We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History worth the visit”
Review of Del Monte Cafe

Del Monte Cafe
Ranked #61 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
CA shores
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“History worth the visit”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We've gone twice in recent months to the Del Monte Cafe. It is an adorable diner from the 40's (I think), in a beautiful old building across from the SLO train station, which is also charming. The eatery offers indoor dining complete with the old fashion type diner stools, as well as a nice little patio from which you can people watch.

The french dip sandwich, patty melt and fries were wonderful, and I hear their breakfasts are as well. The hamburger had little taste, so I would say skip that unless you like the works on it and don't mind spicing it up on your own, as it was very bland. The waitress was awesome! Upbeat, sociable and very attentive. Just very perky and customer oriented, which was nice.

On our next visit we will try some of their other comfort food items: pork roast or may be something else that reminds us of Mom's kitchen.

Probably the biggest negative about the place is that the floor in the dining areas always seems very dirty, but maybe that's because of heavy foot traffic at other times of day; although it almost looks as if they aren't mopping it daily.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachfan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Cool digs, great breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

If I am in SLO and need some food that will stick to my ribs, Del Monte Cafe is my go-to place. From other reviews, it sounds like it might be hit or miss, but in the multiple times I have been there, I've never had a problem; service and food have always been good. I also agree that the breakfast food is better than lunch, but I've only been there once for lunch - whereas breakfast has always been my meal of choice for when to go to Del Monte.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DB-Raw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We had been here during the winter and remembered the pumpkin pancakes - yummy, so went back without checking any reviews. Had a family breakfast on Sunday and were all disappointed. Chose this spot because they allowed our dog on the outside patio. That was the only plus!
Coffee was not good, they only had blueberry or regular pancakes and both were good but not great as they say.
Very standard menu selection - eggs, omelet's, french toast, etc. Hollandaise sauce (special that Sunday) was bland and tasted like it came from a mix packet. Could not find healthy choices, had to settle for what seemed the most healthy and substituted the greasy potatoes with fruit. Breakfast came to $49.95 for our party of 4 including coffee & tea.
Will not be back since there are so many other great choices in SLO with more variety and healthier options - Big Sky Cafe, Sally Loo's, Novo, Luna Red, etc.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in SLO”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is such a cool, old place. Located by the train station just a few blocks from downtown SLO. Service, atmosphere and food are what makes this place great. It is like going back in time. Inside is an old counter right out of a movie. Funky tables inside, and a great patio outside. The pancakes are famous, the potatos excellent. Had lunch one time, and the portions were large and food is always fresh, garnished with fresh fruit. We quit going to other places for breakfast after we found Del Monte 3 years ago. You must try it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pandasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“brown-edged lettuce and cold melted cheese”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We've been to this restaurant half a dozen times over several years. Breakfast foods are much tastier than lunch foods. Our salad had brown-edged lettuce, and our nine dollar "large" sandwich was not very large. The chorizo burrito arrived with cold, congealed melted cheese on top.
At adjoining tables, the pancakes looked delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picky-daughter-n-law
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Monte Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Del Monte Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing