We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest in area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you stay in the San Marcos area this is a nice place. It is right off the freeway yet noise was not a factor. The inn was safe and clean. The bed linens are very nice with a duvet that is washed daily. I was most impressed with the hot breakfast...very good ready made omelets, waffles and hot oatmeal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is right off route 78 and close to lots of different restaurants. Nice staff, decent breakfast, little bit of road noise in the morning. Safe choice for the area but a bit pricey for a Hampton Inn. The real plus is the location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the North, Carson City, NV. Hampton Inn on May 11-13, 2014. It was a vary satisfying stay. Breakfast was superb, quality and variety was unexpectedly on par of a restaurant. That stay influenced my choice of the Hampton Inn San Diego/San Marcos on this visit. Breakfast was run-of-the-mill, better-than-nothing hotel food. Room was clean and bedding was what I expect from Hampton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Floyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I took my niece to orientation at California State University San Marcos and this hotel was conveniently located. I usually stay at Hampton Inns because of their reliable service and good breakfast. Hotel was nice as expected but a little pricey compared to some others. I would have liked a campus visit discount.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is an average Hampton Inn. Breakfast was the same as every other Hampton. Comfortable bed and facilities are clean and well kept. There are no restaurants near the hotel so you'll need to be prepared to drive for meals. I would stay here again if I am in the area. A little pricey considering the lack of amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is right off the highway and yet was very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was nice with plenty of options. Staff was friendly, prompt and helpful. They have a pool and hot tub, although I didn't have time to use either of them. It's close to several nice restaurants. I'd stay here again when I have to visit San Marcos.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A place to stay when doing business or pleasure or education in and around the Cal State San Marcos campus. Near to 78 and 15 Freeways. Access to numerous restaurants. Surprisingly quiet. I would definitely recommend this establishment. And the coffee is pretty good -- especially with the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
6.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: £95 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing