We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No complaints” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“No complaints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

I booked this hotel via Priceline for 5 nights for the July 2009 California Bar Exam - the price could not be beat. I was pleased to find that the Best Western Coyote Point is an easy drive to the San Mateo Expo Center, and I was able to go to Whole Foods and Safeway for groceries (all rooms have microwaves and mini-fridges). I studied almost every night I was there, and had no real issues with noise (except for the occasional child running through the hallway). I really appreciated the free breakfast buffet each morning, even when all I wanted was some juice and a muffin. Parking was free and so was high speed internet. For the price, I have no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kl237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    318
    96
    43
    22
See reviews for
242
171
50
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

My husband and I were scheduled to stay at this hotel with our two small dogs. We called from Germany to make sure a room was available, our dogs would be allowed in the hotel and any restrictions on the room...everything was fine. When we arrived at the hotel, the owner looked at our dogs and told us we would need to put a $200 deposit on the room, which we understood and had no problem doing. He then said that in simply looking at our dogs they would not be allowed to be left in the room alone and that we needed to take them with us at all times. Although we would love to take our dogs with us, most businesses in the states don't allow dogs in their stores. My husband then asked to see the policy in writing where it said the hotel required pet owners to take their animals with them when they left. The owner answered that he did not have it in writing and that he "...sometimes had to change things as he went along". After a 20+ hour plane ride from overseas, we were turned away from the hotel.

My husband and I understand that hotels may not accept animals and some have restrictions on pets. However, it is the responsibility of the hotel to inform guests (and to post on their website) of these restrictions if they exist. The owner of this hotel has poor business skills and any traveler should be weary that he may change any policy on the spot without proper written documentation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdillon873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2009

We are regular guests of this hotel for years. Reason we kept coming back was the warm and friendly girls behind the front desk(Lisa, Marifee,Renee).The amenities in the room however require updating.(TV, blanket, bathroom fixtures. fridge). When we were last there (Feb 17 & 18) my wife bought a lot of food that required refrigeration.The fridge was cold enough when she put the food in and later turned warm .Most of the food was spoilt and my wife was so upset that we decided to check out early without spending the second night. We were of course charged for both nights, I decided to bring this to the manager's attention the next day by phone. I was totally blown away at how rude, hostile and unaccomodating this guy was. One would think that in any service industry and especially with the bad economy today and the need to compete with similar hotels nearby, the manager would bend over backwards to keep his customers happy. Well Mr. Manager, it is not about the spoilt food anymore. Your attitude sucks and we will never be back and do you think I will recommend this hotel to anyone else???
Good bye!
.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank seafoodloverTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

Hotel was nice. nothing fancy. continental breakfast was a little disappointing. waffles and eggs, no meat and nothing to put on waffles. staff was nice but not very knowledgeable. Must call hotel for shuttle from airport. Must schedule shuttle night before checking out. shower lacked descent spray. vending machines are very affordable, everything was 1.00. Not really a good value for the price.

  • Liked — vending machine was affordable
  • Disliked — continental breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2008

We booked this hotel for one night, and left our car for 7 days.
The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, the shuttle ON-time- was right there to pick us up at SFO when we called at 11:00 pm on our return trip.
The price was very resonable - significantly lower than other park n fly hotels we looked into.
The room is nothing special, we said we would be using the hide a bed and and it was all made up when we arrived.
The breakfast bar was excellent.
I never write reviews but I was just plesantly surprised, and thought I should give them the kuodos they deserve.

  • Liked — Price, access to SFO, breakfast
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heathbars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

My wife, son and I stayed at the Best Western Coyote Point Inn in August, and as most reviewers noted, it is tricky to get to, particularly from the southbound 101 freeway. And it's true that there are no stores or restaurants within a mile or two, but c'mon people, it's within a mile or two of the main street that goes all the way from San Jose to San Francisco, if you choose to. There are hundreds of restaurants and stores along that drive. So the bottom line would be: if you don't have a car and feel like you need to move around, maybe this hotel isn't for you.

That said, the hotel was neat and clean, the help was friendly, and the room itself was 'roomy' and equipped with most everything one would need, including free high-speed wireless internet. It clearly met and/or exceded my hopes and expectations, and I WILL definitely stay here again during my yearly trip to the San Francisco area.

  • Liked — Nice hotel for the price.
  • Disliked — Dificult freeway access.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoCalSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

We booked through the Park-Sleep-Fly website, which gives us discounts for an airport and sleep-one-night package at SFO. In our case, it was Park-Fly-Sleep as our overnight was after we returned from our 2 week vacation.

The Best Western itself was really nice and the package was priced right. Upgraded, free continental breakfast, with waffles and simple omelets, etc and underground, secure parking. The free computer in the lobby was very fast. There was also an exercise room as well as a sauna. Hmmm....can't remember if I've ever seen a sauna in a Best Western.

Also, the suite room was large, with a desk, DSL, a king bed, a couch, large TV and even a phone in the bathroom! Granite countertops and a small microwave and fridge completed the spacious, comfortable room. Big fluffy pillows also!

As others have mentioned, we had some problems:

1) The place is so far from the airport that the shuttle (which doesn't run from 10:30pm to 5:00am, I think) only runs once an hour and you have to call them and we nearly froze while waiting. It was really annoying as the whole point of staying in an airport hotel is NOT to have to wait forever to get to your room. They end up having to drive on the freeway, so if there is a traffic back-up (common on 101), it takes forever.

2) The hotel is in a remote location, away from services. No nearby restaurants, etc. It's not fun to have to drive around in the dark looking for a place to eat, AFTER you already wait for an hour (even after a call) for the shuttle.

3) Someone mentioned thin walls. I didn't really notice it (hearing no noises or conversation through the walls) except after I went to sleep at around 10pm, my husband was watching TV very quietly and the person next door started banging on the wall, so I guess even low volume could be heard through the walls. Weird.

You can also hear the freeway from your room too, even though there is a sound wall. It didn't bother me as I sleep through low-grade noise, but might bother sensitive sleepers.

Despite some of the problems above, we would stay there again as the rooms are so nice and we would know what to expect next time, re airport parking/shuttle.

  • Liked — amenities in the room and the hotel; airpport park and fly program
  • Disliked — inefficient shuttle service and remote location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS El Rancho Inn
2.7 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
3.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Address: 480 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1236 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Coyote Point Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#2 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, safe and affordable accommodation near San Francisco airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Coyote Point Hotel San Mateo
Best Western San Mateo
San Mateo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing