We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicer exterior and hallways than most Marriotts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This Marriott has a pretty nice exterior. Interior walkways and outdoor areas are nice too. Hallways are wide and there is a great coat of paint on the walls. The outdoor areas feature a lot of good greenery. This hotel, which holds a lot of weddings, has an almost resort-like feel, which you do not get at a lot of Marriotts.

If you are a Marriott Rewards Gold or Platinum member, you have a good chance of getting upgraded to a suite because they have many suites here. Suites are nice and big with great looking French doors, which give the standard Marriott room decor here a more upscale feel.

There were a few areas where this hotel could have been better though. The A/C unit did not work well so the room was too warm and the sitting area near the lobby was ugly and not fitting with the rest of the nice property.

Still, this is a nice hotel with a good location if you are splitting time between the South Bay and San Francisco.

Pros: Nice looking hotel, lots of suites with great looking French doors, in-room safe, friendly service, nice fitness center, the hotel shows appreciation for Marriott Rewards Gold and Platinum members, good location if you are going to be in both the South Bay / Peninsula (Palo Alto, San Jose, Woodside, etc.) and San Francisco

Cons: A/C unit did not work well, bland lobby waiting area, okay room rate but it gets a little high with the pay self parking (which is just over $20/night)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your review, Anthony N. While we enjoy reading the extended list of things that you enjoyed about your experience, your suggestions are equally important to us. Our management team and staff meet regularly to discuss considerations of improvement and your feedback will be included. We appreciate your time in providing other TripAdvisor travelers your extensive details on your stay and hope that we have the pleasure of having you as our guests again soon.

Best,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

- Valet Parking ($22) but finding your own parking outside will be difficult
- Breakfast included at California Grill restaurant (make sure you ask) but variety is limited (not very wide)
- Restaurant is very expensive if you plan to eat here and very limited in choice
- Complementary water provided
- Internet is not free
- Rooms are very clean and suite is spacious and can accommodate 5-6 easily.
- Located centrally and close to good restaurants on Third Street (try out http://www.curryupnow.com, http://www.thedosarepublic.com, http://www.tasteinbroadway.com)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for 2 twin beds if you are booking a suite. The single king bed suite is not at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksrajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear ksrajiv,

We are very pleased that there were so many great aspects of your stay that you decided to share with us and other travelers. All of your great compliments and tips will certainly be helpful to others. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for completing the review.

Sincerely,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We were here for a car meet. The hotel was pretty much at full capacity. Our room wasn't the best (we were traveling as a family & I think we had a business room). It was clean though & the housekeeping wanted to keep it that way. I told one that she didn't need to do our room to help lighten her load but she wanted to! That is great service! The hotel is large in size so a little hard to navigate. Someone was smoking in their room & it came straight into ours (they said that it was so strong that it smelled like we were smoking in it...). This is why you should not smoke in your NON SMOKING room/hotel. People should be respectful. There are people who cannot tolerate those things such as asthma, allergies & it causes me to have a headache (so thanks...). The management was great with this situation as well as the front desk. They did a great job juggling all the events & guests that week. Oh! They have Keurig brewers in their rooms!! I used their business center which was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Jodi S,

Your thoughtful and thorough review on all that you experienced with us is greatly appreciated by our entire staff! We work very hard to consistently serve our guests with the superior customer service that sets us apart from all the rest. It is extremely rewarding to receive your recognition of our efforts. Please keep in mind for your next stay that we are more than happy to go over our room types and specifications with you to better fit your family's needs. Again, thank you. We can't wait to accommodate you again!

Best,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Located close to SFO and between SF and Silicon Valley, with easy access to the beaches. Fitness center is pretty complete and functional. In-room wifi not included. Breakfast features fresh fruits, but no freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank facg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your great review, facq! It was very nice to hear of your enjoyable stay, as well as receive your breakfast suggestions. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Upon arrival, no place to park to check in - a bus full of Asian flight attendants got off the bus, and the lobby was full. The furniture in the lobby was old and looked dirty, I would not sit on it. We then found out they charge $22 a day for parking, and $12 a day for internet, which we were surprised to find out. We got our room and in my opinion was not as nice as other Marriott Hotels. The bathtub no-slip adhesive was pulled up in the front, hair on the floor, and no fan in the bathroom - so the mirror fogged easily. The bed pillows were a joke 3 tiny pillows for a king size bed and one was so flat it wasn't worth using. We were awoken the first morning (7 am) by a loud noise coming through the wall, sounded like sawing, but we eventually decided it was probably someone trying to unclog a drain as it sounded like metal grinding on metal (probably a snake or such equipment going up and down a drain pipe). This went on for about 10-15 minutes, so we were awake. There isn't a fridge or anything in the room - they did provide you with 2 (glass) drinking glasses wrapped in paper, but I don't like to use those since they really don't get cleaned. But we used them, and sure enough every day they did not get cleaned, nor did the ice bucket get dumped and a fresh liner get left behind - even though the ice had melted. Skimpy on the towels and such - just hard to believe a Marriott would operate like this, they're usually very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Renee S,

We apologize for our oversights and are disappointed that we left you with a poor impression of our hotel. It is understandable how a crowded lobby and an unexpected delay in getting checked into your room can sometimes set the tone of a guest's experience. We are also sorry that certain aspects of your room did not fit your preference. Please know that extra pillows can always be delivered at your request. Thank you for bringing these details to our attention by completing the review. We thrive to make each guest experience a positive one, and hope you will give us another chance to impress you. We would very much appreciate the opportunity to regain your confidence in our Marriott property.

Kindest Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here for business for 8 nights. The rooms are larger than the average Marriott. Lots of space to move around and relax. The furnishings look relatively new and the place is clean. Parking is another $22 a day on top of pretty high room rates - this is the Bay Area, so high prices are the norm. The concierge lounge was great - one of the best I've seen in any Marriott in terms of decor and selection of breakfast items. Great service too from the staff in the lounge.

This hotel is about 10 miles south of the SFO airport so it's not exactly an airport hotel. Freeway access is easy with 101 nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwobkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you, jwobkk, for taking the time to share with us and other TripAdvisor travelers all that you enjoyed while staying with us. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback from avid travelers, such as yourself. We understand how important it is to offer only the best in service and amenities for all of our guests. It is our great hope that we have earned your guest loyalty and will look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel provided one of the worst experiences that I have had in the U.S.
1. It calls itself an airport hotel but it, also, caters for wedding functions. This meant that we were woken at about 2.00 am by young children running about somewhere above our heads. We phoned reception and the noise subsided at about 3.00 am only to restart about an hour later.
2. There was an almost imperceptible odour of rotten eggs throughout the hotel.
3. By entrance B the ice machine had overflowed and the carpets were soaked. This was obviously a longterm problem because there was a strong smell of decay in the area.
4. We arrived at 2.00 pm but were told to wait because the room was not ready. OK we arrived before the official ckeck-in time but it is supposed to be an airport hotel and not all planes land at 2.00pm. When I returned to reception ar 3.10pm the room was still not ready. I waited another 10 minutes and whilst there another guest arrived and he was told that his room was not ready.
We were originally booked in for 2 days but decided to check out after the first night so we could get some sleep.
P.S. We complained to the servisor about our disturbed night and he waived our restaurant bill.

Room Tip: Top floor then, at least, there will not be anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eppleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarmRegards, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear eppleby,

We are sorry to learn of the disturbances you experienced due to neighboring guests. Your patience and understanding is appreciated. After receiving your call, a member of our security staff was immediately informed. He spoke with the guests located on the floor above you and returned to their room later to ensure that all noise had subsided. Again, we apologize that your experience fell short of being an impressive one. We appreciate your business and your completion of the review on our property.

Kindest Regards,
Sam Sattavorn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
5 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
2.1 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range: £126 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing