We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird and interesting”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weird and interesting”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

This is no Ritz and the place is expensive but it is extremely unique and more of an experience than a luxury stay.
The pool was amazing and we stayed here for a friend's birthday party while staying in SLO. Definitely an easy place to bring girls back to!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Author1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    499
    214
    80
    63
See reviews for
430
728
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culver City, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights and loved it! The Food in the restaurant was great and the PINK CAKE was heaven! Our room was clean and very comfy, front desk staff was great! we will come again. We recommend this Inn to anyone who loves something different.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Thought this would be kitschy and fun. But this a motel- with old musty carpets, comforters which look like they haven't been cleaned since the brady bunch, and a weird circus to boot.

We ran away about 10 minutes after seeing our room- everyone was too grossed out.

We went to a clean, comfortable hampton inn 5 minutes away, at a much lower price.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Aa11bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We are family of four, traveling with two older teens. we were traveling up the coast for college visits, from LA to SF. I made it a point to stop at madonna inn. I had stayed there as a child in the late 1970s, and I was curious to see if my amazing memories stood the test of time! I would say YES! this last visit was fabulous. we stayed two nights -- had planned on one night, but added a second night and so glad we did. we stayed in the Sky Room (same room I had stayed in 30 plus years ago). first, pool area amazing and relaxing. we had a good day of rest at the pool, resting up from the college tours! lovely setting! the room decor of sky room is about the same, so expect kitchy old school fun -- but the bathroom very modernized, spa shower, bidet/heated commode seat/lots of upgrades in the room. my teens had the entire upstairs loft area, two separate beds, a ton of space in the loft! this place is just ... well... cool and fun! food in the restaurant very so-so but ambiance fun (think disneyworld, esp fantasy land) and staff very friendly. we ate two breakfasts, and one late dinner...rest of the time ate in town which I'd recommend. downtown SLO is so close, you can easily walk it, but we rented the pink bikes for fun. the first night we arrived late, we poked our head in lounge area, which literally had a lounge singer (think bill murray SNL), again, all of which was fun to see. everyone seems in a good mood at madonna inn -- kind of hard not to be. what I really liked -- my teens, ages 14 and 17, seemed to think it was as cool as I did when I was a kid -- so this place still has it!

Room Tip: Sky room has a lot of space in the loft area for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgoblue1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for coming back after 30 years and bringing your family. We are pleased to hear that your sons enjoyed it as much as you did! The positive comments are appreciated, as is your business. Hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We go out of our way to stay here while traveling. This place is so fun - great pool/spa. The pool bartender was new and just learning drinks - so these were a but suspect. This time we went horseback riding, which was wonderful. From the top of the mountain, there are views of the massive Madonna property. We stayed in the Safari room and the Jungle Rock room. The mattresses need an upgrade, but the decor was typical Madonna Inn kitsch. Both rooms had a rock waterfall shower - super fun. It was our anniversary, so the Inn sent a bottle of champagne to our room. We had dinner at the steakhouse, and they gifted us a giant slice of black forest cake. Love this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We came for a family reunion and that was Great! The reason we stayed here was we heard so many people say the rooms are all different & unique??? When you fill out the questionnaire when you register don't mark yes you are handicapped because it will not matter!My husband has a hard time walking so they gave us a room with rocks all over the walls and the FLOOR!!! The bathroom is small, no counter space, & the faucets leaked all over the counters! It was not beautifully decorated, very plain, it must have been for Flintstones! No parking in front of our room or anywhere at 9 pm except in front by front desk, they had to drive us back to our room because it was too far to walk up hill. When we checked out we told the clerk we were not happy & would never come back! We told her about the room and she says you could of went on line and looked at the rooms but we didn't know that and we did not book online! Why did they not ask us when we registered????

Room Tip: Ask if you can see pictures of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Forgette, Manager at Madonna Inn, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were displeased with your stay. Even though you did not book online, we offer photos of all of our rooms on our website so that way our guests can choose their room prior to booking. We are a unique hotel property and we try to offer as many options as possible so that you can choose a room that is best suited for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
244 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had lunch here while on our family vacation. There were 10 of us but they got us right in which was very nice. They have a good variety of meals. I had a lunch chefs salad which was very good. The rest of the family were pleased with their meals. They also have kids meals. After our lunch, we explored the facility which is filled with eye candy! We all had to see the bathrooms, stores and grounds. What a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing