We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in San Mateo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami
Level Contributor
271 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Haven't stayed in too many Holiday Inn's, but glad that I made the exception for this one. We chose it mainly due to the location and decent Tripadvisor reviews. Location was right off of the 101, although it is a little funky getting on and off the highway to the hotel. If you are going north on the 101, the exit drops you off literally at the doorstep. Going south on the 101 requires a little maneuvering, but still doable.

We has a suite, which was quite spacious for the price. The room was very quiet on the 4th floor, tucked in the corner. Internet connection was excellent and internet was free, as it should be in Silicon Valley. Do not expect any 4 star extras, but this is a solid 3 star property. Room and interior of the hotel are well maintained. General area doesn't look inviting, but just a block away is a clean middle class residential neighborhood.

Staff was always pleasant and helpful, not that we needed too much during our stay. In summary, I can recommend this hotel, especially if you need a convenient location to San Mateo.

Room Tip: We were in 4017, a corner suite which was quiet, but had very good internet connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twhite4809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear twhite4809,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    84
    61
    22
    12
See reviews for
64
42
19
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Nice and helpful personnel like the ones I met at this hotel are always greatly appreciated, specially after a long flight. Hotel rooms are spacious and contain what one may need. WiFi was temporarily off but was fixed later in the day. I also enjoyed the bar and the breakfast lounge. I had nothing to complain about other than the fact that all hotels in this area appear to be over priced and the air condition was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: My room located on the west side of third floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boroushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear WandererBo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! I am so glad to hear that the staff were helpful to you during your stay. We all hope to see you again on your next visit to the area!

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

From the moment you walk into this hotel, you feel like you will be taken care of. We stayed here twice and both times, the staff were incredibly helpful. Rema, in particular, is a joy, but all of the staff were great. The rooms were quite large and comfortable. The on-site restaurant has what you need if you don't want to venture out of the hotel. Even though the hotel is located just off the highway, you don't hear the car noise. Nice easy commute into San Francisco and Palo Alto. I will definitely consider staying at this hotel the next time I'm in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CyrusMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rema was very helpful at my stay at the hotel. She was able to help me through some bumps in the road with the room and the hotel services.

Hotel management should have done a better job with the tv/cable disruptions and wifi.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel cost me almost a hundred bucks in mobile charges because the internet was so slow, it was unusable. It took more than 10 minutes to load a simple home page like google. A hard line connection did not help. Staff simply shrugged and said oh well.

Also had some issues on checkout, because i forgot too (my fault) and so called in from airport to check out...and the girl could not spell my name for a receipt to be emailed. Umm...pretty sure its on the room details my dear.

Finally, layout is brutal long walk to get to you room, and room is set to be very cold. All in all, a sad stay for almost two hundred bucks a night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear JohnnyGambler,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites in San Mateo for your recent trip. During your stay, we were in the process of upgrading our wireless internet services, which resulted in slower speeds than normal as they were disconnecting and connecting all of the new equipment. We are proud to say that our system has been improved 110% and is faster than ever. As far as the receipt, upon looking into your reservation, they did have your last name originally spelled wrong with a P instead of a T, which was corrected. We do hope that you will consider the Holiday Inn and Suites San Mateo on your next trip, to show you the level of service and the improved internet that you have come to expect.

Thank you,

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel offers free internet .. except it just doesn't work. I have been staying for 2 nights and have 2 more to go. Despite being in the heart of Silicon Valley this hotel offers an incredibly unreliable internet experience. The first night it was up and down like a yoyo - and the second it was non existent. As an international traveller this means I have incurred additional cost from calls because I cannot use the internet - and significant frustration because I have not been able to work. My firm recommended this hotel but I will not return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOM_HISanMateo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Will E,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, and I am very sorry for the issues you encountered with our wireless system while we were upgrading. It is fully functional now, and we are pleased with the faster speeds and improved connections for all of our guests. We do hope that you will consider the Holiday Inn and Suites San Mateo on your next visit to the area to experience the improvements.

Thank you,

Travis N.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is good and the Staff (Rema & team) was very helpful through out my stay. They helped me with the booking even though I arrived a day early.

Hotel is in a good location.

Will for sure stay here again if I return to San Mateo

Shreekanth. V

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shreekanth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Mateo
0.2 mi away
Best Western Coyote Point Inn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Mateo
1.4 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
San Mateo Marriott San Francisco Airport
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport / Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO

Property: Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO
Address: 330 N Bayshore Blvd, San Mateo, CA 94401-1235
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Mateo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Mateo
#3 Family Hotel in San Mateo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites San Mateo / San Francisco SFO is the newest and most modern hotel in the area. Conveniently located off US-101, we are situated among fine dining, world-renowned attractions, endless shopping possibilities and vast business opportunities. Our prime location places you within minutes from the San Francisco International Airport, Downtown San Francisco, Golden Gate Park, Monster Park, San Mateo Expo Center, Downtown San Mateo, AT&T Park, Half Moon Bay, East Bay, Pier 39, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Warf, Hillsdale Mall, Pacifica Beach, Golden Gate Bridge and is a short drive from Napa and Sonoma Valley which hosts some of the finest vineyards in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco SFO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn San Mateo-San Francisco Sfo Hotel San Mateo
Quality Inn San Mateo
San Mateo Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing