We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay at winter rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sands Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good stay at winter rates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

I like the Sands Inn, especially when I am traveling solo. The winter rates are decent, mostly in the summer everything in town is overpriced. Location is convenient to downtown and Cal Poly, rooms are clean, staff is pleasant. Pool area is good for sitting and relaxing as well as swimming.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadrunnerCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    99
    58
    18
    19
See reviews for
86
94
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

It's been a little while since we stayed at the Sands Inn & Suites, but it was an okay place. From what I remember, the price was fairly decent, though I feel it could have been cheaper. The Sands is essentially a motel, but the pictures tend to make it look a bit more glamourous than that. There's nothing special about the rooms, but you can definitely tell that it's old. Because of its age, our bathroom felt a little dirty, despite it actually being clean. The pool wasn't very clean, either, and the hot tub has a cover that you have to remove yourself.
Despite those flaws, however, the Sands gave us a clean room and a comfy bed, so I would say it's a decent place if you just need some lodging.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaesoriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So-So Cal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

The Sands is an economy motel that was shameless enough to charge $149 a night for a room that was just slightly less than OK. Oh, it was parent's weekend at Cal Poly (I was there for a different reason), a time during which rates at local hotels and motels seem to approximately double. The room was small and needed updating, the sheets were flimsy, the desk clerk surly and the breakfast blah. For $69 or $79 a night, I wouldn't complain. For $149 a might (plus tax), I'm complaining.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvdljca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmccurtain, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at the Sands Inn & Suites. We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. We always strive for our guests to have a pleasant stay and we are terribly sorry that your expectations were not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

This Motel is great at everything. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Immediately fixed the squeaking door, immediately someone came to adjust the DVD player. The Spa was hot and clean. The king bed was absolutely perfect. It's 2 blocks from the 101 and yet 100% quiet. We would surely look forward to staying again.
Mr. and Mrs. Moore

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jovisgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

There's nothing too sweet about this place, except for maybe the watch and gun collection. Pretty lame motel style rooms, decent mattresses. My biggest gripe was the "Continental Breakfast" which consisted of make your own waffles (probably the only part I liked), orange soda (not juice), lousy watered down coffee, old fruit, and not a drop of water anywhere. The parking lot was difficult, I'll leave it at that, and drunk people screaming in it at 3 a.m. and then again later at 4 a.m. wasn't really good for sleeping. Their "handicap accessible" room did not have a walk in shower, and there were only hairdryers in some rooms, if you didn't get one you had to get a loaner from the front desk. There are other places in the area, you can do much better.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redvisorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
captaindaddio, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 June 2010
Thank you for your feedback - it is much appreciated. We are always striving to improve our hotel - your comments will go towards achiving that goal. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2010

the stay of 3 nites was adequate.. as visitors from a foreign country we found the
checkin staff on arrival to be "stiff", unsure of answers to questions put to them about simple "demographics" of the area, the room was motel style .. the bed though
comfortable was the smallest in all our stay in california..there was a most ample breakfast included in the price and was a welcome start to the day..in all we found
that the accommodation was adequate and well priced.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavros66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorCal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

From the awful check in experience to being rudely kicked out of the pool, I would NEVER stay here again! We'd reserved our room (which was a HUGE disappointment) online and when we asked about the AAA discount, the young kid at the front desk said "we can't do anything" and he wouldn't even look up the price for us. When we requested more pillows, he seemed super irritated....isn't that his JOB?? The only really great thing was the breakfast, and I think that's because I LOVE waffles! Especially freshly cooked waffles! But the Sunny D for OJ and sugary fruit salad was awful. Overall, I'd rate this place a low 1 and would NOT RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesunNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmccurtain, General Manager at Sands Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 22 May 2010
I am very sorry you were disappointed but we do close the pool at 10pm and climbing over the fence is not permitted. Also, we do not give an additional AAA discount to reservations booked through Expedia. Again, I am sorry you felt otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Inn & Suites

Property: Sands Inn & Suites
Address: 1930 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2616
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Inn And Suites
Sands Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sands San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing