We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Place in San Mateo”

Central Park Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Central Park Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 408 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ellsworth Street
Description: Central Park Bistro is a 100 seat contemporary restaurant in downtown San Mateo featuring fresh seasonal American cuisine, in the $15-$26 range. We offer a carefully chosen eclectic Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Central Park Bistro is an affordable sophisticated, fun dining experience. Relax and unwind with a house specialty cocktail at our wonderful Martini Bar. We also have several intimate private dining rooms perfect for that corporate presentation business meeting, wedding rehearsal dinner, retirement/anniversary dinner, or any special function you may have in mind. Check out our private wine cellar room which seats up to 8 people for that extra special dining experience.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
841 reviews
650 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Classy Place in San Mateo”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

New American
Nice ambience
Great wine list and very good house wines
Tasty salads and house bread
Great paella and pasta dishes
Good food service by Giorgio

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“As advertised and rated”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere. Prices not too bad either. Some seating outside but limited. Will definitely eat there again.

Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Serendipitous Find: San Francisco style restaurant without having to drive into the city!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

If you are looking for a place to take your love interest, best friend, favorite relatives, or hold a private party the Central Park Bistro is an intelligent choice. It is an elegant restaurant that lends itself to casual dining with its quaint outdoor seating and tastefully appointed interior is perfectly complemented by their eclectic menu selection that reflects the very best of our diverse American culinary influences from the Pacific Northwest (fresh lobster salad with argula and meyer lemon vigairette), Italian heritage (fabulous pizzas and pastas), and a superb selection of meat dishes that will satisfy even the most demanding carnivore. Please remember to checkout Central Bistro's award winning wine list.

When my best friend and I stumbled upon the Central Park Bistro we quickly realized that we had found a fabulous restaurant that we wanted to share with our husbands, friends and family. Their food is exquisite, presentation perfect and their service is attentive, thoughtful and prompt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“MMMGood”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The food was great. We had a duck pasta and scallops and mushroom soup and it was all perfect. The mushroom soup seemed to have maybe bacon and we were not told (and did not ask) so it would not suit everyone.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
198 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very impressed on first visit”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We made or first visit to Central Park Bistro after passing by it for several years. We had a party of six and all the dinners were excellent. We had the skirt steak, lamb chops and scallops and all were well prepared and delicious. The service was great and the wine list was well planned. The total bill for six with a couple of appetizers, couple of deserts, a bottle of bubbles, tax and tip was $300. We were very impressed on our first visit and would consider it a neighborhood gem.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavenCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Park Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing