We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dump!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hillsdale Inn
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We made reservations for this motel while on a roadtrip and it was a big mistake. The rooms are a mess, dirty carpets, mold on the drapes. Not wanting to even step inside the room was a big clue, but having to sit on the bed was even worse. We wanted a non smoking room, we got a room that smelled like a dirty ashtray, it was disgusting! So my husband went to get us another room and all night we were afraid that something was crawling on the carpet. The mold on the drapes was very thick an the bed sheets felt dirty.

Room Tip: Stay away from this motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 294lisay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    3
    5
    21
See reviews for
8
4
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I never have been to San Francisco, so when I booked my room, I was looking for closeness to airport and price. I wasn't expecting much, because of the low price. I was disappointed that it was a good 15 minute drive from the airport. On the website it claimed to be a mile away. My room wasn't filthy, but I wouldn't call it clean either. My girlfriend and I are adventurous and don't lay aroundmuch, so we just used the room to sleep and shower. Not sure if we would bring our kids here,but for the two of us it served it's purpose.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Accidentally booked this through a third party booking site (must have clicked on the wrong link). I would have never intentionally booked this place. I would call it a dump but that would be insulting to dumps across the country. It was absolutely filthy. We could not go without shoes as the floor left socks/feet black. It also appeared as if it was little more than a low income tenement house. If I could have gotten out of my contract I would have. Looking back I would have probably been better served to just sleep in the car with the kids and eat the cost of the room. One weird thing, there was a flat screen TV in the room. That money would have been far better invested had they paid to deep clean the rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel, ANY different hotel, or sleep in your car, anything other than taking your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My sister got us rooms at this hotel on a discount web site as we wanted to spend a few days near San Mateo. I wish we had read the reviews here first as we would never have stayed here.
This is the WORST place I have ever stayed. I was afraid to take my shoes off in the room as the carpet was so stained. We arrived during the heat wave last month (May 2014), the day it was 97 in San Francisco. When we got the room, it was well over 100 degrees inside and did the room did not have AC. We were able to open the crank style windows and at least get the air moving. Our fan did not work and the front desk manager (an unfriendly man) handed me a box with a fan in it to use. We had to assemble the very cheap fan!!!! When I returned to the front desk to get a screw driver so we could put it together, thre same manager asked me why we didn't just use our fingers. He eventually, at my urging, turned up a screw driver for us.

The much friendlier manager we saw the next morning told me that most of the hotel was filled with low income residents and no improvements of any type were going to be made as the hotel was going to be torn down. That cannot happen soon enough as far as I am concerned.

All I can say is until it is torn down, do not stay here, it is filthy and noisy, the beds are uncomfortable and it is not worth the money saved. I've stayed in Motel 6's that were 5 Star in comparison to this place, if I could I would give it a minus 5 star rating

Room Tip: There aren't any, do not stay here
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank kathybussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

It seemed as if it was an apartment complex. The people who were there were all very nice but it was more of a party pad and it went on all night long. The rooms smelled of smoke and were not cleaned well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langen, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a dirty,filthy and totally run down establishment! Dirt everywhere, paintis falling down from the wall, not even one coathanger!filthy carpets, chair was spotted with??? I can only warn everybody DO NOT BOOK THERE! Obviously a lot of socially desperate long term renters... Worst place I ever stayed in!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ichwarnochnirgends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
130 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Was desperate for a night in the hillsdale area for a last minute thing. BIG MISTAKE. The 70 us dollars i paid was so so so not equivalent to what this old, dark, moldy, musty and just overall filthy room straight out of the 70's. pillows were so thin you'd think they were blankets. plus the room they assigned to me was in front of a garbage bin. i tried to lay down to rest but the noise from the thin walls of occupants was too much, and this was at 4pm. Bathroom was dirty like they hadn't serviced the room in weeks.

Room Tip: unless you need to be near the hillsdale mall area, stay clear of this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Mateo hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Prados Hotel
Los Prados Hotel
#7 of 12 in San Mateo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stone Villa Inn San Mateo - San Francisco SFO
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Francisco - San Mateo - SFO
1.1 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale Inn

Property: Hillsdale Inn
Address: 477 E Hillsdale Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94403-2899
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillsdale Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hillsdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing