We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What You Need”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What You Need”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is situated directly off highway 101 which makes getting around via the freeway extremely easy. The room had everything that is necessary for an overnight, nothing more and nothing less. The coffee pot decanter was missing from the in-room set up but as coffee is available from the free (more than adequate) breakfast, we did not bring this to management's attention. The property is well kept and neat. The staff aim to please and are courteous and greet guests with a salutation or a nod and smile if you pass them. For $115.00 all inclusive rate for a 2 bed room was comparative to other hotels in the area charging $40+ for rooms. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites go for $30+ more for a similar room, except the bed can be closed off from the room itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    101
    60
    18
    19
See reviews for
88
96
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Needed a hotel that takes dogs on our most recent jaunt to SLO and booked our rooms here via bringfido.com. Was pleasantly surprised! Nice rooms (just a tad outdated but so is the cute owner), big bathrooms, nice size heated pool, yummy continental breakfast, free movies, free internet and what I loved most was you can hop on the trolley just outside for only 50 cents and it's a quick ride to downtown SLO. Easy access to the highway and less than 5 minutes from Cal Poly. Will definitely stay here again when we have to bring our dogs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marabobara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience: very clean, excellent complimentary breakfast, friendly and accommodating stuff (many thanks Lisa, Sarah, Chris & Mike), great value, close to everything (restaurant, shopping, entertainment, beaches, etc..). Highly recommended to everybody!
Magdalena

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magdalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Sands Inn and Suites is an old run down facility. The carpet, drapes and bathroom need a desperate upgrading. The blankets on the beds were thin and old. The breakfast was disgusting. The eggs were cold and hard. The bagels were stale as well as the rest of the danish. The bananas looked like they were almost a week old.
We left after 1 night. The front desk was not very friendly or happy, but they did recommend a great restaurant...CRAWDADDY's.
We will not stay at the Sands Inn again while visiting our son at CAL Poly. Sorry

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmpfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

San luis obispo
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff are great food really good. The front desk staff took really good care of me, and the room was clean and comfortable. The pool area is great, and the room wasn't too expensive. They have a nice gym, the lobby staff is great, and they have free dvd's to watch.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8ass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Centro, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The area is old, but hotels should be upgraded from time to time. The beds are new and the room is comfortable, but the carpet, drapes and bathroom could use a little help. The staff is courteous and the prices are reasonable.
The breakfast provided was much better than average.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was another pit stop on our way up the coast. I am quite easy to please without all the frills, but I wished we would've paid more for one of the other hotels around the area.

It was only for one night and I'll make it quick and easy:

Pros
- affordable
- free decent breakfast
- convenient location to the freeway
- convenience for walking to downtown shops and restaurants

Cons
- jacuzzi was lukewarm (bummer)
- decor and furnishings were circa 1984
- shower pressure was lacking
- bed was too hard for us

I would only recommend as a one night stay if you want no frills and a hard bed is fine for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letstalktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
718 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
353 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing