We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding me?”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Decided to visit the CalPoly campus with my family and see the sites. Sands offered the amenities I was looking for on their site. The good: the guys at the counter were nice and breakfast offerings were OK.
The bad: old facility being masked by new paint and carpet. The shower faucet had to be turned 20 times, not kidding, to get cold water flowing. My kids almost got scalded the first time they took a shower trying to get cold water to flow. Lights in the bathroom and bedroom flickers when microwave was used. Proof of old electrical wiring. Our keycard had to be redone twice so that we can get in the room. I was looking forward to the sauna but that too was a disappointment. The water was cold and felt like it never passed 70 degrees. Lastly, the room was stuffy and the walls were paper-thin. I don't know why this place gets the 4 and 5's. Stop doing that people. It's misleading people relying on the reviews; specially those traveling with kids.

The room rate is too high for what the Sands offer. Hope this honest daddy review helps others looking to get a quality stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DaddyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel charges a lot of money for what one receives.. The rooms and look are outdated...

Most annoying is the feeling of lack of privacy from the other guests who sit or stand outside to talk, drink and smoke...

Sorry but for what they charge for a room, one can go elsewhere and have an updated room and some privacy from the other hotel guests.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank phk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is situated directly off highway 101 which makes getting around via the freeway extremely easy. The room had everything that is necessary for an overnight, nothing more and nothing less. The coffee pot decanter was missing from the in-room set up but as coffee is available from the free (more than adequate) breakfast, we did not bring this to management's attention. The property is well kept and neat. The staff aim to please and are courteous and greet guests with a salutation or a nod and smile if you pass them. For $115.00 all inclusive rate for a 2 bed room was comparative to other hotels in the area charging $40+ for rooms. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites go for $30+ more for a similar room, except the bed can be closed off from the room itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 4ntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Needed a hotel that takes dogs on our most recent jaunt to SLO and booked our rooms here via bringfido.com. Was pleasantly surprised! Nice rooms (just a tad outdated but so is the cute owner), big bathrooms, nice size heated pool, yummy continental breakfast, free movies, free internet and what I loved most was you can hop on the trolley just outside for only 50 cents and it's a quick ride to downtown SLO. Easy access to the highway and less than 5 minutes from Cal Poly. Will definitely stay here again when we have to bring our dogs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marabobara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I had a wonderful experience: very clean, excellent complimentary breakfast, friendly and accommodating stuff (many thanks Lisa, Sarah, Chris & Mike), great value, close to everything (restaurant, shopping, entertainment, beaches, etc..). Highly recommended to everybody!
Magdalena

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magdalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Sands Inn and Suites is an old run down facility. The carpet, drapes and bathroom need a desperate upgrading. The blankets on the beds were thin and old. The breakfast was disgusting. The eggs were cold and hard. The bagels were stale as well as the rest of the danish. The bananas looked like they were almost a week old.
We left after 1 night. The front desk was not very friendly or happy, but they did recommend a great restaurant...CRAWDADDY's.
We will not stay at the Sands Inn again while visiting our son at CAL Poly. Sorry

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmpfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The staff are great food really good. The front desk staff took really good care of me, and the room was clean and comfortable. The pool area is great, and the room wasn't too expensive. They have a nice gym, the lobby staff is great, and they have free dvd's to watch.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8ass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
406 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
404 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £62 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing