We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We rented a two bedroom unit that was spacious and nicely appointed. There was daily room service that was a real plus since we [four of us] were there for five nights.
The morning breakfast was also a plus. It was convenient and plentiful, with many choices and ample protein. That being said, they had a waffle bar that makes nice fluffy waffles in 2 minutes.
There was also a 6-730 evening appetizer bar with wine, beer and soft drinks .It's not dinner but more of a snack. Convenient, time saving and the service at both of these, morning and evening, had great service from Lovie, David and Alica. They were professional and couldn't have been more helpful.
Checking out was quick and I so appreciated the staff actually checking my ID against my credit card.
We will definitely return and recommend this facility in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwbrthless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    75
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
148
46
15
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere - pretty much nothing within walkable distance, except a bunch of wholesale flooring outlets.
There's also a big construction going on just on the opposite side of the street - tons of noise and dust.
Rooms lack any noise proofing and there are plenty of drunk teenagers throwing parties all night long - staff doe snot care.
They "forgot" to change my sheets after I spent a week in the hotel, event though supposed to change them twice a week.
Even door locks do not work properly, seems like they "forgot" to change batteries in them!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Martin,

I truley apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your visit to our hotel. Please let me know when you are planning to visit this area again, I would like to invite you back and let us make it up to you.

I hope to hear from you soon Martin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here two nights and was very impressed! Large, spacious and well laid out rooms. Full kitchen, including full sized modern fridge, dishwasher and two burner stove top. The seating area is just like a living room, and the large flat screen TV swivels so it can be watched from the bed or the living room. The lobby is very spacious and attractive and all the staff were very pleasant. Good hot breakfast. Nicely located close to the freeway and large shopping center.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased to hear about your recent visit with the Residence Inn by Marriott North/San Marcos.

Thank you for your many kind words about our beautiful hotel and wonderful team! We take hospitality very seriously and always try to make a positive impact on our guest's experience.

I will share your message with our team and we hope that you come back and visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stay at many Residence Inns and San Marcos is by far the worst when it comes to the food served at their evening "social". I had never stayed at a RI that didn't have a social hour four nights/week, until I encountered San Marcos. The beer variety is good and the wine quality is not bad. The food is never great but usually beats going out after a busy day. Tonight, however, was the saddest offering I have ever encountered. "Cookies and Milk". Actually, cookies, brownies and eclairs. No salad, cheap tacos, soup, hot dogs, chile, chips, salsa, etc. "Cookies and milk"! I hope everyone had dinner out first. It's a shame that such a nice property with such nice people has found it necessary to cheapen down the evening social hour in such a fashion. Tonight, the (relatively) nearby Hilton Homewood Suites was serving...well. I won't bore you. But it wasn't cookies and milk. It was a great deal more substantial and.. they provide this same satisfying fare FOUR days/week. RI: the ball is in your court.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sensei2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos for your hotel needs.

I apologize for the experience you had at our Evening Social. Linda, who is our outstanding hostess for our Socials is very passionate about hospitality and has already taken the Liberty to "spice up" our menu.

I would love to invite you back to our hotel and experience some of the new items that Linda will be offering.

We hope to win you back and to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
226 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here while celebrating our son's birthday, wife and his girlfriend for an overnighter during golf/ pool time at a local timeshare resort nearby. We had a 4th floor one bedroom corner unit....very nice digs for the 4 of us for overnight. Air conditioning worked great, there's a fireplace in the room as well....great kitchen facilities we did not use, other than making coffee in the morning. They have a great rec room with pool table....it was not level, but they did not charge to use it, so we couldn't complain....it was nice they had it. Good pool patio facilities, and the breakfast in the morning was good, choices we good. Overall Marriott products at all levels are really great....we are Gold elite status guests as we use their hotels quite often. This area is under a great deal of construction right now, but this hotel is nice and new.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty B, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Mr. Kenneth,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit with us. Happy belated birthday to your son by the way!

I am thrilled to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy our spacious suites and numerous amenities we offer at the Residence Inn North/San Marcos. I did see the commentary on our pool table and I will have that taken care of right away.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your travel needs and for your loyalty to the Marriott brand.

We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room and facilities were very clean. Outdoor area with BBQ and fire pit were very nice. Breakfast area was clean and the selection was good but small for the number of guests, very crowded. Service staff was very attentive during check in and check out. Price was high for the location and the lack of other attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gb2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

After a very shaky first night (the room I reserved was lost due to another guest deciding to extend their stay - I would have expected management to tell them "I'm sorry, this room has been reserved starting today, but we can move you to another room if you wish to extend"), we were moved to our 1 bedroom, king suite, the next day.
Management and staff deserve the highest praise, they truly exemplify outstanding customer service.
Why only a 'very good' rating you ask? On our last full day at the hotel, our room was never cleaned. After attending our sons wedding and being gone ALL day, we came back to find we'd been 'overlooked' somehow. My husband had to walk to the front desk and ask for clean towels. Ugh.
The rest of our party (we had a block of rooms booked) seemed to be very happy overall.
If you book here, stay away from room 101 - it's VERY noisy (right on the main drag). That was our room the first night, and it was miserable.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel if you're looking for something nice in the area.
Again, management and staff are outstanding!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
409 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
5.1 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos

Property: Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Address: 1245 Los Vallecitos Blvd, San Marcos, CA 92069-1400
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn San Diego North San Marcos hotel by Marriott blends stylish modern luxuries like stainless steel appliances and 32-inch flat panel HDTV's, all the comforts you expect for an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing