We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Comfortable......but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I stayed at this Hampton Inn in San Marcos while covering the devastating fires that surrounded the area. I always find Hamptons to be "homey" and comfortable and have absolutely no complaints about the hotel or it's facilities.

However, I do have to take issue with the housekeeping staff. When you are working 12 on and 12 off and you have the DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, one tends to believe that DO NOT DISTURB means exactly that....DO NOT DISTURB. I was in a sound sleep when I heard that clicky knock of keys wrapping on the door followed by "Housekeeping".....repeated at least three times until I went to the door and said go away. Please Housekeeping, when there is a door tag on the door, it's not a sign that you should knock and announce your presence, it means DO NOT DISTURB.

Room Tip: Although you are adjacent to Hwy 78, I did not hear any road traffic and my room was facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingofku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Specifically ask to not be placed next to the elevator and ice vending machine. I booked months in advance and they still put one of my rooms next to elevator. Very uncomfortable stay for my son and daughter-in-law. At 3:30, they should have been more organized. The beds are comfy, breakfast adequately satisfying. Internet was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank lr0che
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I were in the area to visit family. Our experience could not have been more positive. The hotel was comfortable and well located. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were restaurants nearby. We plan to return for another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The beds are very comfortable and the air conditioning sufficient. There is plenty of parking with easy access to the rooms. The staff is friendly and always available. What a great place to rest, relax and enjoy the surroundings. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This venue was an excellent location for a wedding party venue, with rooms added to the group booking as needed, rather than the wedding party being liable for unused rooms as at neighboring hotels. The free cooked breakfast was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Brenton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great value for clean, efficient rooms...definitely stay again...price was fantastic...we stayed with our kids for a wedding party....first time at a Hampton...we were very impressed with cleanliness and value......

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you want a clean place to stay you can't go wrong with the Hampton Inn. They give a nice breakfast in the morning that is better then most other Hotels. I look for a Hampton Inn every time I am traveling. The one in Lake San Marcos is convenient for my needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: £76 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing