We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Do it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Grand Turk
1 review
“Don't Do it....”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Checked in a week ago with two dogs, the room was old, smelled, door opening, room temp got down so cold could not sleep. Sign posted outside all new rooms, that is in 2014.. False advertising, then when I went to take another 7 days, as it is xmas.... and no time to look for another place, being I have two dogs.. I was told by the very rude GM Elise, that I could not get another 7 days... and that I needed to leave by 12 noon, or she would call the police.. I am 53 years old, not an idiot owned 5 restaurants... In addition too, her kids were kept behind the desk, small ones, not very professional... I think some government organization should look into this..
Also, truckers, bikers arrive all night long, sleeping is impossible, also, no maid service, I had two dogs, would ask them to clean room, and gave a two hour take the dogs out... and the room was never cleaned... I recommend La Quinta ... the only place to stay, now at Super 8.. the best place.. and they are nice, clean room, breakfast.. for just 20.00 more... what a dump Motel 6... don't leave the light on for me will never go to another one ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hors3811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    57
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
45
52
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We chose this Motel 6 primarily for the cost. We needed a separate space for our son, and the cost of two rooms, for two nights, was wa-a-ay less than a suite at any other location. They also allowed our dog at no extra cost. The rooms were simple and clean, as expected, and the stay was very quiet. Only a few frogs in the ivy out in the courtyard made any noise during the night. Friendly check-in and room service. Don't forget to bring your own box of tissue and bottle of shampoo!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Have stayed here twice in the last couple of years and both times had a good experience. Helpful staff. Quiet rooms for the most part as trees help muffle the sound of the freeway. Rooms clean, thin walls, but expected for Motel 6. Last trip two years ago we stayed four nights, this time two nights and would stay again. Definitely recommend to other travellers looking for a good night's sleep in a clean no frills room, without spending too much money. Good for exploring the beach areas too. Good for dogs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldenSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a fine stop-over for a night. While there was activity downstairs late, it didn't keep us up. We managed to sleep in a little, even. The place appears clean, staff polite and helpful, and checking in/out was really quick and easy. I was a little surprised not to see shampoo. Okay, really surprised. But I brought my own, and I didn't miss it. Worked for us for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina_onthe_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Well, simply as it is for the chain. The counter ppl are very nice and helpful. We stopped by there for a night during the low season, so the motel aint full. The environment was very quiet. Fast check in and out. We went to the room. It doesnt seem that bad. The shower actually is pretty strong which I liked. The few things I would complain are not having a box of tissue paper, the towels need to work on more (I like purely white), and beds may have bugs. My mom n sis felt very itchy the next day. Mine is minor. After I came back, I gave them the review and the manager of Motel 6 responded. Hopefully, this problem is being fixed. It only offers coffee and hot tea in their office during the morning time until 10am. The room doesnt have hair dryer but if you need one u can check it out at the front.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liaochunchun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in this motel for a night as a stopover before the Pacific Coast Highway drive. The motel is right on the edge of town and a good 10mins drive away from the main restaurants, shops etc. The member of staff who checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful. We were a bit surprised to have to pay $3 for wifi on top of the $90 paid for the room, as the room was extremely basic - no fridge or safe and small hard towels. There was complimentary coffee and tea in reception in the morning but no breakfast. We stayed in cheaper motels on our trip that provided greater value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We arrived late in the evening and got the last room so it was impossible for them to move us to a room with clean sheets. I found the sheets rumpled, hair on them and strangely, 3 pennies lined up in a row in the middle of the bottom sheet. Their solution was to ask me to wait 15 minutes for them to try to find a set of clean sheets to hand to me. I had to make my own bed which is not what I expect to have to do when arrived late and tired after a long road trip. Was pretty creeped out to sleep there not knowing what else might still be dirty in the room. For my troubles, they gave me a $25 discount. Won't be back. Miguel at the front desk was mortified and very kind but there was nothing much he could do to be helpful other than hand me a pile of bedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciapiedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
253 reviews
3.7 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#28 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
100 reviews
3.8 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
444 reviews
2.4 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South

Property: Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Address: 1625 Calle Joaquin, US 101/El Camino Real at Los Osos Valley Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South Hotel San Luis Obispo
Motel Six San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Motel 6
San Luis Obispo Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing