We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dog friendly”
Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“dog friendly”
Reviewed 11 April 2009

Our room was great for the price. The external noise level was high, but the room itself was quiet. It was very dog friendly. We had some problems with one of the heaters in our suite, but we managed with extra blankets they loaded us up with. They were already working on the heater as we departed. We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBMfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    100
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
86
96
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

After reading many reviews of hotels in San Luis Obispo, I was a little nervous about this hotel.
We were upgraded to a suite from a normal room (it is a deal on their website) and the suite was HUGE. Not fancy, but clean. There was a bar, a couch, a little table with chairs, a bathroom, and a normal 2 queen bedroom. The air conditioning worked really well in both rooms and a refrigerator and microwave were added convienences.
You get a free continental breakfast, which wasn't much, but enough if you are not a big eater. The hotel decor is a little cheesy, but not tacky. The pool was clean and nice after a hot afternoon and the spa was hot.
I booked this hotel because of the price (most hotels in the same area were at least $50 a night more) and I got more for my money than I anticipated. It is not a fancy hotel, but it works just fine for a place to rest your head.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Disliked — A little cheesy
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bopqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

In response to my fellow Ventura County resident...

SLO isn't the cheapest of towns for hotel accommodation and we were searching for something reasonably cheap. For $139 we got what we expected. the room was clean and more than adequate for a weekend getaway. Can't comment on any noise since after a hard day's vacationing (if that isn't an oxymoron) we were out for the count... Breakfast - whilst not the ritz, was adequate - and breakfast items were covered and tongs were provided. Coffee was even available out of a china mug, which is one up on the styrofoam cups at a Comfort Inns.

  • Liked — convenient location, clean room
  • Disliked — diluted orange juice at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BritinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinon hills CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

Our bill was 289 for two nights in August, Sunday and Monday. We chose this property because it seemed to be more affordable than some of the others we checked out and also did not seem to be a cheap dumpie place either! and a good location.We had an upstairs what they call a non-smoking Suite in the corner with the gas station behind it, which was two rooms, the front room with a couch, table and two chairs, wet bar, TV on the bar, and behind the bar was a sink, microwave and fridge. On the way to the back room is a very small bathroom with a very tiny toilet seat so if you have a large behind I would not stay here. Luckily my husband and I have small posteriors! Then the back room was two beds, another TV and a sink. Everything was clean, the carpet looked new the cleaner they use in the room left a pretty strong " motel smell".We went to bed at 8 pm and got up at 6:00 am and the bed was very comfy, we slept real good and the noise from the gas station behind us didnt start until we are up and ready to go visit our family. We enjoyed the soft buzzing of the wall mounted air unit to cool the place down . I do think if we were later sleepers the gas station noise might have been an issue in all of the upstairs suite rooms with the motors revving and such.

I am a smoker which is a Huge No No in SLO hotels and environs(mostly everywhere now in California) this is NOT Las Vegas ha ha so I was very happy to have chairs and a table on the outside deck and a trashcan ashtray I could sit beside, but the trash can was full of wine bottles and beer cans and was not emptied in 24 hours. It was still full just before we checked out.

The swimming pool was a very Jade Green which was odd, and the second day we were their the Pool and Hot Tub were both closed and out of order. OH DARN! The continental breakfast offerings are fine for a quick blast of caffeine and carbs nothing to write home about. We loved the easy walking distance to eat at the Apple Farm Inn but will probably try another place on our next visit.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and Comfort
  • Disliked — Green Pool was not appealing then it closed
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goatsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Service was crappy, did nothing to shut up the guests that were next door with their TV on full volume til 3 am. The air conditioner sounded like it was going to come off the wall. the carpets were nasty and the food served at the breaksfast was just left out there for everyone to put their hands all over. Go stay at Comfort or Quality Suites!!! STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE

The manager that was employed during our stay stated she would reimburse back at least a portion of our stay, due to the problems, quit or was fired 4 days after we complained.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmtok1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

california
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We arrived on monday June 16 and was pleasantly surprised that our room was upgraded to the Mayors Suite. Our 3 year old had more room to play around. My husband just loved the room which was complete with a refrigerator, microwave & a mini bar! There were always people in the front office to answer any question & they were really helpful & nice.

The free continental breakfast was also good. The dining area was interesting with all of the owner's collection on display. We were very happy with our room and our stay in general. SInce there weren't too many people around we even got the covered parking. Will stay there again if we visit SLO.

  • Liked — helpful staff who made you feel welcome
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

The Sands is a nice basic hotel. Maybe a little pricey for what you get, but they throw in a free continental breakfast.

It is an old school motel, centered around the parking in the middle, so you drive right up to your door.

Rooms are not too large, not too small. Table with 2 chairs, a one comfy chair, a king bed, 2 bed stands, an armoire with iron and ironing board, a 3 drawer dresser. Decor is basic hotel, nothing fancy. Bathroom is rather small. Shower, no tub. Low-flow shower head.

My room had just been redone, with new carpet and furniture and a nice big flat screen TV. This is still an older building and you can see the wear - some repaired spots in the wall and tilework.

The location is fairly quiet, far enough from the freeway to not get road noise.

There is no restaurant on site but several within walking distance. It is maybe a mile and a half from Cal Poly. You could walk it you want but it is uphill to Campus.

Free wifi in room. Continental breakfast was basic - bagels, fruit, coffee with dry creamer (my pet peeve), cook-em-yourself waffles, oatmeal, cereal.

Decent sized pool with spa and many chaise lounges.

There are many motels and hotels on this part of Monterey Street so you have your pick.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobette23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,379 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing