We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Trail. Well Maintained.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawyer Camp Trail

Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tree-shaded trail stretching 12 miles.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Trail. Well Maintained.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We came here in the spring and everything was so green. There's construction going on so you can't go through the whole loop. We wouldn't have done it anyways since we were just walking. There's still at least 6 miles of the loop you can do. Such a peaceful place and lots of benches around for rest. Two porta-pottys that we saw.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank esanjays96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    19
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great hiking spot on the peninsula!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is one of the best spots to hike/run/bike on the peninsula. The trail goes along the Crystal Springs reservoir, so you get amazing views.
The trail is well marked and paved, making it excellent for runners.
The only reason that I wouldn't give this an "excellent" rating is that it doesn't allow dogs on the trail. So, for those of you who want to exercise your dog as well, this isn't a great spot. Also, parking can be difficult at certain times of the day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jeank100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nature for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

easy walking and bike (paved six mile) trail in beautiful nature - following Crystal Springs Reservoir. highly recommended for health and relaxation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“great walking and biking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My family loves this trail which is along the Crystal Springs reservoir off Highway 280/92. It is serene, has beautiful scenery and you can go at your on pace, whether jogging, walking or biking. We have seen rabbits, bobcats and many deer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lois a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and beautiful Trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Sawyer camp is a fun trail if you are in the San Mateo area. You can bike, walk, run, on this beautifully situated trail that runs along crystal spring reservoir. It's peaceful and beautiful for a nice workout or just a walk in the woods time to spend

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SherylPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawyer Camp Trail also viewed

 

Been to Sawyer Camp Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing