We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A winner!”

Sushi Sam's Edomata
Ranked #6 of 406 Restaurants in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Solna, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This restaurant is always busy and I know why. It's definitely a winner with fast service and awesome quality food! One of the best sushi places on the peninsula!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    43
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
“Favorite sushi join”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Best sushi take-out, hands down. We go here every weekend... If you're going to sit down to eat, make sure to get there early. There's always a long line.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanMateo338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, USA
1 review
“melt in your mouth sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

this is our go-to-sushi. we drive from san francisco because sams is amazing. the experience at the sushi bar is fantastic. the chef's choice/omakaze is the only way to go. i've never been disappointed.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great no-nonsense stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Went there recently for lunch - fortunately we got there before it completely filled up. The special rolls are incredibly fresh and tasty, and the service was fast and efficient. Tables are crowded closely, which only gave me a nice view of some of the other rolls. Can't wait til I go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank hleong2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great sushi, mediocre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We had a 7.45 reservation for a Friday night. Upon check-in, we were told "We'll call you". We stood outside and waited....and waited. We finally got our table at 8.10 whereupon the service was pretty consistently two notches below a McDonalds. The Sushi was a different story. I had the Chef's Choice sushi platter, and every one of the eight pieces was amazing. Real melt-in-the-mouth sushi, with wonderful, surprising flavors. I had Sam's Super Special roll too...again a smash hit. Overall...come for the food, not for the 'experience'.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidWMcCulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Sam's Edomata also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Sam's Edomata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing