We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madonna Inn
Nearby Hotels
La Cuesta Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$168
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose Garden Inn(San Luis Obispo)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
US$197
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveller rating
784
563
231
92
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
563
231
92
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock showercopper cafethemed roomsover the topcaveman roomrock wallsmadonna suitegold rush steakhousechampagne cakedifferent themekona rocksky roomheated toilet seatlove nestbucket listfilet mignonmen's bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
826 - 831 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Thought this would be kitschy and fun. But this a motel- with old musty carpets, comforters which look like they haven't been cleaned since the brady bunch, and a weird circus to boot.

We ran away about 10 minutes after seeing our room- everyone was too grossed out.

We went to a clean, comfortable hampton inn 5 minutes away, at a much lower price.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Aa11bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are family of four, traveling with two older teens. we were traveling up the coast for college visits, from LA to SF. I made it a point to stop at madonna inn. I had stayed there as a child in the late 1970s, and I was curious to see if my amazing memories stood the test of time! I would say YES! this last visit was fabulous. we stayed two nights -- had planned on one night, but added a second night and so glad we did. we stayed in the Sky Room (same room I had stayed in 30 plus years ago). first, pool area amazing and relaxing. we had a good day of rest at the pool, resting up from the college tours! lovely setting! the room decor of sky room is about the same, so expect kitchy old school fun -- but the bathroom very modernized, spa shower, bidet/heated commode seat/lots of upgrades in the room. my teens had the entire upstairs loft area, two separate beds, a ton of space in the loft! this place is just ... well... cool and fun! food in the restaurant very so-so but ambiance fun (think disneyworld, esp fantasy land) and staff very friendly. we ate two breakfasts, and one late dinner...rest of the time ate in town which I'd recommend. downtown SLO is so close, you can easily walk it, but we rented the pink bikes for fun. the first night we arrived late, we poked our head in lounge area, which literally had a lounge singer (think bill murray SNL), again, all of which was fun to see. everyone seems in a good mood at madonna inn -- kind of hard not to be. what I really liked -- my teens, ages 14 and 17, seemed to think it was as cool as I did when I was a kid -- so this place still has it!

Room Tip: Sky room has a lot of space in the loft area for kids.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgoblue1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for coming back after 30 years and bringing your family. We are pleased to hear that your sons enjoyed it as much as you did! The positive comments are appreciated, as is your business. Hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We go out of our way to stay here while traveling. This place is so fun - great pool/spa. The pool bartender was new and just learning drinks - so these were a but suspect. This time we went horseback riding, which was wonderful. From the top of the mountain, there are views of the massive Madonna property. We stayed in the Safari room and the Jungle Rock room. The mattresses need an upgrade, but the decor was typical Madonna Inn kitsch. Both rooms had a rock waterfall shower - super fun. It was our anniversary, so the Inn sent a bottle of champagne to our room. We had dinner at the steakhouse, and they gifted us a giant slice of black forest cake. Love this place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We came for a family reunion and that was Great! The reason we stayed here was we heard so many people say the rooms are all different & unique??? When you fill out the questionnaire when you register don't mark yes you are handicapped because it will not matter!My husband has a hard time walking so they gave us a room with rocks all over the walls and the FLOOR!!! The bathroom is small, no counter space, & the faucets leaked all over the counters! It was not beautifully decorated, very plain, it must have been for Flintstones! No parking in front of our room or anywhere at 9 pm except in front by front desk, they had to drive us back to our room because it was too far to walk up hill. When we checked out we told the clerk we were not happy & would never come back! We told her about the room and she says you could of went on line and looked at the rooms but we didn't know that and we did not book online! Why did they not ask us when we registered????

Room Tip: Ask if you can see pictures of the rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with your stay. Even though you did not book online, we offer photos of all of our rooms on our website so that way our guests can choose their room prior to booking. We are a unique hotel property and we try to offer as many options as possible so that you can choose a room that is best suited for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had lunch here while on our family vacation. There were 10 of us but they got us right in which was very nice. They have a good variety of meals. I had a lunch chefs salad which was very good. The rest of the family were pleased with their meals. They also have kids meals. After our lunch, we explored the facility which is filled with eye candy! We all had to see the bathrooms, stores and grounds. What a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews