We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed my first experience here”
Review of Viognier

Viognier
Reserve with OpenTable
Viognier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #211 of 410 Restaurants in San Mateo
Price range: US$30 - US$80
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: B St. and Ellsworth
Transit: Cal Train / San Mateo Stop 1 block away
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed my first experience here”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Went here for a business dinner. It was my first experience and it was wonderful. Nice relaxed fine dining atmosphere where you can enjoy a high quality meal and have a great conversation with your guests. The chef brought out a few items that were very tasteful. I would rank this restaurant as one of the top in CA. We all ordered the four course meal which absolutely stuffed us. I will order the 3-course next time. The cheese plate for desert is great and enough to feed 2-3 people. On the way up to the restaurant pick your favorite bottle of wine from downstairs and bring it to your table. Will be back with the family for sure. Nice job guys!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizuwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    22
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quiet business-class place with overpriced food”
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Viognier is somewhat rare for San Mateo. SM is a hive of great Chinese, Japanese, and Mexican food. Places are somewhat boisterous and filled with locals. For a quiet business meal, there aren't that many choices. Viogner would be called a "ladies who lunch" place, or similar to a hotel restaurant. The food is good but not great in any way. As a local, I don't eat here, and don't even recommend it over 321 Ellsworth.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bbulkow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Dessert Ever”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stopped by this place just for the dessert after our dinner. We were told that this place was a restaurant extension of a cooking school and it did not let us down. We had 4 different deserts. They were all delicious, especially the cheesecake. The icecreams were all great, too. They were all presented to us delicately in french style. The service was also excellent .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank asdaSap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, good food, wine and service”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The restaurant had a lovely relaxed, clean atmosphere. We could see the Market's Cooking School from our table. I went with several folks from a local business that I consult for - they often bring people here and it's easy to see why. The service was quite attentive (maybe a bit too much). The menu allows you to select your preferred number of dishes from apps, entrees, desserts. I had the beautiful heirloom tomato salad...but for the life of me, I can't remember what I had for the entree. Perhaps because I left there to catch the red-eye back home and this might have caused a short-lived retrograde amnesia. So, my general impression was quite positive - but sorry about my imprecision.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience.”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Food is excellent and creativ. Great wine list. Need for 50 characters in review is idiotic.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlashJack981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viognier also viewed

 

Been to Viognier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing