We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice atmosphere with okay seafood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish Market

The Fish Market
Ranked #2 of 405 Restaurants in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$45
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere with okay seafood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I have been to the Fish Market in Sunnyvale before. The fish and the atmosphere are usually pretty nice but I have never gotten anything really special. I stopped in here and was able to grab a seat close to the window, which had a nice view. The lobster salad was okay, but nothing like I have gotten in Boston and Maine. For dessert, I had the warm apple crisp a la mode. It was tasty but the pistachio ice cream seemed to be a cheap brand. It is an okay place for seafood but I would hope that there are much better places for seafood in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chocolate4dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    170
    50
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best seafood on the peninsula”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Been coming here since it first opened way back in 1984. They have a early bird special from Mon day thru Thursday 4pm -6pm and it's 6 items from the main menu that are $12.95 ea. Believe me the dinners are well worth the price for what you get. The happy hour is also worth checking out in the bar only. On warm days it's nice to sit out on the covered rear patio near the lagoon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLosthiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Found this place on TripAdvisor and boy, am I glad we did! Our server, Jase, did a great job introducing us to the restaurant and the concept. He made terrific recommendations, including an idea to try the New England clam chowder and Manhattan clam chowder ("red and white") in the same cup, with some fresh romano cheese on top. I knew right then we were in for a treat. My fresh Pacific Yellowfin Tuna with a side of lime / cilantro sauce was cooked perfectly and tasted divine. My husband had the fresh line-caught swordfish...lightly blackened (Jase told us harpooned swordfish is even better, but none in the house that night). Out of this world GREAT!! The sides (roasted veggies, au gratin potatoes) were just "eh", but my Cosmo and his craft brew helped everything go down well.

The manager stopped by, told us she heard it was our first time, and recommended we try a dessert on the house - how could we say no? S'more cake it was. Seriously? Fresh graham cracker crust, a 1/2" piece of dark chocolate, and the smoothest, non-sticky layer of light marshmallow you've every tasted - oh wow. What a finish! If we lived here, we would definitely be regulars. We ate downstairs and thought the ambiance was fun and relaxed. We were originally seated on the "inside porch" - but thought it was too loud and cramped.

In San Mateo or near the airport? You have to give this one a try. Thanks Jase for a really great evening!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
166 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Seafood Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our vacation to the San Francisco starts right here. Having arrived shortly after 6:00pm into SFO, and staying our first night nearby the airport, I was searching for an easy yet satisfying restaurant for dinner, and specifically fresh seafood. (Being from Texas, fresh seafood is high on our list).

There were two restaurants that caught (no pun intended) our attention, the Fish Market and The Lobster Company. Both have high marks on TA. We chose The Fish Market for the menu breadth and we wanted a bit more ambience than the picnic table environment at the Lobster Company (although it sounded wonderful, maybe we'll go there on our way out of SFO).

The Fish Market did not disappoint when it came to the food. It was outstanding!!!! Fresh-Fresh-Fresh! We started with a shared appetizer of sautéd scallops in a light garlic wine sauce. They just melted in your mouth. As a scallop lover, the absence of sand in the scallop is important - i mean who wants to bite down on sandy grit!? These were 95% perfect.

The mains consisted of pacific swordfish which was cooked perfectly, and again, as fresh as could be, accompanied by steamed vegetables (perfectly cooked, no mushy!), and an au gratin potato (this was okay, not great). My wife's main: Steamed New Zealand Green Mussels in a garlic broth. Being from that part of the world she was quite familiar with this shellfish, it is, as I found out, a delicacy. Score: 8 out of 10. Considering they made a 20 hour flight from N.Z., they were remarkably fresh and cooked perfectly.

So what was lacking? Well, certainly not the food, score a 10 on that! Service and ambiance were lacking. The hostess was a young girl that needs training in greeting guests and being attentive. We arrived at 7:35 for a 7:30 reservation, she took our name and without any conversation she proceeded to ignore us, not informing us of when we would be seated. There were a dozen or so tables open, and about 4 parties waiting. Annoying. After 10 or so minutes we were seated in their outdoor section. Now, this is S.F. and outdoors anytime of year can be chilly. It was protected with a glass partition but the seating area was very basic - essentially low cost outdoor type tables and chairs that became uncomfortable over time. But like many outdoor seating areas in S.F., heaters are common. There were none, and after 20-30 minutes the chill became noticeable.

The restaurant was not particularly busy, probably 70% full, but table service was erratic and we were found waiting for drinks a few times (lost revenue opportunity!) On a scale of 1-5, service was a 3.

The setting was average at night, during the daytime probably better because from the outside tables you would have had a nice view of the waterway that runs in front of the restaurant.

Overall - We wanted fresh seafood, and we got it. We did not choose the restaurant for it's ambiance but it would have been nice if it were dressed up just a bit more. Would I return? Yes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daveHou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Local favorite for seafood. You can have your choice of fine dining , an oyster bar ,or more relaxed family dinning . We ate upstairs in the Top of the Market Restaurant , made reservation which are a must have on Saturday night. Service was great no waiting ,table was ready when we arrived , drinks and appetizers orders taken and served quickly . Food orders taken and explain beyond question and served when we were ready. Had the swordfish and it was perfect . Take very good care of the customer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cdjones4761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fish Market also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing