We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a one or two night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn San Marcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
West Covina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a one or two night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel is a convenient location. The staff is great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The pool closes at 8pm though and is cold since it is in the shade of the hotel all day. The hot tub is pretty small. The fitness center has no weights and is very tiny. The treadmills were working though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    119
    33
    12
    5
See reviews for
165
61
29
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great staff at this location. Everything was perfect. The free breakfast was good. Many choices. Clean room and the staff couldn't be more helpful .Check in, Check out was easy. Nice pool to get cooled down. It can get a little warm in the location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My son's wedding party was booked at The Hampton Inn at San Marcos, CA, for two nights. It was overall very good except one error in booking on the phone that they placed two rooms on hold in San Marcos, TX.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here many times. Clean, comfortable and convenient. Most recently due to flight delays and my subsequent late arrival I needed the Inn's help in rearranging my booking. The night auditor,John, was extremely supportive and helpful. The day manager followed up with me to extend his support and the Inn's courtesy. You can't beat this Hampton Inn for customer service!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Helene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

This Hampton is nicely appointed, close to the Freeway, but far enough away you don't hear it. The Service was friendly and genuine. The room was clean and very attractive. The bathroom amenities were satisfactory but standard. The fitness room was small but had all the essential equipment with water cooler, phone for emergencies, but no towels available on-hand. The only detractor was the breakfast. Lots of choices if you eat pork, breads, eggs and sugary cereals with milk products. Need to have gluten-free, dairy-free, sugarless, choices along with beef or chicken breakfast meats instead of pork bacon or sausage.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Unusual location is your first thought. Quiet surrounding it's the guests you need to worry about. noisy neighbors are too easy to hear. Stomping above and folks in the hallway. Why can't hotels have an A/C that let's the fan run continuously to block out some of this noise? Good breakfast, clean room. I stay at Hamptons a lot and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arkybob75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

One of the most comfortable hotels I've stayed in, and I'm very appreciative. Clean, quiet, helpful staff, easy access to the places I needed to visit...I would stay here again if necessary, and I highly recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank mh999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Escondido Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown in Escondido
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
2.7 mi away
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
#1 of 5 in San Marcos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn San Marcos

Property: Hampton Inn San Marcos
Address: 123 E Carmel St, San Marcos, CA 92078-4309
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn San Marcos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn San Marcos Hotel San Marcos
San Marcos Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing