We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING - RELAXING - WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I love the Lakehouse! I have never stayed anywhere that as soon as I got out of the car and walked into the lobby I felt that moment of AAAHHHHH. I spent 2 nights there and feel like i've been on a 2 week vacation I'm so relaxed. The staff from the moment I checked in to the moment I checked out where amazing. The pool area was great and the lake was amazing. The kids spent most of their time renting the kayaks and water bikes. They had a blast. This is such a hidden gem and I would definatly recommend staying there if you get the chance. It's a perfect destination get away or a weekend stay-cation.

Room Tip: Reserve the water toys at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millerfamili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

millerfamili,

Thank you for choosing Lakehouse Hotel and Resort and for sharing your amazing pictures on our Trip Advisor page! Our goal since day one has been to provide a personable, refreshing escape and a deviation from the bland robotic service norms many have sadly come to accept in hospitality. Subsequently we are elated to read our team of passionate hoteliers created a memorable experience for your family during your visit. We thank you for your review and hope to see you in the near future!

Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

651 - 657 of 774 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

My wife and I and my folks stayed at Lakehouse for a 4 day visit to see family in the area, who recommended this place after their recent renovation. We welcomed a reosrt atmosphere over the standard Hampton or Courtyard chains, but had no idea how terrific this place is. I will start with the Pros's which are many. Check-in and the front desk staff were wonderful, courteous, offered complimentary champagne, provided a map of the resort with a letter from the manager on the opposite side, and proactively pointed out the complimentary wifi password which is very rare. They also had complimentary ice water and organic green tea in the lobby. We had 2 Lily Lounge rooms reserved, but I guess over the 3 nights we were staying, the last night was full, so they upgraded us to the Poolside Lounge rooms near each other. The general landscape of the facility was impeccable, clean, I even noticed a worker going around straightening out the outdoor chairs outside the poolside lounge rooms. There are 2 beautiful heated pools as well as 2 spas. Fire pits and ice machines were strategically and conveniently located throughout the property. The rooms were incredibly clean, with iHome clock radios, refridgerators, coffee makers, ironing board, and hair dryers in each lounge room as well. These beds were incredible too, I don't know if they were tempurpedic or what, but slept very well on this comfort. Now for the cons which are limited. First in my poolside lounge room, the deadbolt lock did not seat properly in the door jam, I had to slightly lift my door up to get it to engage. In the other poolside lounge where my parents were in, the bathroom door is a sliding door, and when fully closed, there was a gap on the opposite side of the door. However this was not the case in my room, the sliding door, when closed did not leave a gap on the oppposite side. And finally, the last night we were there we needed to leave early, so I tried to hit the Wake up Call button on the phone, I tried every 10 minutes for about an hour and it went to a fast busy signal. I finally just called the front desk and they set up the wake up call for me. But these cons can easily be fixed. We loved this place and will definitely stay here everytime we come to San Marcos, CA. I just hope as word gets out, that the prices do not go up, they are extremely competitive right now so I hope it stays that way. One last thing comes to mind, they do have 24 room service from the golf club across the street, which makes up for not having a free continental breakfast as most chain hotels do. But that is why this is called a Resort and hotel too. So not knocking that at all. This place really is amazing and I highly recommend it. Next trip I might reserve a cottage. Great job to Lakehouse staff, wonderful people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool, not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Texas_Traveler386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Texas_Traveler386,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Lakehouse Hotel and Resort during your travels from Houston, Texas! We are elated you enjoyed our personable guest experience and I will be sure to pass along your praise to our entire team of passionate hoteliers. Thank you as well for providing suggestions on how we can improve our experience. I apologize you had issues with your wakeup call but am pleased our team member was able to assist you promptly. Our goal here at our brand new resort is to earn lifelong guests via an experience second to none and we are pleased to hear you will be rejoining us in what we hope is in the near future. Thank you once again for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lakehouse for one night on our way to visiting San Diego. I read great reviews about this place and staying here was the best decision ever made on our one-month trip in the US. The deco is simple, modern, chic, elegant but also fun. I like the blue-grey hue of the room, which echoes the surrounding lake view and gives a true relaxing atmosphere. The choice of furniture is superb. I love the arm chair besides the bed, it's comfortable to sit on and has no sanitary concerns like chairs with fabric surface (theirs has leather/faux leather surface). What's really amazing and unforgettable is their BED! It is the most comfortable bed my husband and I have ever slept on. It has wonderful support and the linen is so soft and clean. My only regret is that we only got to stay for one night. I would definitely return to this amazing hotel if we're ever to visit again. A resort with superb quality and very affordable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yi-Ping Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Betina L,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Lakehouse Hotel & Resort during your month long trip after reading our past reviews! We have been honored to have such a frequent and positive source of feedback from travelers such as yourself on our Trip Advisor. We are delighted your experience rang with the same tones of excellence fellow reviewers shared and that we demand from ourselves. Our Memory Foam mattresses have been a hit and provide a sleep experience that is hard to beat. I am pleased to read it was the most comfortable mattress you have ever slept on.

We share in your regretful sentiment that you were only able to join us for one night and assure you that upon your return the same economical value and commitment to a legendary guest experience awaits!

Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My sisters and I try to get together for a girls night at least once a year. We have been to many places but the Lake House Hotel and Resort was a hidden treasure. Upon our arrival the staff was genuine and down to earth. We stayed in one of the two bedroom cottages facing the lake and it was so comfortable, roomy and immaculate! We had two fire pits, one on our front porch and the other in the back facing the lake!

Loved the décor, with the simple lines and serene colors. I especially liked the bench style kitchen farm table. We had brought snacks and drinks which the large refrigerator accommodated everything nicely.

Later in the evening we decided to order room service which comes from Saint Mark Grill (which is owned by the same company as the Lake House). The food arrived within 10-15 minutes and was hot and delicious! Our waiter was friendly and professional.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone including locals who just want a getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Jeannie L,

We are elated that you selected our Four Star resort for your annual girls night and thank you for your review! The Lakehouse guest experience is centered upon genuinely personable interactions that offer a refreshing deviation from the bland robotic service norms many are sadly accustomed to while traveling. The key component in being able to successfully do so is our team of passionate hoteliers that take immense pride in the honor of creating an escape from outside daily stresses. Subsequently I am elated to read your review and that you enjoyed our hotel amenities, the team at Saint Marks and our resort as whole.

We are thrilled to read you will be back with us in the future and we thank you once again for your review!


Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great place to stay! We were looking for somewhere between Los Angeles and San Diego and very glad we fell upon this and ended up staying much longer than planned. Very relaxing, quiet and great staff....extremely helpful, bent over backwards to help and a special thanks to the lady who cleaned our room near the pool, she was lovely. We were upgraded to a Lake View room as building work was taking place, great views and very peaceful near the lake, would recommend as it was double the size of the pool views rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 586bobbysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

586bobbysgirl,

Thank you for choosing Lakehouse Hotel & Resort during your travels from the United Kingdom and for your review! As a collective team of passionate hoteliers we relish in the honor of creating lifelong memories via our personable service. I have shared your review this morning with our Housekeeping team who were elated to hear your kind words and the impact they had on your time with us. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Southern California and thank you once again for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Lakehouse is somehow affiliated with Tower 23, a modern and fun hotel on the beach in San Diego. Similar approach at lakehouse - clean and modern redo of what was probably a tired motel on quaint lake San Marcos. Very modern and clean and quiet (although currently some construction of a new waterside restaurant) in a somewhat secluded residential area. Nice alternative to the coastal area of Carlsbad and Oceanside where hotels are either pricey or worn out... This is now my "go to" place on my frequent trips to the area. Front desk is helpful and friendly. Beautiful pool (x2) and fire pits. There is a restaurant as part of the property, but 5 min walk - food is good but decor is pre-redo of the rest of the place.

Room Tip: Pool, lake or residential view. You pay for the views... 2 storey motel configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfitfrazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Surfitfrazer,

Thank you for choosing Lakehouse Hotel & Resort after discovering our sister property Tower 23 and for your review! I will be sure to pass along your praise to our entire housekeeping team whom takes immense pride in ensuring the utmost levels of cleanliness throughout the resort as well as to our guest services team. As a collective team of passionate hoteliers we are committed to providing a legendary guest experience at a economical rate and we hope to see you again in the very near future!

Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

After much searching and hours of reading reviews, I decided on Lakehouse Hotel & Resort for 2 nights of an 8 night visit to California in mid January 2014. I highly recommend this property on so many levels.
The Staff/Management: Extremely friendly, helpful & attentive.
The Room: Very Clean, modern, welcoming & comfortable.
The Property: Fantastic!!!
The View: Fantastic!!! - we had a lake view…worth the extra $$.

On night two, which happened to be a big San Diego game, we decided to watch the game at the resort and had some family over…..three children & four adults. The room fit us all comfortably to watch the game. After a sad loss to the Broncos (who's laughing now) we decided to drown our sorrows in the heated pools & jacuzzi's and enjoy the fire pit which the staff lit for us when requested. The pool was fully stocked with big comfy towels, which was not expected but Much Appreciated on that cool, brisk evening!!!

For anyone visiting San Marcos or the surrounding areas, I HIGHLY recommend Lakehouse Hotel & Resort. I can't imagine that the staff or the property would disappoint you!

Wait…there is one grievance, the lighting wasn't that great in the bathroom for applying makeup. And that is the only negative thing I can say.

Looking forward to returning again!

Room Tip: If your wallet allows, lakeside view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieter S, Hotel Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Adventgal,

The honor of providing a refreshingly personable guest experience deviating from the bland cookie cutter norm many have come to accept in hospitality is at the heart and soul of our new Lakehouse brand. Subsequently I am elated to read we succeeded in doing so during your 8 night stay while visiting us from Florida and appreciate your kind words regarding our entire staff of passionate hoteliers. We are pleased to read you were able to recover from the Chargers loss on our spacious pool decks with our fire pits and ample lounge seating. Word of mouth plays an essential role in our long term success and we greatly appreciate you recommending our brand new property here on Lake San Marcos.

We hope to see you the next time you are in the area and assure you the same commitment to a legendary guest experience will eagerly await!

Dieter Schmitz
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
4.0 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
2.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakehouse Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakehouse Hotel & Resort

Address: 1025 La Bonita Dr, San Marcos, CA 92078-5220 (Formerly Quail's Inn Hotel)
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: £98 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakehouse Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Lakehouse Hotel and Resort is proud to offer affordable luxury in an unbeatable setting on beautiful Lake San Marcos matched with a guest service experience second to none. A refreshing deviation from the cookie cutter mundane resort norm, Lakehouse Hotel and Resort creates a tranquil escape from life's daily stresses via the irreplaceable serenity of lakefront luxury and service excellence.Lakehouse Hotel and Resort offers 142 brand new spacious rooms inclusive of breathtaking views, spa like showers, amazingly comfortable memory foam beds, over 100 channels of high definition television with premium movie channels, complimentary wireless internet, a magnificent lobby area with a fireplace, library, board games, 2 tremendously spacious pool decks and hot tubs, hammocks, fire pits throughout the spacious property, 24 hour in room dining, and many more legendary amenities. Guests of the resort are encouraged to enjoy our country club, St. Mark Golf, which offers a state of the art fitness center, driving range, 18 holes of championship golf and 18 holes of executive golf. The Grill restaurant offers fine dining for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy the delicious full menu to be delivered as room service as well. While guests have all the amenities available to them to ensure they never have to leave our resort, the staff of passionate hoteliers matches our unbeatable location with a level of passionate service that will help to create lifelong memories. We take great pride in providing you with a luxurious escape second to none. On behalf of our entire team here at Lakehouse Hotel and Resort we eagerly await your arrival. Escape From The Everyday.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakehouse Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing