We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Marriott, charge for parking & internet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Upon arrival, no place to park to check in - a bus full of Asian flight attendants got off the bus, and the lobby was full. The furniture in the lobby was old and looked dirty, I would not sit on it. We then found out they charge $22 a day for parking, and $12 a day for internet, which we were surprised to find out. We got our room and in my opinion was not as nice as other Marriott Hotels. The bathtub no-slip adhesive was pulled up in the front, hair on the floor, and no fan in the bathroom - so the mirror fogged easily. The bed pillows were a joke 3 tiny pillows for a king size bed and one was so flat it wasn't worth using. We were awoken the first morning (7 am) by a loud noise coming through the wall, sounded like sawing, but we eventually decided it was probably someone trying to unclog a drain as it sounded like metal grinding on metal (probably a snake or such equipment going up and down a drain pipe). This went on for about 10-15 minutes, so we were awake. There isn't a fridge or anything in the room - they did provide you with 2 (glass) drinking glasses wrapped in paper, but I don't like to use those since they really don't get cleaned. But we used them, and sure enough every day they did not get cleaned, nor did the ice bucket get dumped and a fresh liner get left behind - even though the ice had melted. Skimpy on the towels and such - just hard to believe a Marriott would operate like this, they're usually very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Renee S,

We apologize for our oversights and are disappointed that we left you with a poor impression of our hotel. It is understandable how a crowded lobby and an unexpected delay in getting checked into your room can sometimes set the tone of a guest's experience. We are also sorry that certain aspects of your room did not fit your preference. Please know that extra pillows can always be delivered at your request. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention by completing the review. We thrive to make each guest experience a positive one, and hope you will give us another chance to impress you. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence in our Marriott property.

Kindest Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here for business for 8 nights. The rooms are larger than the average Marriott. Lots of space to move around and relax. The furnishings look relatively new and the place is clean. Parking is another $22 a day on top of pretty high room rates - this is the Bay Area, so high prices are the norm. The concierge lounge was great - one of the best I've seen in any Marriott in terms of decor and selection of breakfast items. Great service too from the staff in the lounge.

This hotel is about 10 miles south of the SFO airport so it's not exactly an airport hotel. Freeway access is easy with 101 nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you, jwobkk, for taking the time to share with us and other TripAdvisor travelers all that you enjoyed while staying with us. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback from avid travelers, such as yourself. We understand how important it is to offer only the best in service and amenities for all of our guests. It is our great hope that we have earned your guest loyalty and will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel provided one of the worst experiences that I have had in the U.S.
1. It calls itself an airport hotel but it, also, caters for wedding functions. This meant that we were woken at about 2.00 am by young children running about somewhere above our heads. We phoned reception and the noise subsided at about 3.00 am only to restart about an hour later.
2. There was an almost imperceptible odour of rotten eggs throughout the hotel.
3. By entrance B the ice machine had overflowed and the carpets were soaked. This was obviously a longterm problem because there was a strong smell of decay in the area.
4. We arrived at 2.00 pm but were told to wait because the room was not ready. OK we arrived before the official ckeck-in time but it is supposed to be an airport hotel and not all planes land at 2.00pm. When I returned to reception ar 3.10pm the room was still not ready. I waited another 10 minutes and whilst there another guest arrived and he was told that his room was not ready.
We were originally booked in for 2 days but decided to check out after the first night so we could get some sleep.
P.S. We complained to the servisor about our disturbed night and he waived our restaurant bill.

Room Tip: Top floor then, at least, there will not be anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear eppleby,

We are sorry to learn of the disturbances you experienced due to neighboring guests. Your patience and understanding is appreciated. After receiving your call, a member of our security staff was immediately informed. He spoke with the guests located on the floor above you and returned to their room later to ensure that all noise had subsided. Again, we apologize that your experience fell short of being an impressive one. We appreciate your business and your completion of the review on our property.

Kindest Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal on Priceline so we stayed here. I wasn't impressed with the lackluster customer service nor the room. No fan in the bathroom. It took over an hour to receive the extra towels we asked for and then they came with a long black hair on them. Gross It was less posh than a Red Lion. I wouldn't stay here again unless it was deeply discounted.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeacherRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you, TeacherRobin, for bringing our shortcomings to my attention. Please accept my sincere apology. This certainly is not the typical experience and I want to assure you that this has not been overlooked. I have shared your review with our staff and addressed the details described in your review. Again, I apologize and hope that you will reconsider returning to our property. We would all appreciate the opportunity to have you as our guest again and earn your confidence in us.

Best Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is a decent Marriott hotel with the usual hotel facilities and clean rooms. It's a large place, so it's popular with business guests. The service is good and staff are friendly. It does have a few niggles to be aware of, though.

One is the hotel shuttle. Whilst it is offered as a complimentary service, it only runs once an hour - and sometimes it doesn't show up at all, even after calling the hotel to let them know you're there. You can easily be left waiting for over an hour at SFO to get to the hotel. At other times, when there are lots of arrivals at once, you can wait for a shuttle and then be unable to get on board - and the Marriott won't send a second shuttle for additional guests whom they know are still waiting.

Second, the hotel itself isn't situated anywhere near... anything. There is a small 7/11 nearby but that's it. No restaurants, no shops - just a busy highway.

Third, beware the additional charges. No complimentary wi-fi or internet of any kind - you have to pay, and it's either $20 a day or $44 for a week. Parking is also not included, and costs a staggering $25 per day!

So, in short, the hotel is fine and I didn't have any major complaints - but if you're planning to be in the San Francisco area for more than a couple of nights, you'd be better off staying somewhere with better local amenities and fewer hidden charges.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTheCynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear ChiTheCynic,

Thank you for sharing the details of what you experienced and giving us your valued opinions. Although, we are happy that there were aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, it is disappointing that we missed our mark of impressing you. Please know that before completing the booking process online or with an agent all fees and charges are listed or reviewed. If you should ever have any questions please do not hesitate to call us directly at the hotel. We are always at your service and eager to assist you in any way we can. We do hope you will keep in mind all that you did enjoy and return to our hotel in the future. Again, thank you for completing the review.

Best,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Convenient to Palo Alto, Redwood Shores, etc. Comfortable clean rooms. Looks like it's been remodeled recently. Nice business lounge with food/drinks - decorated in the. "W' style. The rooms in the back are quiet and there's no highway noise. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the South side, it's right on 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear melindch,

Your time in completing the review and all of your great compliments on our hotel are greatly appreciated. We love hearing that you would stay with us again and hope your business travels bring you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Normally, I stay at other hotels in the area, but thought I would give the Marriott a chance since they offered a decent rate this time. It's not as easy to find the entrance, but once you get there: all I can say is WOW! As I walked over to check in, a line had started forming; another associate ran out of the back office to help the check-in process and it moved much quicker than expected. The associate checking me in complimented me on my suit and offered a room upgrade which didn't hurt. As a Marriott Platinum member and big time business traveler, i need a place that offers efficiency and good service. When it exceeds my expectation like in this case, the hotel definitely deserves an "Attaboy." Only stayed one night, but everything worked like clock work with a friendly staff and a great nights rest. What more can you ask.... I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkierPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Dear SkierPA,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to impress you! We are absolutely thrilled to receive such a great review from one of our valued Marriott Platinum members, as well as a big time business traveler. Your insight and kind remarks truly mean the world to us. Again, thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your experience. We are excited that you will definitely return and can't wait to have you as our guest again!

Best Regards,
John Parker, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
5.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: £113 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing