We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

Excellent service, great rooms! We only stayed there for one night but it was great. It is close to San Francisco Airport and also not far from the city, quiet location. Very clean, very spacious, many amenities, definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYLulu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    84
    60
    22
    11
See reviews for
63
42
19
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I absolutely love our stay here. The suite was perfect for me and my daughter. The Hotel was very nice and quiet week. We went to San Francisco during the day and came back every early evening for a nice quiet evening. The team was the best; the restaurant was a very nice setting and the food was very good. My daughter had her own room and I had my own room. The kitchenette was perfect for us, as well.

Room Tip: There is no pool, however there was kids and teen activities in the area, more than enought to do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRthestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I stayed there only a few days but it was great. The staff was extremely friendly and went above and beyond. It was about 15 minutes from San Francisco even with a little bit of traffic. It was perfect. Close enough to the city to not be annoying. Yet far enough away to be relaxing. My room was perfect. Anything extra I needed was brought in good time. I will definitely be staying there the next time I'm in the area. And I've recommended it to all my friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holdat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarville, Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We were traveling up the coast via Highway 1 and cut over toward San Mateo to make our way down to Yosemite. Had no idea where we were going to stay. We stopped here and are glad we did. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was wonderful, clean, roomy and comfortable. We ate at the bistro, food was fine, the service was slow (even though the were only three other customers).
I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank saltedradish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The hotel is just off the 101 and very convenient for going to SF, getting to the airport and generally going around this area. The room was pretty large, nice, very clean even including a little side table.
The staff were very friendly checking us in and helpful throughout the stay. When we stayed (March 2013) the technology was pretty bad, wifi juts non existent for most of one morning whiel we were trying to determine what to do, the television also had rotten reception. The staff was accommodating and with a little nudging comped us breakfast to make up for inconvenience which was a really nice way to deal with this inconvenience and left me feeling this was dealt with appropriately.
We ened up feeling we had a good experience and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneinMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

This Holiday Inn was very clean. However, the AC in my room would only run for a little while and then it would turn off. Very frustrating. Also, be aware that breakfast is not included. The do have a restaurant but the coffee was horrible.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Shortbull,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We apologize for letting you down on some aspects of your stay and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I recently enjoyed a four night stay at the San Mateo Holiday Inn. This gem is situated just off the 101, close to the SF Airport and offers an airport shuttle for customers. This facility was sparkling clean. The rooms are large and comfortable with free Wi-Fi which met our business requirements. For those who may like to get a little fresh air and exercise during your travels, you can simply head two blocks over to the trails at coyote park and also enjoy a fantastic view of the ocean along the way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway and you`ll enjoy traffic-free noicse and awake rested and refre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing