We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakehouse Hotel & Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn San Marcos(San Marcos)(Great Value!)
US$150
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
TownePlace Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$187
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
827 results
Traveller rating
547
178
56
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
547
178
56
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewfire pitlakeside roomlake san marcosmemory foampontoon boatwedding weekendroom servicerooms are beautifulpool sidewonderful staybed was very comfortablebakehousepoolsdecoysmoresbugs
Filter
Updating list...
649 - 654 of 827 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Well, either I have high expectations or other persons who wrote reviews don't really expect what they pay for. We have arrived to Lakehouse at 2 PM. Our rooms were note ready (all three of them) and they weren't ready till 5 PM ! If you think that someone said "sorry" you are wrong. Trying to kill time, we went to hotel's restaurant The Grill. I was a bit surprised not to see any pictures of this zplace on a hotel's website. But once we have reached this place - by the way you have to walk app 15 minutes to get to this place as this is not located in a hotel's grounds - I knew why there were no pictures. This place and old and everything should be exchanged (chairs are really dirty). Despite that this is part of a local golf club, this is far from quality of **** hotel.
Lakehouse Hotel looks like a place where producers of concrete had good connection to. There is almost no single tree on a hotel's grounds and a lot - I really mean A LOT !!! - of concrete places. I can tell you from my own experience, you can find other much more comfortable places in a just 30 minutes drive time from Lakehouse Hotek, so don't burn your money here !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T23Manager, Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We use every review, positive or negative, to improve our operation. I'm happy to let you know we are in the construction process to open a new restaurant that will be more conveniently located to the hotel and will have all new, luxurious appointments. There are also plans to fully renovate and upgrade the existing restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Attended family reunion at location. It is beautiful! The lake is right outside the cottages on property. My room was perfect, queen beds, like sleeping on billowing clouds.. The pool area is large enough that you can relax on either level and not feel crowded by other guests. The staff is wonderful.. If you are looking for a 5 Star hotel and resort this is the place to stay. I-5 hwy takes forever to get to location from San Diego. I want to say goi-5 to I-15 from San Diego the back way to I want to say I-85 (?) it's shorter and definitely has less travel than I-5. It is so pretty and plenty of good restaurants, shopping mall, and of course, In and Out Burger with in 2 miles of Hotel. It's worth the price per night from $150 - up per room. Your next vacation to San Diego, I'd consider Lakehouse Hotel & Resort.

Room Tip: Cottages are right next to the lake. You just step outside your back patio and there's the lake. My room was facing neighborhood but, hey they are posh-posh in this area. If I had the ability to afford living and playing in this area, I wouldn't think twice about moving!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Raina C. We loved taking care of your family for the reunion, maybe you can make it an annual thing. Thank you for also helping your fellow travelers get here. The 15 and the 78 are definitely the fastest ways to get here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here briefly for a friend's wedding but it was great! The scenery is beautiful and the room I stayed in was very nice with the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I wish I could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Hopefully we get to welcome you back soon so you can spend more time enjoying the amenities Jessica M.
Thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We visited in late May. The drive into the hotel feels like it's in the middle of nowhere. But once there we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel lobby is neatly decorated and inviting and the staff is accommodating and helpful. The rooms are updated and clean. We had a lake front view which was great. Luckily the hotel was empty and very quiet while we were there, otherwise it seemed like it would be very loud since the walls and floor sounded a bit hollow. During the day, the area is nice and there are rentals to get out on the lake. At night it's like a horror movie broke out. There are large bug lights throughout the grounds and for good reason. The place gets infested with these crazy little bugs so you can't really enjoy hanging out on the room's patio to enjoy the night. The heated pool area on the other hand didn't seem so overrun by bugs. Two pools, two hot tubs, and a fire pit were enjoyable for the family to play in. We tried getting some dinner at the clubhouse that's "part" of the hotel (it's a couple blocks away), but when we pulled into the parking lot, it was deserted, didn't feel inviting or even open, so we didn't go in. Five minutes up the road is restaurant row that has some good places to eat. Overall, the Lakehouse is a nice getaway that is 10 minutes away from LEGOLAND, 5 minutes from restaurant row, and reasonably priced. Good place to stay if you are in the Carlsbad/ San Marcos area.

Room Tip: Second floor lake view is worth the extra money
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TZinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

TZinAZ, Thank you for the review. I do like to think of us as a hidden gem out here! Too bad you didn't get to try the Grill, they have some very delicious offerings. Once the new restaurant is open it will be even more convenient and round out the whole property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here cause it was very affordable compared to the hotels closer to Legoland & what a pleasant surprise! It is so relaxing here! The lake, the hillsides, the pool and the relaxing reggae music around the pool. The place is very well kept up. My husband LOVED the hotel & it's decor! My husband said the place made him feel like he was in Lake Como in Italy. The staff was SUPER accommodating, they let us check in 2 hours early cause our room was ready. We upgraded from a basic room to a second floor, poolside corner room, and loved it. The view from our room was great! We wanted to get a ice-cream & the small concession store was closed so the front office opened it for us. They gave us a golf cart ride to the grill restaurant cause we couldn't find it. The restaurant is actually across a bridge passing a few residential homes. The restaurant is on the golf coarse. They also have a gym at the golf coarse for guests, it 's a little difficult to find but great. They have 5 big screen TV's with individual remotes for each one. They had some free weights, several treadmills, bikes, balls & even personal trainers. The hotel was not noisy but very relaxing. The rooms were contemporary modern and nice. We stored milk in our room fridge. We bought milk from the Albertson's less than half a mile away & ate cereal on our balcony enjoying our view. We bought smores stuff & roasted them on the nightly lit fire pits. The grounds were very nice. My husband & I loved that the golf course was so close to us. My husband wants to come back to golf. I loved the boats right up against the hotel. We had a few guests tell us that the loved relaxing on the lake via a motorized boat ride. I saw a few people take out kayaks too. They have a BBQ next to the pool & it looks like a poolside bar but neither was open when we were there.
The cons, as mentioned above, they had a restaurant & gym but they are a 4 min walk into a residential area so one gets lost at first. However I saw construction right next to some of the rooms & was told it is in the process of constructing a restaurant. They gym has a locker area & a shower but again the signs can get confusing. They also kept running out of poolside towels but as soon as notified they quickly would replace them.
Overall we are definitely coming back!!! This is a hidden gem, well worth every penny we saved.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Fffly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin B, General Manager at Lakehouse Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Fffly, Thank you for taking the time to review your relaxing stay. When you return you have to golf. It is a very challenging course and another hidden gem! Make sure to return in the Spring when the new restaurant should be open.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews