We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Locale - NO Room Services!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I like the Vagabond chain (overall) as most properties do a decent job. Was staying with the SLO site recently while visiting area. My room was located upstairs and while conveniently situated and bargain-priced, there's a lot more I expect out of a room than that - like simply 'baseline' comforts; following 3 days in a row there, I suddenly observed the maidstaff had not been laundering my bedsheets - only 're-making' beds each day, hoping you wouldn't notice! Now I don't know about the rest of you out there, but when I am paying $$ for a room, I expect EVERYday Housekeeping services - anything less is deplorable!! When I phoned and complained and questioned such sloppiness, the Mngr. casually informed me that "well, at (this) Vagabond property we don't offer 'daily laundering service!"....That is not acceptable - I wonder, do they (also) take the dirty towels left in room and RE-fold those..... instead of washing?? Makes you creeped out and extremely leery! Also, the very 1st problem I had in the room; NO standard 'sheer curtain/veil' along w/ regular one so that during day, you can enjoy light - w/o marring guest's privacy. Here, if you want the window open during day/nite hours, the whole darned place can peer right into your room as they walk past it! And they DO! Really stupid idea, and really cheap - not the case at the other VI's I have visited. Between that inconvenience and the unsanitary housekeeping services, I think I'll skip this Vagabond Inn next time around. 'Basic' comforts make or break, a place - I don't care how economy-driven the Mngmnt's. motives......penny-wise, and pound foolish. They've just lost my business.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else around town that has 'regular' Housekeeping services - including DAILY l...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewportBeachWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

If you want a run-down, fairly dirty motel room, this is your place. The carpet was worn out and had a lot of stains. The lampshades were stained brown and falling apart, and one of the lamps didn't work. The bathtub hadn't been cleaned very well, and there was debris in the bottom of the tub from whoever had last showered there. The hot water was in short supply (and I felt like I really needed to get clean after spending a night in that room).
I've stayed in both Motel 6's in town and they were cleaner, nicer, and less expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different motel.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunshine20062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This motel was not so good. The front desk staff at check in was rude. We were told not to call the office after 10. Which was very sad later because the people in the room above us were up acting like a herd of elephants until 1:15 in the morning. The room was not very clean and there were stains on the bed covers. For some unknow reason they put us in the handicap so we couldn't park nearby without a handicap license plate. There is a Denny's in the parking lot maybe the brightest spot on this review. We were only there for one night thank goodness.
I would say look else where if you can. Motel 6 would be a step up for sure.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a good room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jmom2many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

nice family running the place. It was clean and I was impressed by the fact that the comforters were fresh and clean. Very simple. Paid TONS of money to stay there over Labor Day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Loriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I spent a night in San Luis Obispo on a trip down the coast at the end of May. Being familiar with SLO, I wanted to spend the night at a budget property that was clean and comfortable. I found both at the Vagabond Inn.

Pros: Easy freeway access, across the street from shops and fast food, walking distance to Madonna Inn, very clean room, remodeled bathroom, decent toiletries provided, microwave and refrigerator in room, free wi-fi.

Cons: Not within walking distance of downtown, nothing fancy, free "breakfast" isn't worth it.

Vagabond Inn delivered a great motel experience for just $56. (Only Motel 6 was measurably less expensive at the time of my visit!) Other discount properties in SLO are too far away from downtown and/or lacking in cleanliness, comfort, or maintenance. The Vagabond Inn even beats some mid-range properties; I enjoyed my stay here far more than my previous Apple Farm Inn experience. Recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

good room for the price. hot tub and pool are nice and warm. easy access to 101 freeway.
close to shopping and close to downtown and

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remers500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My wife, teenage daughters, and I spent a night in SLO to tour Cal Poly. The hotel location is convenient to the freeway, stores, restaurants, and Cal Poly. The beds and rooms are a bit worn, but OK. The room temperature varied a lot with the AC swings. I slept OK, but my wife did not. The breakfast is as advertised: continental. It's muffins and beverages, and not very good. I paid the AAA rate for a double. Overall, it is not a good value, but I booked the room just a day before my stay and there weren't many options.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdamred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo South
#24 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £47 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing