We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed...no internet, long walk to room, etc.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quite disappointed...no internet, long walk to room, etc.”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel cost me almost a hundred bucks in mobile charges because the internet was so slow, it was unusable. It took more than 10 minutes to load a simple home page like google. A hard line connection did not help. Staff simply shrugged and said oh well.

Also had some issues on checkout, because i forgot too (my fault) and so called in from airport to check out...and the girl could not spell my name for a receipt to be emailed. Umm...pretty sure its on the room details my dear.

Finally, layout is brutal long walk to get to you room, and room is set to be very cold. All in all, a sad stay for almost two hundred bucks a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear JohnnyGambler,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites in San Mateo for your recent trip. During your stay, we were in the process of upgrading our wireless internet services, which resulted in slower speeds than normal as they were disconnecting and connecting all of the new equipment. We are proud to say that our system has been improved 110% and is faster than ever. As far as the receipt, upon looking into your reservation, they did have your last name originally spelled wrong with a P instead of a T, which was corrected. We do hope that you will consider the Holiday Inn and Suites San Mateo on your next trip, to show you the level of service and the improved internet that you have come to expect.

Thank you,

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    90
    62
    23
    12
See reviews for
68
44
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel offers free internet .. except it just doesn't work. I have been staying for 2 nights and have 2 more to go. Despite being in the heart of Silicon Valley this hotel offers an incredibly unreliable internet experience. The first night it was up and down like a yoyo - and the second it was non existent. As an international traveller this means I have incurred additional cost from calls because I cannot use the internet - and significant frustration because I have not been able to work. My firm recommended this hotel but I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Will E,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, and I am very sorry for the issues you encountered with our wireless system while we were upgrading. It is fully functional now, and we are pleased with the faster speeds and improved connections for all of our guests. We do hope that you will consider the Holiday Inn and Suites San Mateo on your next visit to the area to experience the improvements.

Thank you,

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is good and the Staff (Rema & team) was very helpful through out my stay. They helped me with the booking even though I arrived a day early.

Hotel is in a good location.

Will for sure stay here again if I return to San Mateo

Shreekanth. V

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreekanth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed just for 2days, and i'm so happy, never expected that this one is excellent. The hotel is so clean, our bed is really comfortable,we have 2 queen beds and the room is so spacious. Shower and toilet, you couldn't ask for more. Clean towels everyday and provided Nespresso. What you will experience in a five star accomodation, you can have it here. The front desk, not so happy, she's not very helpful. I came to have our key re-set coz we can't get in our room i asked her about Wi-fi, since i can't use it, she said to just register or what. But, in spite of this, still i highly recommend this hotel, its close to the airport,there's a work area, a sofa, and its huge....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maganda0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Maganda0411,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to provide a wonderful experience during your stay. It does trouble me to hear of the experience you encountered with one of our team members, and I have sent you a private message to get more information on the situation. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Cheers!

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
635 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I don't expect too much from a Holiday Inn, but this one is nice. The staff was average upon check-in. I think the clerk was new as she forgot to give me a key, and when I asked for one she gave me the master key for all of the rooms. The rooms have been nicely updated. The beds were good, the pillows not so much. The room was very clean except for a glass ring on the counter.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnesotaRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear MinnesotaRandy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do value all feedback both negative and positive as it helps us to see how we are doing in all areas. I have sent you a private message to get more info on your stay, as we would like to follow up on the key issue that you mentioned. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!

Cheers!

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is clean, convenient, and welcoming. The great restaurant located in the lobby area as well as a washer/dryer for your convenience as well. There is delicious fruited water, the fruit changes each day, to refresh you while you wait for your spacious and emaculate rooms. The hotel offers an office area with two computers as well as a clean and spacious exericise room with treadmills and cable television. There is a jacuzzi and sauna. Ample parking and special parking for handicapped patrons are provided. The best part of the stay is the accommodating, kind, friendly and helpful staff. They will find a perfect room for you and the family. It will always be neat and clean. The front desk staff are amazing, Rema, Mirella, Paola, Cristine and Fatima will ensure your stay is pleasant. They are experts at travel in the area. As a guest, you also get discount tickets for the restaurant. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in San Mateo but the Holiday Inn and Suites!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet. There is a room for handicapped on the second floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't know. I just wanted comfort. They gave it to me.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear L P,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and that our staff were friendly and accommodating to you. We appreciate you taking the time to mention our team members as well, and will be sharing your comments with them. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to San Mateo!

Cheers!
Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

You don't really expect much from a Holiday Inn near the airport with some negative reviews on TA. But I was pleasantly surprised by this particular Holiday Inn.

Front Desk
The front office staff were friendly and professional, with plenty of advice

Room
The rooms are very large, with a work area, sofa and a king sized bed. The room and the public areas looked to be recently renovated, in a quality way.

Location
Close to the airport, and there is a large shopping mall about 5 mins away by car. Its right on the 101.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
2.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Mateo SFO Airport Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing