We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ramen”
Review of Ramen Dojo

Ramen Dojo
Ranked #42 of 410 Restaurants in San Mateo
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good ramen”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I have never tried ramen like this before. You order it in a big bowl and can add whatever extra toppings you want for a dollar. When you arrive put your name on the list hanging on the wall outside. There was a long wait when I went but my husband loved the food and claims it was his favorite ramen ever!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My sister-in-law said that Japanese businessmen plan their flights so they can layover in SFO and have their ramen here. I'm no ramen connoisseur, but it was delicious. We arrived 30 minutes before it opened for lunch, were the 3rd party in line, so were seated when it opened. We all had the garlic pork broth. Delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Overrated for limited selection (3) of the type of ramen served.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Why only two stars? For the final cost of the meal, the long wait, and just avg flavor.

I was finally able to try this place, not wanting to wait for a long time in a line. I was disappointed with my experience here. The menu selection of the type of ramen is only three styles. Everything you want on it cost extra. I was expecting the broth to be very flavorful, and this is what disappointed me the most. It just didn’t have any kick or whatever that makes you want to keep sipping the broth. To me it was extremely plain tasting. The price for the add-on, at least to me, seems too high. While Dojo seems to be the local favorite for ramen, I would recommend you avoid the super long wait and try the other ramen places out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank takeahike66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A nice place for a quick spicy ramen fix”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

A little place in San Mateo, specialty is spicy ramen. If you feel like a nice bowl of ramen in a cold windy SF day, this is the place to go. You have to be there early, line starts before they open at 5:30pm. If you like it spicy, then you need to ask for extra extra spicy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy Ramen”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The ramen is Delicious especially the Garlic flavor a must try. Please go there early cause long line will picks up before they open. They open @ 5pm on weekday go there @ 4pm be the first one line cause the place seating is limited of 20 persons. Weekend open @ 530pm i recommend go there 1 hour ahead cause weekend the line fills the block. When you in , Ramen order takes time and chef takes his time too cause every bowls comes out the kitchen must be perfect. You cant go wrong to eat at this place.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chichala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramen Dojo also viewed

 

Been to Ramen Dojo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing