and I had the lemon-coconut cake which was heavenly.
I would stay here again. The Madonna Inn is also a great stop if you drive from San Francisco to San Diego.

Room Tip: The place is pretty spread out. Must try the pool, it's very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alecsandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    499
    214
    80
    63
See reviews for
430
728
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Love unusual hotels and The Madonna Inn has been on my wish list for YEARS, so i was worried it wouldn't live up to my expectations. When it was built, in the 50's, it was next to a small highway which unfortunately has grown in size ti become a very busy, noisy road. This bothered me for about 5 minutes then, after entering Madonna world, you forget.
We stayed in The Love Nest, although I originally wanted The Madonna Suite nothing can be guaranteed so i requested something similar....The Love Nest is almost the same. A beautiful room with all sorts of attention to detail to make your stay special. Outside, the first morning, the hillside was covered with Deer. The main restaurant is breathtaking, the cafe full of massive cakes(i had the pink champagne cake, best thing ever).
Pool area is gorgeous and very often i was there alone sitting in the jacuzzi watching the mountain waterfall (busy road? What road?). Treatments are pricey but worth it.
The staff were wonderful and everything exceeded expectation...we drove away happy, rested and with an urge to buy fairy lights.

Room Tip: When making a booking give a few examples of rooms you like the look of and they will allocate appro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolavegas084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your positive comments and are so pleased that we exceeded your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have stayed at many properties and the Madonna Inn truly blew us away with it's uniqueness. They're more of a resort with rooms fairly spread apart (you will drive to your room). We stayed at the American Room and it was HUGE!! We had two beds and they even supplied two cribs for our toddler and newborn. The fireplace and lounge area was a nice touch as it allowed us to relax once the kids had gone to bed.

I love a toilet that washes and dries everything for you ;)... seriously we spent a good fifteen minutes marvelling the contraption. Only down side is that the tub was a bit high and difficult for 5 ft me to get in. Beyond that everything was amazing. The room was comfortable and very unique. I got a chance to see one the Madonna Suite with it's rock waterfall and must say I'll be back to experience that first hand!!

YES the cake is amazing. You MUST get a slice. It's definitely worth the $7.

Ensure you give yourself plenty of time to lounge by the pool and maybe even horseback ride up the mountain. Sunrise and Sunset was gorgeous here and walking around the property is highly recommended. We didn't dine at the resort but I did pop into the cocktail lounge around 10 p.m. with kids in tow. There was live music but it was a slow night - worked out perfectly for us as the toddler was able to dance and run around.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong! Check out their website to see pictures of each suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YasHKinZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I just loved this place and everything about it. We stayed in the Dez room and the decor was beautiful, I wish I could have taken a look inside some of the other rooms, and I am already picking out what room I want to stay in on my next visit. The room was very clean and came with everything you need and more. Great nights sleep.

We went to the bar area, restaurant pool area and cafe in our visit and thought they were equally as lovely as our room. Great customer service, great options and great pink drinks! Oh and I live band with lots of people dancing on the dance floor - it seems like a popular spot, not just for hotel residents.

Great location, we went hiking in Prefumo Canyon, which has some surprisingly challenging trails. Shops and stores near by also. I just wished we had a chance to take advantage of more of the area, however we only stayed for two nights.

Can't wait to come back again!

Room Tip: If you want a specific room, call before making the booking, I called and they told me the room I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerri_lousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Madonna Inn. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities as well as the local hiking options in the area. Prefumo Canyon is a beautiful area. For your next visit, the Lemon Groove Loop Trail or the Cerro San Luis Trail are located right near our property. Or if you are looking for something a little more adventurous, Bishops Peak offers amazing views from the top! We are looking forward to welcoming you back to try another room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Even if you never get the chance to stay in one of the 130 plus themed rooms at his hotel you really must find time to stop here, if only for a coffee or a cocktail. The public areas of the hotel have been decorated in the most amazing style based on the colour pink. Everywhere you look, every public room you go into, there is something in it which will bring a smile to you face. All the hotel rooms have different themes - caveman, wagon train, film kitsch. The downstairs gentlemens rest room is something to see with a rock faced waterfall urinal which comes on remotely as you approach it. Quite an amazing place

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tallbear55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

20+ years after going to Cal Poly I finally stayed here and it was worth the wait. Pleasantly surprised with the variety of options, things to do, and rustic retro charm. Chose a room by cost and it was an end-unit which was nice as it had more windows (Swiss Chalet). Funky neat older decor, as expected, but updated bathroom and TV - what more do you need? Walls are not super thick (heard our neighbors when they were talking loudly) but otherwise it was quiet everywhere and felt private. 85-degree gorgeous pool with two hot tubs, great view, bar, cafe, restaurant, gift shops, and hot pink tennis courts! We did it all except the restaurant (we stayed casual and had all of our meals in the cafe). Great service, and you feel like you're a world away - a pink rustic retro escape. We were going to go to the Farmer's Mkt but once at Madonna Inn we decided to stay and spent the whole time there. Great trip, will be back.

Room Tip: We chose Swiss Chalet - it was in the cheapest range and was an end unit that had a great view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GForce2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your review and for making an effort to stay with us after 20+ years! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and that we could provide activities to make your trip special. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
221 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 771 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The most pictoresque, kitschy and flamboyant hotel (or motel) I ever visited. Not possible not to notice if you pass there. Therefore not possible to miss. All the rooms are different and creatively designed and furnished, like a movie set. A crazy experience that you never forget

Room Tip: All the roooms are different so choose the one inspires you the most
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skardanelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing