We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin, USA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel!”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We spent a week here, as did our daughter's family with 3 young children from Seattle. We had nothing but nice things to say about this hotel: the suites are nicely appointed and maintained and have everything you need for a short or long stay. The young staff was very professional, friendly, and helpful (this includes the front desk, breakfast, housekeeping, and cocktail reception staff). The location made it easy to get around to the beaches, Disneyland, the Temecula area, and downtown San Diego. In addition, there are many fine restaurants in the area. (Don't forget to check out George's next door for some casual food to take back to the hotel - great fish tacos!) We have a daughter living in San Marcos, and we have decided we will always stay at this hotel when visiting her family.

Room Tip: We were facing the street, and heard very minimal noise - never bothered us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    76
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
149
47
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here last weekend & was so happy with our choice in hotels. The hotel was close to restaurants and easy to find. We spent the weekend at Legoland & loved that it was close enough to run back to for naps.
One of the managers, Dallas, checked in on us to make sure we had everything we needed for our two little ones (2yrs & 7mo). The breakfast staff and front desks clerks were friendly and sweet to our kids- thank you.
We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We recentely took a family vacation to San Diego and stayed at this hotel and was very happy with our stay. We have been to San Diego MANY times before but this trip was to go to LegoLand which is why we choose this location. It is very close to the park and also to some great places to eat and shop. (Don't eat at Old California Mining Company) It is a little trip to San Diego but not that far. The hotel was pretty new so it was in great shape! The only thing that I didn't like was the traffic noise outside....we chose the side close the the street because we didn't want the light in the morning but it was pretty noisy when you aren't used to a lot of noise. Also the walls are VERY thin....while laying in bed trying to fall asleep one night I kept hearing a noise and realized it was coming from the room next door...I could hear them snoring as if they were in bed with me! And No it wasn't my husband! ;) The last con for the hotel was the limited room to sit while at the breakfast and happy hours that they have. It was very modern downstairs and they could have done without the "fancy" modern seating that was a waste of space and the chairs weren't kid friendly. Other than that we LOVED our stay here and I would recommend it! The front desk staff was wonderful and Aaron was the best always there to help with whatever you needed!!! Enjoy your trip!!!!

Room Tip: Don't choose a room near the street or on the end because the rooms are right by a stop light wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 303TRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Brand spanking new; really nice contemporary interior. The manager that helped check me in was very nice. Stay included a full dinner with the price. Freeway close and in a decent area. The room was very spacious; will stay here again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyclingsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great hotel,clean ,friendly staff,huge rooms with all the comforts of home.My only complaint was the noise from the freeway. I asked for a quiet room and we were on the east side of the hotel and the freeway noise was constant. I don't know if that was the quiet side,and if it was there wasn't one.

Room Tip: Get a room on the west side,it may not be as noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcoccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANMCManager, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear arcoccia,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us! Being an avid reviewer on Tripadvisor is also greatly appreciated! I understand their were some disturbances in your guest suite. On behalf of our hotel, I deeply apologize for any inconveniences caused. I will be utilizing your feedback to work towards improving our guest offerings and environment. Thank you for your time to review your experience at our hotel and please have a great week.
Warm Regards,

Josh Lujan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our family enjoyed this hotel very much.. The location was great for getting to the beach and the Botantical Garden. The mall across the street has many restaurants and a grocery store (Sprouts). My only complaint was the staff interactions. We didn't find them very friendly and the young woman serving wine/beer at the manager's reception on Wednesday night was quite rude. My husband simply asked if they had any Zinfandel and she went on a 2 minute monologue about how the wine was free and if you wanted something else there were bars around. It was embarassing and we were shocked speechless. This interaction was shocking and not something I would expect from a Marriott employee.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sflubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just stayed at this hotel. The hotel and rooms are beautiful and modern. The breakfast is TERRIBLE. We were at the buffet within an hour of it opening. Guests were frustrated and angry that the food containers were empty or contained burnt food. People complained to the front desk and one person finally came out and put some pancakes in the container but by then most had just had some cereal and left. Even the big heated oatmeal container held luck warm oatmeal. The toaster barely worked. Have stayed at many Residence Inn's that are quite a bit older and always had plenty of choices and the food was always hot and well stocked. Even the coffee containers in the lobby were empty and never refilled until the morning. Something is definetly wrong. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and Made us feel very welcome. Hopefully the management will fix this issue because there is no breakfast place close by and we ended up leaving early on our last day so we could stop to eat.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momthatlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANMCManager, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback, more especially being an avid reviewer on Tripadvisor.com. I understand there were some true areas of opportunity at our hotel. On behalf of our hotel and management team, I deeply apologize for not providing the experience you have come to expect from a Residence Inn by Marriott hotel. I will be utilizing your feedback to improve on our Food & Beverage Operation and offerings. I am glad to hear that the you enjoyed your guest suite, our Housekeeping Team works so hard to maintain our rooms standards each and every day. Thank you again for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we hope you will give us another chance to create a great experience during future trips to San Marcos, CA. Please have a great week.
Sincerely,

Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
420 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
5.1 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
5.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos

Property: Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Address: 1245 Los Vallecitos Blvd, San Marcos, CA 92069-1400
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn San Diego North San Marcos hotel by Marriott blends stylish modern luxuries like stainless steel appliances and 32-inch flat panel HDTV's, all the comforts you expect for an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing