We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to check out for a night”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Madonna inn on our one night stop in San Luis Obisbo.

The hotel is super unique- each room was different. We stayed in the Cabin Still room which had a rock floor and funky copper sink.

The pool was nice, but drinks were pretty pricy. We opted to drive downtown for dinner (it was about 8 minutes) which I would recommend because it's a super cute town.

While the room was unique, the bed was way to soft and very creaky. We were fine for one night, but if you are staying for longer I would find somewhere else.

beware- there is a $15 daily resort fee on top of your room stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenjenattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

How on earth do you describe the Madonna Inn? Kitsch, cool, funky, fun and so full of character that it's not for the timid traveler. We stayed in the "Barrels of Fun" room and found it delightful. The rock shower was both exhilarating and a little scary (if you slip and fall, I'm certain a massive head injury would result) and the sparkly wallpaper made me laugh. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and the experience was miles away from the ordinary. The dining room was an explosion of pink and dinner was wonderful. The pool area was amazing and the waterfall was lovely. The service was great from the staff and they seem to understand that they have a unique gem on their hands and act accordingly. If you want normal: this is NOT the place for you. If you want to stay somewhere that will be remembered and a fun, cherished memory: stay at the Madonna. We loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scribble96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Barrel of Fun room and the overall experience here at Madonna Inn. We appreciate your positive review and thank you for your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

So no one really prepared me for what I was walking into with this hotel. More specifically- I don't think I've ever seen so much pink in my lifetime in one place. Even the cake is pink. The napkins are pink. The decor is...you get the idea.

I asked for the most normal room and got the swiss chalet. I basically didn't sleep because the lamp had a statue of a gargoyle that stared at me all night.

However, if you can get past all that, the people there are nice. They have a shuttle to the local airport (some dude with a beard). The view from the spa and pool are breathtaking. And you are guaranteed to meet a character (or 2) that you will never forget.

Room Tip: I can not prepare you for this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainview29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Madonna Inn for one night in May during our two day drive down Highway 1, and this was our second time staying here - the first being four years ago while on our honeymoon. I loved it four years ago, and if possible I loved it even more this second time - yes it's kitsch and OTT and maybe a little pricey, but it is also FABULOUS and such an experience. We stayed in Carin this time (room 218), and it was without a doubt the pinkest room I have ever been in: pink bed spreads, deep pink carpets, pink bathroom, pink sequins on the walls….. pink everywhere. There were cherubs hanging from the ceiling and plenty of ridiculously ornate mirrors hanging on the walls. Decor aside, it was also a very well situated room: right at the far end of the building, and also on the top floor in its own little tower or turret - so no noise from either the sides or above (Note: last time we stayed in Cabin Still, a ground floor rock room. Great room but incredible amounts of noise from people clomping up and down the stairs and walking above…. so rooms on the top floors are probably good if you are allergic to noise like I am!).

Room 218 also has two balconies, with lovely views out over the highway and the hills. The only potential con to this room is that it can get quite hot with all windows/doors closed, and the air conditioning doesn't fully cope with a Californian heat wave, however we simply kept the balcony doors open (there are bug guards, so fine at night too) and it was wonderfully cool; we slept very well. The toiletries supplied are very nice, and the shower was maybe the best one we'd had of the whole two week vacation: good temperature control and excellent water pressure. The wifi is free and works well; we didn't really watch TV so no comment on that, and we didn't stay for breakfast so no comment there either (although I can say that it is not included in the standard room rate). Other things supplied in the room included an iron, ironing board, hair dryer, ice bucket (no mini bar or fridge), robes, and pool towels (we didn't use the pool this time, but from the last visit I recall it was great - we enjoyed sitting in the hot tub, looking out over San Luis Obispo). Parking is outside, and it is usually possible to get a spot very close to your room. I would also recommend a visit to the Gold Rush steak house on site - another incredible experience all on its own!

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the top floors if you are concerned about noise from above; we were in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GT_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your return visit and your wonderfully positive review on our establishment! We have two other rooms that sound like they might be good choices for you also called Love Nest and Just Heaven that are also on the top floor and feature small staircases that provide you with lookout views of the property and surrounding areas. We appreciate your business and hope to you again in the future for another amazing OTT visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Each room is unique. A picture of each room is available on-line. This room has a partial rock wall behind a sofa with wallpaper above which looks odd. The room is a good size, end unit with windows on two sides and in the bathroom, but it is near the ice machine and we could hear laundry machines during the day both days. We did hear kids during the day and could hear people talking and walking at night. The shower is on the small side with rock walls and smells like a cave. The room has a musty smell too. My favorite is the pool and hot tubs. Breakfast is a short walk down the hill, large portions and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycehnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family and I stayed for 1 night at the Madonna Inn. My children thought the rooms were not updated. However, they could not see the charm in each and every inch of this place. This place is the most unique lodging I had ever stayed at. We checked in at night and our room was called Springtime. It was lovely. When we woke up in the morning, we had breakfast. the breakfast was so tasty and the restaurant was decorated so uniquely. One of the highlights was the pool and hot tubs. 85% in the pool overlooking the most beautiful scenery. Add this hotel to your bucket list of things to do in Califronia.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacque5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and for bringing your family to stay with us! All of our rooms were renovated and updated in 2008. I'm happy that you appreciated the small details that make us so unique!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014


The Madonna Inn is charming, unique and very pink. You should definitely stop for a meal to experience the folly of Alex Madonna. I'd think twice, however, before spending the night here. Our room was dark and and musty, though it appeared clean. It's dated by design with one part bordello, two parts thrift store and a dash of Louis XIV's garage sale. When you check in, you must sign a contract agreeing not to remove anything from the rooms. No chance of that happening! The Inn is a true "motor hotel" where you can park outside your room, but because of this coupled with the fact that Hwy 101 is a stone's throw away, this place is loud and noisy. It was not restful listening to conversations in the next room or semi trucks rumbling down the highway all night. The beds are soft and lumpy and the room lighting is terrible, with barely enough light for reading. The bathrooms have been modernized which is a plus. The Spa and Fitness center are newer additions with modern amenities, but the Spa decor is still 19th century brothel. Bottom line: This place is a must see for a bite and visit to the bakery or a good spa treatment but I suggest the Embassy Suites across the street for a good nights sleep.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,459 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
644 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,263 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £161 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing