We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madonna Inn - a must do!”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Coomera, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Madonna Inn - a must do!”
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Our family (incl 10yo & 13yo boys) spent one night here on our travels. Our son discovered it from a tv travel show & researched it on the internet. The place is like a giant dolls house and whilst trying to describe it might sound a bit kitsch, it was unbelieveable. Every room is individually decorated to a theme - we stayed in the Safari Room. There was plenty of space but no fridge (not an issue for an overnighter). The shower was like a rock waterfall. The grounds were huge and the hotel is set into a rock face on the side of a hill, which makes for a dramatic back drop. The rooms were very clean and quiet. A short walk along a paved path up the hill (only a gentle slope and easily accessed) leads to the pool and spa area. The area overlooks the valley and the freeway, but there is no noise generated by the traffic. A waterfall and seating area made for a peacefull and cool spot to sit and relax, and the pool itself is a good size, with a walk-in "beach" entrance.
There is a cafe, shop and restauarant on site. The food was excellent as was the service. We had dinner in the Gold Rush Steakhouse, which is a must do, whether staying at the Madonna Inn or not. The decore is all pink, but it works, believe it or not! A complimentary appetsier platter is delivered to the table upon seating and there is a good choice of dishes to suit most tastes - steak, chicken, seafood, pizza, vegetarian, etc. There is a bar area as well as a dance floor and stage adjoining the restaurant. We were treated to a (obviously local) group dancing to swing music - it created a fantastic atmosphere both whilst dining and then after the meal simply watching them go through their paces.
Breakfast was at the cafe, and again, a good range to choose from and large servings, along with bottomless coffee. All the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful, stopping for a chat, but not being obtrusive.
The whole experience was very enjoyable the the kids loved it - deciding it was one of the best places they have stayed at. We highly recommend the Madonna Inn for a stopover if you are travelling through San Luis Obispo - it's an experience you won't forget!

  • Liked — The whole theme throughout the hotel
  • Disliked — We had no negatives
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AustralianDuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    499
    214
    80
    63
See reviews for
430
728
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

1 night stay on the way up the coastal highway. Need to stay for longer next time. Choose your room, all individually decorated in quirky styles! Great! Dinner in the restaurant is worth staying in for and a dance after dinner rounds off the evening.

  • Liked — The rooms - check them out online!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billybusrammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2008

The Madonna Inn was a fun and unique experience. We stayed in the Caveman Room and it was amazing. The room was stone, floor to ceiling, including a few jutting stones that server as shelves. The animal print bedspread and curtains added to the theme, as did the hide covered chair and ottoman. There was even a waterfall activated by a switch.

As amazing as the room was, the bathroom was even more impressive. The only “normal” part of the room was the toilet. The room also featured a large shower with a conventional showerhead (and VERY powerful water pressure) plus a full overhead waterfall. The sink was also a waterfall, and there was even a waterfall urinal! The bathroom also featured a stained glass window featuring a caveman.

It was a fun place to spend a night, but overall the practicality of the room would have been difficult to tolerate for more than one night. The stone floor was very uneven and the waterfall shower was impossible to fully contain so the bathroom floor was VERY wet after a shower. The waterfall sink was also difficult to use in a normal way. The towels were also very utilitarian, possibly even dating to the inn's earliest days.

The room was quiet and comfortable overall, however.

  • Liked — Unique and thematic
  • Disliked — a bit impractical
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymousninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2008

This was our 2nd trip to the Madonna Inn. First one was 35 years ago, so some things have changed. Obviously, our room had been renovated-the picture didn't do it justice. Everyone was very nice. We had complimentary champagne with an attached Happy Anniversary balloon. The room was clean and pretty quiet. Basically, we didn't have any problems. The bathtub was a little too long for soaking, but was glad to have a bathtub instead of a shower. They have added a spa and beautiful swimming pool with a waterfall. Didn't have the chance to try them, but they looked very clean and well kept. There was a lamp in the room that needs to be fixed, leaned quite a bit. Otherwise, room was what we expected and was glad they now have color TV. Only negative: I had the impression that local calls (within the area code) were free. I made 2 calls and was charged $9 and $11 for each call. I think they should tell you exactly how much each call will be before you make them. Overall we had a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Cleaniness of room
  • Disliked — Phone charges
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DrkRaven79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2008

This was my fourth visit to the Madonna Inn. We have travelled down Route 1 from San Francisco each time. Have stayed in Safari Room, Cave Man Room, Jungle Rock and Yosemite. Friends traveling with us have stayed in Irish Hills and Kona Rock. We have found it a great place to stay on route towards LA. Great fun. Now has a fantastic pool area. Nice boutique, restaurant, cafe etc. We have nothing like this in the UK. No doubt when traveling route 1 we will do it again.

Well worth staying in.

  • Liked — The different decor
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2008

My wife and I stayed here for one night recently on our honeymoon, while travelling up the California coast. We had researched the Madonna Inn online and picked out a few rooms we'd like to stay in. Calling the Inn directly was helpful since some of the rooms were already booked and it helped us narrow the options down quickly.

If you are thinking of staying here for just a night or two, embrace the tackiness. If you are not easily amused and like to take yourself seriously, or you want a real luxury experience, go somewhere else.

We stayed in the Swiss Rock room. The floor was all rock, and a little cold, but the room had its own heating/cooling unit. The bed was big and comfortable and the rock shower was a neat oddity. We had dinner in the Madonna's restuarant, the Steak House. The experience was equally as tacky, but the staff was great. Very friendly and accomodating, and they are clearly experienced with honeymooners and birthday parties. The food was good, but not excellent.

The highlights would have to be the pool area (on the side of the hill complete with rocky waterfall) and the inn's breakfast. The food at the Copper Cafe was excellent, though not provided with the room. All-in-all: tacky and cute, expensive for 3 stars, but worth a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank capu235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellflower
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

I'd seen the rooms of the Madonna Inn on the Travel Channel so when my husband had a conference there I was excited. We had the What's Left room which is up on the third floor thru a back staircase. The room was spotless and the tile work is unbelievable since there were at least a dozen different patterns all meshed together. The carpet, drapes and wallpaper are all a hodgepodge of different colors while the painted walls were a bright cotton candy pink. We were assigned this room but when we go back I’d request a different themed room.

Outside of the hillside rooms are a patio with several tables and chairs to enjoy the weather, the pool is gorgeous with a rock waterfall and the outside architecture is whimsical.

They had a live band every night we were there playing everything from classics to country. Most of the dancers were in the 60+ range but it was wonderful to watch and wish I could dance like that. The bartenders are a bit reserved but the bar with pink and red vinyls and the gold cherubs are just hilarious. We enjoyed both restaurants and the cakes are to die for. If you look past the gilding the wood carving and masonry is just spectacular. She shows her age in places but the Madonna Inn has great bones.

If you are expecting the Ritz you will be disappointed, but if you want to embrace a kind of wacky-tackiness it is a very fun place to stay.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — No room service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing