We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's big, but old and worn.”
Review of Central Park

Central Park
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“It's big, but old and worn.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Central Park is a great space for the neighborhood. It's big, has tennis courts, baseball fields...but it's pretty worn. With a nice update it will be truly lovely.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank craftyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in San Mateo”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Wonderful place - great atmosphere, great food and terrific staff! Our favorite place - don't skip dessert!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
288 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good for the family.”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Surprisingly more space than you would think, given its location. Some lovely gardens/lawns, sports courts, Japanese Tea Garden, etc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bartc83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So Many Memories”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This park was close to my grandmother's house. My kids still enjoy going there and running around the park, playing on the playground which is perfect for all ages. They even have a toddler area that is fenced in for security which is perfect for my son. The park is located walking distance to our location when we visit and is always clean.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank We5cougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Central Park”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Central park is located near downtown San Mateo. It has a big playground, Japanese Tea Garden ball field, tennis court, and grass area to lounge. Used to go frequently when my kids were growing up. Also had some of their birthday parties there. Good times. Have to pay for parking except on Sundays. Variety of Restaurants are very close.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Central Park also viewed

 

Been to Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing