We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bar, hated the room”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved the bar, hated the room”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I love the kitschy bar and restaurant - all of the pink, the gold, the horrific opulence was awesome . The pool area is really nice - a really well maintained and clean pool area with a big (heated) pool.

The rooms are terrible. I get that they are all supposed to be wild, kitschy, crazy...but at least throw down a new clean comforter every 20 years or so, and clean the carpets every decade. The walls are paper thin, we heard everything every direction around us. I would never sleep at the Madonna Inn again, though I did enjoy the property and the bar.

I give it 3 stars because of the pool and bar - but if those 2 things were factored out it would have been a 2.

Room Tip: Bring your own blankets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    505
    214
    81
    63
See reviews for
433
736
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed one night like many before and many will after. It is an experience and a place like no other and for that it is worth seeing if your passing. But if you want a calmer environment you will better off 10 miles down the road at Morro Bay.

The room we had was the Pioneer Room - perhaps a tame option compared to many - but it was clean, comfortable and very spacious. It could have slept 2 more on the sofas alone.

We didn't use the dining options as we went into town, which is worthwhile if the place is busy as it was when we arrived in early evening with a wedding in full swing. Still we bought some stuff at the shop, stared at the sheer audacity of the decor and admired (?) the doll on the swing in the ceiling! It is a memory that will endure.

Room Tip: What can you say? Look at the pictures - it really is what you will get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardP2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here one night on our vacation up the coast from LA to Napa. We had a fantastic time here - it's hard to describe, it could almost be tacky if it wasn't so wonderfully done. We stayed in the Austrian suite and it was lovely - perfectly done from the furnishing to the decor. Such a nice surprise. We decided to have dinner at the restaurant and it was fabulous - a throw back in time with wonderful staff. I would recommend but only if you are able to embrace the whimsy and just enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for just the one night at this hotel as I had seen it on a travel show about 10 years ago and thought it was fab.
We were not disappointed one bit.
Our room was the 'mountain view' room which really did have a great view, was spacious and the decor had to be seen to be believed.
Mural depicting Red Indians watching a stage couch in the distance.
The bathroom was great BUT the loo was the best!!!!! Wash and blow dry... If you get my meaning AND heated seats ha ha ha I loved it.

Staff were fantastic all throughout the hotel, spa and restaurant.
Food was wonderful in the main restaurant, we had steak that cut like a hot knife through butter.

Kitsch does not even begin to describe it. It's not every bodies cup of tea but shame on those who complain about it as if you check out the website you would be very well aware of what you are in for.

By the way, the views from the pool area are amazing.

Room Tip: Do your research and decide which room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkgerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review! I am so happy to hear that the rooms, service, and food lived up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Madonna Inn is hard to describe - on the one hand it's more a phenomenon than something as plain and simple as a hotel, but on the other hand it's a hotel pure and simple. You start to get an idea of what is expecting when you pass the Madonna Inn sign along the freeway, and also when you pull up to the registrations office; the colors, the designs etc etc. It's all over the top and, let's face it, that's why we come here. Madonna Inn offers all the regular stuff you expect to find at a resort hotel; a steakhouse, a coffee shop, a giftshop etc. There's also a pool and exercise room, and they offer horsebackriding and hiking as well. The rooms are over-the-top; design-wise there is no way to describe the interior design in a simple way - let's just call it unique in the true essence of the word. Having said that - beyond the wacky designs our bed was very comfortable, we had a sofa that could seat 6 or 7 people, a huge bathroom with a waterfall shower. We did not try the steakhouse but did try the Copper Cafe and Silver Bar. The portions at the Café are huge and the food felt "heavy" - old school would be a way of describing it. The Bar is nice and the bartender mixed great drinks for us.

All in all, Madonna Inn should be looked upon as an experience rather than a place to spend the night. If you are just looking for a place to sleep with less care for the immediate surroundings then this is probably not the place for you. However, if you appreciate a truly unique experience then Madonna Inn is a solid, comfortable hotel with the added twist of the over-the-top interior design. There is no need to stay at "McHotels" all the time, you know... :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

So fun! We stayed 2 nights and in 2 different rooms (by choice). It's tacky, it's gaudy, it's fantastic. Have an open mind and you'll have the best time. I see some reviews are whining because it looked like their grandma's bedrooms. Maybe so but it was so unique and interesting, who cares? Some rooms are funky, some are old fashioned, some have rocks. If you want to pick exactly what room you want, book directly with the hotel. It's a completely unique hotel and I find it fantastic. The staff all were lovely. The service in the Cafe was a little slow but the food was well worth it. The Eggs Benedict…well, I can't stop thinking about it. We took our bicycles with us and used the bike path to ride downtown. There is a hill and if you are on a beach cruiser like I was, you'll be pushing it up :) So worth it though. Will certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This place really is like something out of a Salvador Dali dream. It's equally glamorous and plush as well as weird and wonderful. The rooms are all different (as you know) but they're comfortable enough too with perhaps the best toilets I've ever used (I won't ruin the surprise). A perfect stop off for roast trippers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tiernanwelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing