We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate gourmet grocery store”
Review of Draeger's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Draeger's
Ranked #1 of 9 Bakeries in San Mateo
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
San Marcos, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The ultimate gourmet grocery store”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Although very expensive, this store is not to be missed if you like to cook (and eat). A veritable fairyland of baked goods, cheeses, meats, and produce. I go there when I need exotic mushrooms or cheese, or when nothing but prime meat will do. The number of kinds of olive oil will make you dizzy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    18
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“everything and more”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

try the chocolate cake in the bakery, they sell individual slices that are huge enough for two, and with a fork!!, you will be so happy you did. Upstairs is a well stocked cookbook, kitchen and home store with stuff you never thought you needed, the meat and fish departments are extensive, huge varieties of everything you can imagine.....think mustard and there are too many to count.....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cincodeperro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique spices and condiments”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

If you can't find a particular brand of chili powder or cooking oil, try Draegers. They carry non-regional brands and a wide variety of specialty foods. I don't usually do my full grocery shopping there however their deli, bakery, fish market and gift shop upstairs are always a welcome shopping experience. I especially like the underground parking (great during the rainy season)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank olivenonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great grocery, bakery, and sandwiches”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I love Draeger's. As a grocery they have a lot of specialty items that you wouldn't find at safeway. I love walking around and looking at everything. Also, the bakery has some really tasty treats! Stay away if you are on a diet because you won't be able to resist!

The sandwiches from the deli are also really good here. I love the hot pastrami. They throw the pastrami and the bread on the flat-top grill. Everything was super flavorful and delicious - better than I was craving even! Draeger's is a great store. Also check out the upstairs section for kitchen/house gadgets and gifts!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank SCUAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Salad Bar and great upstairs.”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Expensive, but worth it! When choosing the selections, If you're short, you may have to reach in, if you're tall, you'll have to bend in and it can be a little akward. The Olive bar is not part of the salad bar. You pay at the front cash register and it's by weight. I recommend two rubber bands to hold the salad containers closed. Try the Balsamic dressing. Better yet, try the chinese chicken salad dressing, it's the best I've ever had. The whole store is like entertainment. The amazing sweets and bakery is in front when you walk in, the flowers are there to, so your visit starts with beauty. The whole store is well maintained and has an excellent variety of higher end foods. Draeger's is known for gourmet food. Their staff is friendly and efficient and their pre-made and deli food is delicious. They have a huge wine section and instant bottle chiller. Be sure to go upstairs, they have a lovely and creative selection of giftware and cards etc. and it's beautifully decorated. They also have a great cooking school, be sure to pick up a magazine about it in the store, the classes are worth it, but a bit $$$. Parking in the upstairs lot can be challenging sometimes, but there is good parking below with elevators. If you park on the street, be sure to pay the parking meters, they do issues parking tickets with regularity. This store is well worth going to.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sagecoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Draeger's also viewed

 

Been to Draeger's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing