We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the hype”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2006

May be worth visiting once. The rooms are OK. Not as exciting or as much fun as one might expect. Just a little bad taste run riot. No real sense of humour applied and not terribly interesting. The restaurant is the most interesting part of the hotel. It is a pink spectacle. The food is not bad, though apart from the steak, most of the rest was poor. Terrible salads served with forks, all chilled straight from a very cold fridge. Rooms are are disappointing. Beds are basic, pillow(s) flat as a pancake. Staff were very nice and straightforward, but very conservative for such a wayward place. Overall, the hotel is a good idea and muct be a money spinner. However, the owners are confused and don't seem to know the difference between tongue in cheek kitch and half hearted bad taste.

Stayed: August 2006
6  Thank TomDulwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,473 - 1,479 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2006

My family and I stayed at the Madonna Inn on our way up the coast of California (it was right on the drive from L.A. to San Fransisco). We stayed in the room entitled "Imperial Family" with a French Country theme. The room costs seem pricey, but upon arrival we discovered that it is worth every penny, because most rooms are semi-suites (with two rooms, but no door in-between the too) The Steak House is fantastic, but if you have young children I would try dining at the cafe right next door, which has a children's menu and is more casual. Even if you can't stay at the Inn, try stopping in for a meal, which are all fantastic. One slight problem for me (but no one else in my famly noticed) was the sounds of the road at night. It is right off the Freeway, but the noise is just minor. If you are in the area, no matter the occasion, the Madonna Inn is a great choice for a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JMHogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

absolute fun
you'll love it unless you are a bore
i agree with another review which strssed the importance of Hearst Castle...simply breathtaking and unimaginable...enjoy the greatest coastal ride in the western world!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank ollster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

The Madonna Inn is anything but subtle. All its rooms are decorated in an over-the-top manner. And that's just what our family needed to break up the drive between LA and the SF Bay Area. (Tip: If you stay on a Thursday night, check out the very large an lively farmers market downtown.)

This is a rare place that works for both families and couples, due to its over-the-top-ness. Sure, it's a little worn (the hair dryer looked ancient), but you suspend judgement to enjoy it.

The onsite restaurant was good as well.

An odditiy is that it does not (as of June 2006) have a swimming pool - but one is under construction.

Prices were competitive with other hotels in the area - but they were "cookie cutter" ones. Given a similar situation, I'd stay here again.

9  Thank BayAreaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

The Madonna Inn in San Louis Obispo is a one-of-a kind experience. The outside exterior is truly wonderful with white similar stylistic carvings resembling the riverboat in the infamous musical “Showboat.” There are at least 4 extraordinary spiraling staircases, leading to the upper floors with red and green colored windows on the towers. Around the gigantic Inn structure are adorable pale pink Lampposts, which are lit at night along with the entire Inn adorned with white Christmas-type lighting.

Each room has a different theme; ours was room #157, the traveler’s suite. It had 2 step stools, leading to majestic kind sized beds, adorned with Victorian-style porcelain lamps. The large bathroom housed a 6-foot long bathtub with two sinks and a red tinted window. 1/3 or the room was taken up by a rock fireplace, reminiscent of the flint stones, but with the modern convenience of a flat screen TV attached on it’s side. This room was easily the size of 3 rooms combined. A couch and two chairs surrounded the over-sized mouth of the fireplace and there was also a round table with 4 red velvet, cushy Victorian-style chairs placed in front of large wall-sized window.

The Steak House was a unique and fun experience. With it’s hot pink leather booths and outrageous ornamentations all around, it was an over the top night. The highlight of the evening were the astonishing and remarkable big band, which played for several hours. These musicians are clearly in the top of their league. We haven’t heard big band played that well since we were forced to watch Lawrence Welk on TV as small children. We were engrossed by the talented dancers both young and old and truly enjoyed dancing ourselves, after a satisfying dinner.

If we could change one thing, it would be more logs for the fire and a longer set with the band! The Madonna Inn is a must-see-to-believe type of journey, suited for young and old a like.


Fawn and Vincent

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
18  Thank songirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

My 13 year old daughter visited the Madonna Inn website while we were planning our trip to California and Oregan and kept stating our stay at the Inn would be the highlight of the trip. I was so happy to find the Inn was just as expected and we were not disappointed. We stayed in "American Home" and found it very unique. I have seen the word "taky" used in many descriptions and while true, the room was very comfortable and clean and part of what makes the Inn so different. The decor was red, white, blue and included a very comfortable couch, dining table and chairs and a small refrigerator. The bathroom was very pretty, although the 7 foot bathtub was nothing more than a 7 foot long tub. Being from Florida I couldn't imagine needing to light a fire in July, but it was cool, so having a fire was an added bonus. Dinner in the Inn was delicious and we even had fun shopping (although a little pricey). My husband even purchased a pink, Madonna Inn baseball cap. We waited with several other women for all the men to leave the men's bathroom so we could see the famous rock urinal...(I wouldn't spend too much time waiting to see that). Overall, our stay was very enjoyable and will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8,018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

We'd just spent 5 days in San Francisco and rented a car to drive down the coast to L.A. This hotel is located about half the way, so it seemed to be a nice solution. We'd also heard about this hotel here in Norway before we left here. The hotel is special, strange and unusual to say it in few words. Special because we're never experienced anything like it, strange because we've never experienced anything like it and unusual because...yes. It's difficult to explain and you'll have to experience it. The staff could perhaps be more service minded, the rooms could perhaps been upgraded a bit, the price is a bit high, but all in all we're satisfied and we'll probably never forget this special hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
2.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,474 reviews
2.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
652 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,294 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £99 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing