We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Sushi Anywhere!”
Review of Yanagi Sushi

Yanagi Sushi
Ranked #175 of 302 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Freshest Sushi Anywhere!”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I love Yanagi's and crave this place often! When I worked nearby I called it "Sushi Friday" because I was a regular every single Friday for lunch! I live in Santa Maria now and when I'm in SLO I make my plans to include eating lunch there every time. I've been eating sushi for at least 25 years or so and I know fresh, tasty sushi when I eat it and this place by far has the best tasting sushi I've ever had in the 25 years I've been eating it. I've had bad sushi and know the difference between good and bad. In fact, when I eat at any other place I grade the freshness of the fish and I usually find some kind of fault with it; too watery, tastes like fish or the portions aren't big enough. But I have never had a bad experience with Yanagi's. Everyone who works there is more than friendly and I appreciate this place and highly recommend it to sushi lovers!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatzSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
slo life
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yanagi is so good they opened 4 in our area!”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Yanagi is so good they opened 4 in our area! Santa Maria, Paso Robles, Pismo Beach (2) and San Luis Obispo. From luncheon specials to "The Heart Attack", are my favorites. Go early to get a seat!

Helpful?
Thank chewbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Roll specialty”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a fun and quality Japanese place with teppan, nigiri and rolls. It's a party place with a lot of noise and activity, so don't plan on an intimate night out. The food is always perfect. Seriously perfect.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Art T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Sushi lovers go here”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Fresh, quality sushi. Large menu; always busy; tourists do not know about this place, but locals love it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bloren3433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Bear Lake, California
Level Contributor
697 reviews
488 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“A GOOD PLACE IF SUSHI IS YOUR THING”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife's family live in the neighborhood and regularly visit this restaurant. Sushi is not my thing but the family state their sushi and other food is very good. I had the breaded pork loin and it was very good. The service was also very good. If sushi and good service is your thing, I would recommend this restaurant based on the satisfied comments of my family members and my most recent visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yanagi Sushi also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Yanagi Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing