We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot!”

Central Park Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Central Park Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 408 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Ellsworth Street
Description: Central Park Bistro is a 100 seat contemporary restaurant in downtown San Mateo featuring fresh seasonal American cuisine, in the $15-$26 range. We offer a carefully chosen eclectic Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Central Park Bistro is an affordable sophisticated, fun dining experience. Relax and unwind with a house specialty cocktail at our wonderful Martini Bar. We also have several intimate private dining rooms perfect for that corporate presentation business meeting, wedding rehearsal dinner, retirement/anniversary dinner, or any special function you may have in mind. Check out our private wine cellar room which seats up to 8 people for that extra special dining experience.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely spot!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The food here is always delicious. Can be a little pricey, but often well worth it. Service is very nice and the atmosphere is very nice! Lovely spot for a special dinner.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed here.”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We've been to this restaurant several times in the past few years, whenever we're in the area and its always good. Frankly, we've never had a bad meal. Best of the best is the lamb chops, the shirt steak, the scallops and any of the pasta dishes, And there is always someone in our group that will order dessert, and they are always outstanding. Full bar is good and so the the attentive service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ytc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“above average”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

In a town with a lot of peruvian, chinese, japanese there are only a few places doing "standard" californian fare (cal/ital/french). Central Park Bistro is one of them, and it's pretty good. You won't be blown away with the most awesome meal you've ever had, but you'll get very tasty, filling, interesting dishes. Full bar, often a little crowded, and relatively noisy in an energetic way. Not a great place to have that deep negotiation. International class? no. Worth a trip? No. Better than most? yes.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Romantic and tasty”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were looking for a romantic restaurant that wasn't in San Francisco. Upon doing a search for "romantic restaurants in San Mateo County," Central Park Bistro came up more than once. We made a reservation for that evening and headed down.

We were greeted warmly by the host and given a choice of tables as we were dining earlier in the evening and the place wasn't yet full. The decor is elegant and inviting with soft (but bright enough) lighting. Service was immediate and attentive without being overbearing. The wine list was unique and had some of my favourites (which I don't usually encounter). The menu has a nice variety and features many organic and vegetarian selections. We had the French Onion Soup as a starter, which was quite lovely. We ordered both of the specials: Chilean Sea Bass w/ Bearnaise sauce (excellent) and rib-eye steak (cooked perfectly) with an amazing array of toasted onions, garlic mashed potatoes and sauteed fresh greens.

Honor, our server, made us feel right at home and was always there at just the right moment. The noise level and table spacing made it possible to have a nice romantic conversation without feeling awkward. We had an exceptional dining experience and will definitely return in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
841 reviews
650 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Classy Place in San Mateo”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

New American
Nice ambience
Great wine list and very good house wines
Tasty salads and house bread
Great paella and pasta dishes
Good food service by Giorgio

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosquete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Park Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Central Park Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing