We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not stay here again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will not stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

It took a long time to check in at the front desk, the girl at the front desk kept me standing there without telling what was happening and why she kept me standing there. Apparently they ran out of papers, so I had to sign on a recycled contract. We booked 2 joining rooms, the doors in between did not have door knobs so my kids could not come to our room. The coffee maker in our room did not. The TV in my children's room did not work. Since we only stay there for the night so I did not report it. I did tell the about the coffee maker and the TV not working, the clerk told me OK. OK??? Oh well, we definitely will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kankney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    58
    76
    47
    39
See reviews for
76
85
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

When we arrived, the fridge was disgusting and we asked for a new fridge - the kid manning the front desk was nice enough but had no authority to help us. Only two of the lights in the room worked, and the door needed numerous swipes to open. We asked for a new room, again he was not able to do so. When the manager arrived he was extremely rude and basically told us good luck finding another hotel. It was late and we spent an uncomfortable night in a dingy room that looks like it hasn't been renovated for decades. My wife woke up at 3 AM to use the restroom and a roach scuttled across the bathroom. We quickly changed to a new motel for the next night. Motel 6 was a palace compared to this place. Clean room, helpful staff, and less expensive. I would advis if you are on a budget to stay there instead.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rashmi829, Public Relations Manager at Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to express your opinions regarding your recent stay at our hotel, please be assured we have addressed your concerns and greatly appreciate your time in making us aware of our problem areas. We realize we are an older property but we do make every effort to offer clean and budget friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Tulare, California, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I needed a room close to to site of the Central California Renaissance Faire. This place was recommended by the promoters, which said it offered a discount for participants. I booked directly with the so called hotel and was told the base price would be$140 but it became $183. Upon check in, too bad, so sad, and have fun finding a room on a busy summer weekend.
And the room! Positives: the coffee was good and the beds were comfortable. The phone didn't work. "What do you want me to do?" From the desk. Sunday morning there was no hot water. And the phone still didn't work. "What do you want me to do?" From the desk. What a joke. I hope the Ren Faire promoter got a big chunk of change but this place is a joke.

Room Tip: Don't book here. Stay next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, comfortable and plenty big. Mini frig and microwave came in handy. Pool area was also clean and quite relaxing!
Would've given a higher rating if the continental breakfast had a few more choices. Overall, great value!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley
Level Contributor
348 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were going to be in San Luis Obispo until late at night so we decided to find a room. We chose the Vagabond Inn because of the room rates, which were affordable compared to the other hotel which is located on the same Road. The staff member who helped us at the front desk was very personable and helpful. The rooms are run down but acceptable. The bed was a little too hard for me but my husband said it was comfortable to him. I'm glad I had my pillows with me because they only provide two (flat) pillows. This hotel is conveniently located to Highway 101 and also has a Denny's restaurant next door. If we need to stay overnight again in that area, we'll definitely choose Vagabond Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms are old and run down. Our A/C did not work and when we tried to call the front desk several times they didn't answer (in the middle of the day). The continental breakfast that was included could hardly be called breakfast. The only thing they provide was an orange juice drink , apples and some small Danish/muffins selection (almost tasted store bought although the package did say bakery). No coffee was provided and no place to sit. You had to take back to your room. There was a coffee maker in the room with pre-packaged coffee.

The good thing about it was they provided a microwave and small refrigerator. So you could provide your own breakfast if you planned ahead.

The worst part was we had to pay almost $200 for Sat night due to commencement at Cal Poly. Supply and demand I guess but we left feeling ripped off.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Finding a clean and good value hotel in SLO is a chore. Vagabond Inn fills the bill just right. Very close to great food and drink you will find this property a good fit. Close to Pismo and Avila Beach and Solvang as well.

Try it out next time you are traveling north or south on the Kings Highway (US 101). You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: I recommend going "up the hill" toward rooms 118 thru 128 for a restfull night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.4 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.3 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
Motel 6 San Luis Obispo North
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo

Property: Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Address: 210 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Vagabond San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing