We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice price, hard bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice price, hard bed.”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Not sure what everyone is complaining about....the room was very clean, very nice. Smaller then most rooms, but very adequate. Bed is pretty firm, could use a nice latex topper. But still it's a great room at a great price.
The staff isn't upbeat and perky, but, they get the job done and very well I might add.
If you stay here...keep in mind the bed is firm. Otherwise, worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meohmy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    52
    47
    32
    67
See reviews for
42
69
43
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Fine for a stay of two days or less. It's clean and comfortable but very small and the pillows were very very thin! TV was also a tube style TV. The internet connection however, was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I recently stayed here for 3 weeks and this place was exactly what I was looking for! Very clean and comfortable room, with breakfast every morning from 7-9 AM. Cable TV and a nice bathroom for an extremely low rate! Very close to the Hayward Park Caltrain and Safeway, as well as buses in and around San Mateo. Plus the property manager/owner personally assists you 24 hours a day with any request you may have!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I got a good deal on this hotel and thought I got great value.
The room was clean had all the right amenities.

Recommend this hotel as a value accommodation in the Bay Area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr4S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My fiancé and I arrived at Stone Villa Sunday night from our trip to Seattle. We looked up different hotels and such but nothing satisfied us, due to location, ambiance, and the "feel for it." Finally, we checked out what Stone Villa was all about. I had called in and explained our situation. The woman on the phone was VERY friendly :) and accommodated so quickly and told us we would get a Manager's special! Standard rooms go for about $90 and with the special, they gave us $70 for the room! I quickly drove over there. I arrived to the front desk and the owner was at the counter. I could already tell the place has a homely, clean environment in which we are all about! We ended up having great conversations and just the place was again, very nice and friendly!
As I gathered my belongings to the room and opened up the room.... My GOODNESS!! The room furthered our expectations!! This place is one of the most cleanest, organized, has great style, cabinets and walk-in closets that freshened our breath and the sheets and bathrooms were exquisite!!!! I even took a picture of the room so I could resemble the layout for our home :) Overall, if you want a very sterile, clean, homey, modern stay when away... Stone Villa is the place to stay. You might not even want to go home! ;) (We stayed one more night)!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bianca076789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Stone Villa Inn is within short walking distance of the San Mateo Showground, which is why I chose it (I was in San Mateo for the Maker Faire).

Friendly, helpful staff - I shall stay here again.

If you like South Indian food the new Dosa restaurant a few tens of yards east of the hotel (next to the sex shop) is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stone Villa Inn is great place near airport. Very friendly Indian manager who likes to make jokes. it is cheap, clean and conveniently located near airport and several restaurants.
The motel has free wifi and breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#7 of 12 in San Mateo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
0.7 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO

Property: Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
Address: 2175 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403-1806
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New Management as of 01/01/2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing