We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice for Meetings or Visits Near or South of SFO” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for Meetings or Visits Near or South of SFO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The San Mateo Marriott SFO is a very good choice when you want to be near the airport and are going to spend most of your time in the Silicon Valley area. It is easy to get to, the property is well kept, and the rooms are very comfortable.

This property has two fitness facilities: one for weight lifting, and the other with machines for cardio workouts. They are relatively close to one another. Neither is very large, and yet both are perfectly adequate and up to par with Marriott standards.

The concierge lounge is excellent. The breakfast buffet is much better than average for a Marriott in the US, and there are a variety of seating options. It was busy in the morning, and yet never felt overcrowded.

Parking is for a fee, and valet we were told runs only $2 or $3 more per day (@ $25/day) than self-service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello AtlantaRes,

Thank you for your detailed comments from your previous visit to the San Mateo Marriott. As a team we appreciate your observations which are shared with all of our associates.
We do have a convenient location to both Silicon Valley and San Francisco International Airport. Thank you for recognizing our two separate fitness area’s which most guest appreciate and you may not have had the opportunity to jump into the outdoor pool and hot tub. As for the concierge lounge we are typically rated among the top in this area hosted by Mimi and JR daily. Sous Chef Hani and his team take great pride in the food preparation which is definitely worth the upgrade.

Since its baseball season and I formerly resided in Woodstock, GA I would be remiss if I didn’t give a shout out for my team “GO BRAVES”!!

Please let me know if I can help the next time you come to the bay area.

Cordially,
Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edg@marriott-sanmateo.com
(650) 653-6052
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    264
    121
    45
    34
See reviews for
119
93
31
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I've stayed here on business for two nights. The hotel is a typical Marriott. Nice rooms; comfortable beds. Nice lobby with a bar. The hotel is about a mile from San Mateo downtown with lots of shops/restaurants. Otherwise, there's nothing around it within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirlwindTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello WhirlwindTravel,

I appreciate your time and thank you for providing feedback from your recent visit to the San Mateo Marriott.

I agree with you as well in that our rooms are very nice with comfortable beds. Our lobby is a good place to lounge and meet your visitors or family and Bobby at the bar is ready to serve your favorite drink. We are a quick drive to downtown San Mateo with seemingly endless supply of restaurants but I’d suggest a stop to the California Grill first to checkout our menu.

We look forward to hosting your next visit please let me know if I can help with any future reservations.

Cheers,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edg@marriott-sanmateo.com
(650) 653-6052
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hotel is a great Marriott property with an awesome Cali feel. The Front Desk staff was very accommodating, getting me into my room early and the restaurant staff was helpful and smiling every time someone passed their way, Valet guys opened the door every time I entered and the van drivers were very courteous. Great experience, I will be sure to be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Hello Heidi A,

I want to say thank you for taking a few minutes out of your day to share your thoughts about your recent visit. Your comments have been shared with our associates at our morning meeting.

It all starts at the front drive with Joey and Reynaldo opening doors and greeting all of our guests. The front desk team led by Jamie and Shawn take great pride in being as helpful as possible from room types & locations to directions and restaurant recommendations. I’m happy to read that you had such a great experience visiting the San Mateo Marriott.

I’ll be more than happy to assist with a reservation the next time you’re in town.

Cordially,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edg@marriott-sanmateo.com
(650) 653-6052
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I recently stayed at the Marriott Hotel in San Mateo California. Front Desk Staff A+, Bartender A+, over all service and friendliness A+. I especially liked the friendliness. I was having a bit of a bad travel experience, but when i checked in i was made to feel as if I was being welcomed home! Worth giving this hotel a shot. Not really convenient to tourist destinations though. Still, service is off the chart good! I was even greeted with a smile by housekeeping on the way to breakfast, who gets that?

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the courtyard or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD3213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hello JED3213,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent trip to the San Mateo Marriott. Your opinions are important and of great value in making improvements to our service culture and execution.

Well I like your grading system! I do think we have one of the best teams in the bay area associates like Shawn and Gpreet at the front desk along with Doug and Ava at the bar are just a few of the great people you saw while you visited. Having you acknowledge our friendly housekeepers is truly the icing on the cake. While we continue to be a work in progress I appreciate the kind words on behalf of my team.

Please let me know when you’ll be coming back to your bay area home and I’ll help in whatever way I can.

Cordially,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edg@marriott-sanmateo.com
(650) 653-6052
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel was nice, clean, updated and had a friendly staff. The food at the restaurant was good - my whole group liked the egg white frittatas for breakfast.

I wasn't paying for it, so the $350 a night and higher priced menu at the restaurant did not make a difference for my trip.

The concierge level was nice, breakfast selection was good and they had snacks all day.

It is about 15 from the airport and 10 min from downtown San Mateo.

I do think my coworkers paid for parking, so you might want to check on that.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank ljrdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello ljrdesign,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the San Mateo Marriott. I read through all of the comments and share them with my team.

I believe we have a friendly staff as well with Daniel, Princess and Jamie always willing to assist you with questions and requests. Executive Sous Chef Vincent Ong and his team take great pride in the quality of food that is prepared in the California Grill. As for the Concierge Lounge its well worth the upgrade with Mimi and JR providing exceptional service and our food selection has often been rated at the top.

We hope you’ll visit us again soon please let me know if I can assist with any future reservations or questions.

Cordially,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edgunderson@sbcglobal.ent
(650) 653-6052
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville VA USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

While among the larger non-high rise Marriotts, it's much quieter and saner here that in the various hotels just south of the airport. This place has been here a while but has been kept up nicely. Typical Marriott -- great people, good accommodations, easy to do business with. Because so many larger places have popped up in that corridor of highway 101, their prices are seemingly more moderate than many of their peers. Note: navigating here by car isn't intuitive from the nearby freeways, but any GPS can competently get you here.

Room Tip: I travel a lot and typically skip the "concierge floor" options. But this is the exception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello JTworldtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent trip to the San Mateo Marriott. We really do value your opinions and input and the time you take from what I’m sure is a busy schedule.

I agree with you in that our layout is quite different from the typical high rise hotel with the feeling of open space. We believe our people make the difference from CJ upon arrival, to Nick at the front desk and certainly Mimi in the concierge lounge all wanting to serve. You can see us from the Hi-way 101 upon exiting and GPS is certainly helpful in making all the right turns.

Please let me know if I can assist with any future reservations or questions.

Cordially,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edgunderson@sbcglobal.ent
(650) 653-6052
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elon, North Carolina
Level Contributor
217 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We have stayed at this property on four separate occasions and found it to be a good property, but the last time we were here we did have an issue with the noise from the workout rooms. They had upgraded us to a king suite and we were right next to the workout room. The workout facilities have free weights, which normally I would acknowledge to be positive. Unfortunately the workout room is open 24 hours, and two people were in there from 2-3:30 and we could hear them dropping waits and watching TV. We did bring this to the attention of the staff, and the next morning they moved us to a different room. The next day we were in Santa Cruz for the day, and when we returned the room had not been cleaned. I brought this to the attention of Shawn at the front desk and he immediately acted to rectify the problem, and he even sent up chocolate covered strawberries and credited us for the parking fees for the two days. I rated the property average because we had a bad night and a good night. I did appreciate Shawn's attention to all of the issues.

Room Tip: I would try and get a room as far away from the common facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G, General Manager at San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Geoff O.,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent visit your time and feedback is very much appreciated.

As you know from staying with preciously we have an expansive property and rooms in varying locations. Please accept my apologies for the noise you experienced being placed next to the fitness center during your stay. I’m happy to see that Shawn made a concerted effort to take care of you prior to check-out but certainly nothing can take away the noise disturbance.

I would appreciate the opportunity to assist you with a future reservation please feel free to contact me directly at (650) 653-6052 if I can be of any help.

Cordially,

Ed Gunderson
General Manager
edg@marriott-sanmateo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
5.0 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn San Francisco Airport/San Mateo
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport

Property: San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Address: 1770 S Amphlett Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94402-2708
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Mateo
#4 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-service Marriott convenient to San Francisco Airport and Silicon Valley. Deluxe accommodations feature guestrooms and suites. Restaurants, lounge, coffee shop, gift shop, business center, pool and spa, exercise room. Concierge tower rooms with private lounge. 24,000 Square feet of meeting and banquet space. Complimentary Wireless Internet for all Marriott Elite Members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport Hotel San Mateo
Marriott San Mateo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing