We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Foresthill, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK place to stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We originally had 2 in our room, but another couple joined us so they upgraded us to a 2 bedroom suite for a nominal fee. Because it was going to be a 3 night stay, I thought they would have stocked the "kitchenette", but I was mistaken. Thankfully, we brought our own plastic utensils, paper plates, glasses, even napkins! There was nothing to do dishes with. There was a small coffee maker, small microwave and small refrigerator. Those were very helpful, but not what I would have expected.
As for the bathroom, every day I had to call for additional towels because they would only leave 3 bath towels for 4 people.
Other than the above, the room was alright. The bed was VERY comfortable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Vanessa K,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again when you're in the San Mateo or SFO areas.

Happy Holidays!

Travis N
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    90
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
68
44
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasileia, AC
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a nice hotel and well run by its managers. If you are looking for this class of hotel, close and convent to both the city and the airport, then you can't go wrong with the Holiday-Inn hotel in San Mateo. Plenty of places around the hotel to get a bite to eat. And great running along the bay if you're looking to get a work-out in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stuck at SFO until tomorrow which is how I ended up here. I called the hotel from the pickup area at the airport and the shuttle van was there within less than 10-minutes. Check-in was a bit of a hassle but not unpleasant. I waited 15 minutes in line to get checked in to a room. The lobby was very small. The entry carpet needed to be vacuumed badly but the lobby was clean and bright.
I arrived too late by mere minutes to eat in their bistro restaurant, however Manuel (who was cleaning up in the restaurant) was wonderful. I told him of the hectic day I had and though the restaurant was closed and the chef had just left, he took the time to piece together what he could for me to eat so that I could return to my room to rest. Manuel was just the positive customer service experience I needed after such a challenging day.
The hallways to the rooms were very clean as was the small elevator. This Holiday Inn has been renovated quite nicely. The room was spacious and clean with a very nice and open bathroom and a small kitchen table with 2 chairs. There was no refrigerator or microwave in the room. There were some stains on the carpet in my room but nothing too bad. Though the bedding was clean, the decorative mattress box covers were very dirty on both beds, with several obvious stains. Out of place and gross, especially with everything else being so clean.
There's laundry facilities on the main floor ($1.25 to wash and $1.25 to dry). There's ice machines as well as vending machines on each floor and all of the public areas were clean and tidy.
It is true what the reviews state about the free wifi; It boots you off every couple of minutes and you spend most of your time online re-entering the access code and logging back in.
There is nothing in the area by way of a grocery store or a place to eat within a decent walking distance (aside from their restaurant on site). I ventured out to walk the 10-minutes they said it would take to reach a CVS and a Safeway, but after only a few minutes I returned to the hotel as I didn't feel safe walking in the area.
This hotel is directly off of the freeway and though I could see the freeway from my room, I could not hear any noise. This hotel seems to have proper insulation as I did not hear any guests in surrounding rooms.
Overall this hotel was better than I expected.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaeFlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I was here end of last month I enjoyed everything thoroughly, service was great, very clean room, nice staff especially Rema at the front desk who graciously and professional checked me in. I really appreciate here customer service. The WIFI connection was not great. I enjoyed my stay and will be back again without hesitation. I did not try the restaurant this time but I will the next time.

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter" "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumansburg, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

After flying in late from the East Coast, and getting our rental car, we just wanted to settle into our room and have some dinner. The kitchen in the hotel, Bistro 330, was minutes from closing but the guys working were truly wonderful and stayed to cook us some burgers and fries - thanks so much for the great hospitality, guys! You don't know how much it meant for us to have those great burgers and cold beers!

The room was perfect, it provided us with the restful night of sleep we needed before starting our slightly delayed trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Room was really clean and nice. But for $315.00 I expected the rooms wifi to at least work. The tech support never answered. It was suppose to be 24/7. Unfortunately it wasn't. Other then that it was fine.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is super close to 101 but didn't seem to be overly affected by the noise from the freeway, and I had a room on the 4th floor with a window pointing towards the 101. Overall the hotel is pretty modern so everything I saw was clean and tidy. The reception is small but the welcoming warm. It was quite a trek to my room (1420). The room itself was on the larger side but unfortunately it was stifling hot in the room and the small wall A/C struggled to make a dent on the heat. After a while the A/C inexplicably cut out, only to come on 15 when I moved to see what was going on. It turns out that the hotel has been bitten by the 'going green bug' at the expense of customers comfort. There was a small box between the A/C outlet on the wall and the cord for the A/C with "Smart Systems" written on it. Turns out this box automatically cuts the power on and off to the wall unit depending on whether a smart IR sensor thinks there is someone in the room. All well and good except that it turns it off when you are sitting still such as working or watching TV or when sleeping. Really Hotels with these kinds of devices need to be put on some kind of travelers blacklist. The other problem with the A/C was that it was very loud. I ate in the restaurant, the food was OK, but I saw two fellow diners who walked away with most of the food uneaten and another sent it back as it was not as ordered.
Unfortunately my list of issues with this hotel also extends to the WIFI. In my room I got a 2 out of 5 signal and despite trying to connect on an iPad, a PC and an Android phone, not one of them would keep the connection for more than a few minutes, and when they were connected the bandwidth appeared to be less than you would get with a dial-up modem. Others have commented on this so I resorted to using my phone as a WIFI hotspot. The hotel need to address the issue. I understand it is free but in this case it is unusable.

Room Tip: High room facing away from 101 would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Tim F,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us! I am glad that you enjoyed the room, and am sorry to hear that the A/C in your room wasn't working as desired. I will be sharing your review with the maintenance team, to see if we can adjust the sensitivity on the thermostat, as your comfort is our #1 priority. We are aware that the wireless has issues, and since the hotel changed ownership last month, it is one of the highest priorities on our list of the amenities to upgrade. Thank you again for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites San Mateo, and we hope you will consider us again the next time you are in the San Mateo SFO area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing