We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some fair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Some good, some fair”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Unusual location is your first thought. Quiet surrounding it's the guests you need to worry about. noisy neighbors are too easy to hear. Stomping above and folks in the hallway. Why can't hotels have an A/C that let's the fan run continuously to block out some of this noise? Good breakfast, clean room. I stay at Hamptons a lot and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkybob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    134
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
191
73
32
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the most comfortable hotels I've stayed in, and I'm very appreciative. Clean, quiet, helpful staff, easy access to the places I needed to visit...I would stay here again if necessary, and I highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank mh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an average limited service hotel, the complimentary breakfast is very convenient, if a bit plain, but saves time and $. Would stay again if there were no other choices. We were in the area on college visits and were forced out of the city by Comic-con! superheroes take up a lot of rooms. This was a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. Fitness center was an afterthought.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had a very comfortable stay and the staff was very helpful which I appreciated. Not much noice around which was very helpful in getting a good night's sleep. Complimentary breakfast was very nice to have each morning and a nice selection. I would recommend staying at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Room was clean but A|C had some problems as it had to be set very low to cool the room and turned on and off frequently, but did get it cool eventually. Overall a good visit at the Hampton as is usually the case. I was a bit disapointed in the fitness center as all it had was a pair of treadmills and a stepper no weights of any kind. The treadmills would have been helpful if the weather had been bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you stay in the San Marcos area this is a nice place. It is right off the freeway yet noise was not a factor. The inn was safe and clean. The bed linens are very nice with a duvet that is washed daily. I was most impressed with the hot breakfast...very good ready made omelets, waffles and hot oatmeal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is right off route 78 and close to lots of different restaurants. Nice staff, decent breakfast, little bit of road noise in the morning. Safe choice for the area but a bit pricey for a Hampton Inn. The real plus is the location.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn San Marcos
Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing